We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
 Click to rate
london
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't like to write bad reviews but feel I need to in this case. I have just come back from Queenstown after a 5 night stay at the holiday inn with my husband and unfortunately we were extremely disappointed. When we booked we were not informed that the hotel was currently being upgraded and the restaurant is part building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luced
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. The property does currently have renovation work taking place in the restaurant however the work is carried out between the hours of 10.00 am and 5.00 pm, which causes no inconvenience to our guests as our restaurant is closed between these hours. The room you stayed in is due to be renovated and the rate...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decent room, but a short drive to town. Stayed using points and was disappointed that breakfast wasn't included, since we're platinum members. No curtain or door for the shower so the water went all over the floor. There wasn't a hairdryer in the room, but we called down and they brought one to the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendal R
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The shower screen has now been installed, unfortunately we did have issues with the supplier. With regards to breakfast the rate you booked did not include this and although you are a Platinum member this does not automatically entitle you to receive breakfast during your stay.

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay for a short time before flying out of NZ. The location is on the hill, facing the Wakatipu Lake. We arrive late at night and we have to wait for the receptionist. The room is spacious and the location makes it have a fascinating view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wida197
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With an early flight from Auckland we had to leave Queenstown and stay the night at a hotel close to the airport in Auckland. My company has held events at the Intercontinental, so a booking was made with the Holiday Inn. Unfortunately the booking got mixed up and was made for the Holiday Inn in Queenstown and not Auckland. Landing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Relwof22
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that you made an error when you made your original booking. However a full refund was processed within 24 hours of the hotel being made aware of your situation.

North Strathfield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best views of the lakes, fantastic location that's all. Below average service, some friendly staff. Breakfast variety not bad. Rooms were quite clean but my friends mentioned about bed bugs in their room. IMO 3 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaiganeshd
manchester
Reviewed January 21, 2017

This is now a Holiday Inn. The room was extremely old fashioned and absolutely nothing like the modern state of the art rooms in all of their pictures. Very misleading. I paid good money for an alleged four star hotel and got a dreadful room that was very over priced. It was an old motel room, poor knackered bed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hostelhunter
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We booked through tripadvisor and were thrilled to find a hotel with a lake view. We paid for a superior lake-view king bed room. The room itself was a good size, clean with a view of Lake Wakatipu, hence the two stars. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. Some things that were important to us were certainly not as advertised....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarita M
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As you are aware our hotel is currently going through a major transition and many of the points you have raised in your review have now been fixed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and hope that you will enjoy the improvements that have been made.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Newly renamed the Holiday Inn - our room had a lake view and had just been renovated - good value for money. Slightly out of town though. parking on site was a plus. Will be better when final renovations are complete.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your newly renovated room and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the future.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We had booked this accomdation quite a while ago and upon arrival we found out that the hotel was taken over by Holiday Inn. It would have been nice if a notification would have been send. We were lucky that find the hotel. Best thing of the hotel is the view over the lake. We enjoyed this a lot. rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
HolidayInnZQN, Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our restaurant to be of good quality.

Malaysia
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights before going back to our hometown. This resort is located on a hill and quiet. Enjoyed the stunning views of Lake Wakatipu from our Lakeview room. Near to centre of Queenstown - about 5km and near to Queenstown International Airport too. Free parking. No lift in this resort so have to carry your own luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BunNie T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,315 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $116 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Awesome Lake Views”
 of 5 bubbles jaiganeshd, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Nothing in the 100 block that is for sure”
 of 5 bubbles hostelhunter, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Fuertephile, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“The farther west on the property gives the best views of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles mcasellanw, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st floor with a Lake View as some blocks overlook the car park”
 of 5 bubbles ali444211, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question