We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Queenstown
Post
Inbox
Search

Eichardt's Private Hotel

Save
2 Marine Parade, Queenstown New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$943
View Deal
Expedia.com
$769
View Deal
Priceline
$1,176
$737
View Deal
SAVE $439
Hotels.com$769
Trip.com$804
Nustay.com$1,176
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (151)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (392)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
HM Magazine (Australia) Best New Zealand Hotel 2014. World Luxury Hotel Awards Best boutique ski hotel 2013 and 2014 Eichardt's Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
328Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 281
  • 27
  • 8
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
This is a private luxury hotel so obviously much more expensive than most places in Queenstown, but in our case turned out to definitely be worth the splurge! We booked for three nights for my husbands 30th birthday. As there were three of us (my husband, my mother and I), we were in the apartments which are a short 30 second walk from the main building. We were particularly lucky in that we got a ground floor apartment that had it's own sun room! It was too gorgeous to be true! That alone made our trip! But of course I will continue... Check in was at 3pm but we arrived at 2pm and I popped in to ask if we could park the car somewhere so we could go for a walk until check in time. Instead, I was asked 'Are you Mrs Cooper by any chance?' when I said that yes, I was, I was told that the room was actually ready but they were just preparing a birthday surprise for my husband and asked me to wait for ten min and then they would take us over. Next minute, they have collected out luggage and escorted us to our beautiful, elegant apartment, where they had delivered chilled champagne, a variety of sweet treats and a hand written birthday card. Well done Eichardts. What a delightful start! Things continued to be wonderful- from the pre dinner drinks and canapes where we were able to sip NZ's delightful pinot noir and chat to the other guests, to the breakfasts each morning overlooking the insta worthy lake. We even dined at the restaurant (the Grille) one night and the food was absolutely lovely, as was the service! Each evening we would sit by the fire, drinking wine and watching Harry Potter movies as it rained outside. It was bliss. Service was second to none, all staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. If I called and asked for some ice (I drink my wine very cold), they would have brought over and ice bucket full of it within a couple of minutes. In conclusion: I did have a secret fear, leading up to the stay, that it would not live up to my expectations and that I would regret spending such a large amount of money on a 3 night stay when we know many other lovely places to stay in Queenstown (this was our fourth trip there- we love it). Fortunately, my fears were not realized. The only issue now is I do not think we could go back to staying anywhere else next time we go to Queenstown! Oh well. Better start saving!
Read more
The way the Hotel blends the old building into the modern is delightful. The suites are well thought out. With Hotels such as this it is easier to point out a few oversights, not where they please. For the most part I do not like to be critical of such an abode as my stay was memorable but a few small items were noticed during my stay: Hot Water – While I was having a shower my companion began pouring a bath… bad idea, my shower stopped… reminded me of staying with my grandmother in the 1960s. Not sure if this can be rectified and its not really an issue but there you go. Stationary – I wanted to send a few notes while I was in residence… no hotel Stationary. I did go to reception where I was happily given some paper and an envelope so cannot complain however with such a wonderful Hotel it would have been a fitting if there was Hotel stationary in the rooms. Cocktails – We were invited to join the other guests for Cocktail hour in the Private Bar. I was looking forward to this as I had just spent 12 hours on a flight from the Far East. When we arrived at the Private Bar another family was already taking up most of the Bar… with a child or children, don’t remember… This in its self was not a problem, here goes… We asked for a Martini and were told in a rather off hand manner that we would have to go downstairs to the other bar if we wanted a Martini…. Not sure if this was because the attending staff member was too busy with the family group or he was too lazy to take our order and go down to the other Bar and bring our drinks up. There is nothing wrong with this but to be invited to a bar for Cocktails and then to be dismissed by the chap attending us to the public bar on the ground floor while he attended to a family that had a child / children sprawled on the couch in the Private Bar is a bit rich… Breakfast – The main restaurant was open for breakfast. We were seated and first asked for a nice cup of Tea. We were given a single cup small pot of Tea. I can see that logic of this as the pots do not take up half the table like many Tea Pots but it would be nice for such an establishment if the tea pots were slightly larger so they could pour two cups, not one. The server forgot to ask or even bring a small milk jug with the tea until we asked. The breakfast choice was satisfactory, I chose a Hearty breakfast. The sides had Potatoes and Mushrooms… baked beans were not offered. Perhaps the management could see to it that they add baked beans as an option as a side for the breakfast, I’m sure the punters would be happy to pay for them… Like I said, there is no point pointing out what is positive about this wee Hotel as there is much, so I have just noted what I see as basic shortfalls, maybe I’m picking at things like a dentist… but hay, if I notice such small silly items, perhaps it shows how really great this place is for a weekend escape… Will I return, for sure, this little House tucked away in the South is really something special… O and there is no need to cover the reception with all sorts of Hotel Award Certificates, we know you have them, that’s why we visit.
Read more
We stayed in a lakeview suite where the view was breathtaking. The meals in the restaurant were exquisite! In a rush to the airport my son left his coveted journal. I wrote to the hotel and they immediately mailed it to the United States and included a tracking number. We plan to return next year.
Read more
Response from Imperium_Group, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Thanks for your lovely review Mary, it was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. Warm regards, James C
Read more
We stayed in Mountain View suite. This is not a mountain view at all, but a view of the nightclubs and bars in the town which keep going until early hours of the morning. Very overpriced and poor value for money versus the other luxury lodges in Queenstown. Staff friendly and tried to be helpful, but no special touches that you’d expect for a hotel in this price range. I would not stay again.
Read more
Response from Imperium_Group, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Thank you for your review Emma-Jane. Sorry to see you were not happy with the outlook from your suite, we try to be as clear as possible around room descriptions and clearly state ‘views over Queenstown’s vibrant mall to surrounding peaks from private balconies’ on our website. I appreciate the hotel is in a premium price bracket and reflect this with a number of value add inclusions such as complimentary hosted happy hour drinks nightly in the bar, inclusive mini bar with all non alcoholic drinks and snacks refreshed daily, home made cookies each night and signature turndown daily with handmade truffles and treats. A complimentary whisky and brandy selection in the Parlour is well utilised by many guests, of course you’re more than welcome to enjoy these benefits in your suite in front of the fire, valet parking and daily a la carte breakfast are among the standard amenities offered. I am happy to discuss directly if you would like to get in touch personally. Regards,
Read more
This Hotel is in a prime spot. The rooms are amazing. The staff are also very good people who try very hard. Sadly, the management and owners obviously have ZERO understanding of what it takes to be one of the great hotels of the world. I felt so sorry for the young woman on the front desk. This very intelligent and very pleasant young lady had to 'deliver' the "I am sorry our policy is.." and on two occasions. It was not her fault, and my advice to anyone wanting to excel in hospitality is to stay away from this place. You will learn nothing other than what NOT to do here. I booked in to a Lake View suite. Truly amazing room BTW. Something out of a post card. I booked for two nights. Very high end cost, but it was a special occasion. The next day I emailed asking for another night. All good so far. I used my AMEX which usually gives me some minor advantages like check time out etc. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I needed to check out after two days not three. I went down to reception and spoke to the young lady there. I explained my problem, but also said I wanted to come back a few days after, and actually wanted to stay a week! This is a room that cost about $1,500.00 BTW! They could not accomodate me for the days I wanted to come back on, and of course that is fine as they had prior bookings. Then I was told, "we will need to charge you a penalty for the night you are cancelling". Really? I thought, OK, stupid rule when I have spent an insane amount for two nights, and was going to spend a REALLY insane amount on a week, and would probably keep coming back, but OK, stupid management rules are standard in so many of these 'faceless places'. I then gave up, but said I had to leave, but my wife would be there over night, and of course AMEX gives you a late check-out which she needed. "No way, out at 11am! While you paid with AMEX, you did not book with AMEX"! Really? I asked that the Hotel manager contact me to discuss my 'disappointment with all of the above, and then went back to my room. I was ignored and after a few hours had to leave for the airport/. My friends, if you are ever in Queenstown NZ, please DO NOT support an establishment that does not know the first thing about customer service. There are so many great places in this most beautiful part of the world, and this is definitely not one of them. Along with this, if you are a young person starting out in Hospitality, this is not somewhere where you will learn anything, and it will be a permanent blight on your resume so please make sure to stay away. Peter Freedman AM peter@rode.com
Read more
Response from Imperium_Group, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Thank you for your feedback Peter. Unfortunately we are not able to be more flexible with last minute cancellations or early departures, especially during the height of our peak season and when booking on last minute reduced rate offers which are non refundable. As a small property with limited rooms last minute cancellations have a large impact. Having said that we are always happy to accommodate a shift of dates within a month or two when ever we can and if you had plans to return to Queenstown any time before the end of October I would be delighted to roll over your cancelled rate to another booking. Please also understand that to take advantage of the various benefits offered to Amex customers at American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts properties, reservations do need to be made through Amex booking channels at the appropriate rate. This is a requirement of Amex placed upon member properties, all reservations and activity must be channeled through them. Your travel advisor there can also assist with shifting around dates and future hotel credits. Sorry we didn’t get an opportunity speak while you were at the property and I’ll certainly review communications with the team to ensure we are delivering the best possible customer service. Sincerely, James Cavanagh
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$439 - $1,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eichardts private queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eichardt's Private Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Quest Queenstown (0.09 miles), iFLY Queenstown (0.2 miles), and Lake Wakatipu (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taj Indian Kitchen, Tatsumi, and Blue Kanu.
Does Eichardt's Private Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Eichardt's Private Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Eichardt's Private Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Eichardt's Private Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.07 miles) and One Mile Power House (0.3 miles).
Does Eichardt's Private Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.