We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a double room for 8 nights and was sooooo delighted to leave! The room was so tiny, could barely swing a cat in there. Bed sheets were clean but carpet was filthy, hadn't been vacuumed in months by the looks of it. And the 1st thing I noticed when i walked in was a big blood stain on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Up_da_deise
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We only hope that you had informed one of our staff of your concerns, this way we could have moved you into a more suitable room or helped you find alternative accommodation in Queenstown. We are glad to say that the room you stayed in... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Unlike some other reviews here I found the staff to be lovely - friendly and really helpful. The problem with this hostel isn't the staff it's the other people there and the conditions of the accommodation. We stayed in a double room which was I guess okay - there was a kind of heater attached to the wall which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luci H
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry to here you did not enjoy your time at SL. It does seem to us that most of your problems are with other guests actions/ conversations. As this is out of our control we cant really do too much about it. However, any issues with the hostel itself, such as communal facilities can always be brought to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

14 came to QT for a birthday and could not have been happier with the accom - the staff were super friendly, the hot tub was great , the dorms (8 bed & 6 bed) were clean, the heater was a bonus and hot showers - winning - me and my partner stayed on extra days and booked a double... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for review Lynsey! All of us down at Southern Laughter are glad you had a great time! Hopefully see you again soon! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

Not worth 75$!!!!!! Kitchen was dirty and overly packed, very noisy all throughout the night people were talking at early hours in the morning in the hallway for hours music was way too loud and bassy people shouting in the hallway, builders in the common room drilling and banging on walls at 8am in the morning wifi was super slow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Southern Laughter. The hostel has two kitchens, however during your stay one was closed due to painting and renovation. This would also explain the building noise, however we did close off the rooms directly affected by the works. We pride ourselves on our balance... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Definitely the worst hostel we have been to so far.. It is really noisy and packed with shouting teenagers. The kitchen is incomplete as they do not even have glasses ("they get broken all the time"), and finally it is really dirty! Not worth the money at all.

Helpful?
Thank Hanneke B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The staff were very helpful in helping me to organise trips, and my airport shuttle. Unlike some hostels, there always seemed to be staff around, and they all seemed to be very approachable and happy to help. This place was a nice mix of locals and backpackers, and one of the few places on my tour that I spent a... More 

Helpful?
Thank EvonneMarie545
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

We stayed in a private twin room with shared bathroom on the main hall, behind the reception desk, and our room literally could not have been a tighter squeeze. There was no room for anything other than the two beds, and only enough space between them to allow the door to open! Knowing this, the hostel did not even place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
Level Contributor
247 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Nice, friendly service with quotes painted along the side of the buildings. I can see why people would like comming here since it had a really nice atmosphere. We had a group of 5 so it was hard to find a place which could fit us all in one room. We stayed in the 8 person room. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank acineto
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic friendly hostel with a lot of great things going for it. The 8 bed dorm was great and it's own kitchen and bathroom and small living area. The staff were all friendly and helped us out with any questions we had. There is free soup every night and free use of hot tub, great for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhys L
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

This is a hostel, so I know expectations are not that high, however, this hostel left us definitely not wanting to go back. The main reason was the attitude and initial contact with the receptionist (a British girl/woman). We had booked a double private room, and were asked if we would consider a dormitory on arrival as something had happened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kirsty, I was gobsmaked to read your recent review of us, we always pride ourselves on delivering the best in Customer service to our guests. On the day you arrived, due to rare unforeseen circumstances one of our double rooms was out of action. We were trying our best to resolve the situation (at peak season) by offering... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#11 of 84 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#34 of 84 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#23 of 84 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#19 of 84 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $22 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay