We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BreakFree The Point

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BreakFree The Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree The Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed October 3, 2016

The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lovely view and peacefulness of our apartment and its setting. The facilities in general were very good, although the bathroom (shower and toilet particularly) was in urgent need of an upgrade and spring clean which was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyr555
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2016

It was located on the lake front and walking distance (20mins) to city centre however the apartments were a bit tired and maintenance was lacking. With some improvements to cleaning and maintenance, plus more supplies in the kitchen (just barely adequate for those of us who cook) it would provide a better experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
New Zealand
Reviewed September 26, 2016

女子会ツアーで女性4人で泊りました。泊った部屋は2階建てで、キッチン、洗濯機、乾燥機、すべてそろっており清潔で快適でした。少し早く到着しましたが、マネージャーがすでに清掃が終わった部屋に替えてくれ、すぐにチェックイン出来ました。 駐車場が1階。ベッド&バスルームが2階。リビングやダイニング、玄関が3階で、玄関からベッドが見えない点や、寝室とリビングの階が分かれているのが良かった。4人もいると、すぐ寝たい人やまだ飲んでおしゃべりしたい人もいるのでそれぞれ音を気にせず寝たり、深夜までおしゃべりしたり、くつろげました。今回私の幹事で旅行を計画しましたが友達は満足してくれました。また泊りたいです。 街に出るにはタクシーが必要なので2人より多人数の旅だとタクシー代も気にならないかもしれません。タクシーの不便さはあるものの、環境の静かさや眺め、部屋の広さやプライベート感があり満足です。キッチンは充実していたので、毎食レストラン派よりは自炊して静かな環境を満喫したい方にお勧め、ホテル前の湖畔に眺めの良い遊歩道もあり。 Room was clean. View was nice. Manager was helpful. I would like to stay here again. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leokiYY
QLD
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Recently stayed as family group of 3 with other family in another unit almost adjoining - we realised that units appear to be individually furnished. Our furniture was in good condition with incredible views across the lake. Kitchen well equipped. The staircase to sleeping level may challenge some guests; there was a very steep hill from a challenging garage to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreyD
Taree, Australia
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Would have been better if wiifi was working to keep in contact with other family beautiful accommodation and would stay there again close to Queenstown and transport easy to access Enjoyed the views daily

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 579kerria
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review

Dear valued guests, Thank you for your time to post a review as above. Really appreciate your feedback. We are working on the path of reinstating our Wi Fi and will be up and running soon. Thank you again and have a great day. Best regards, Vinod Azad Hotel Manager

Auckland
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Loved the self contained units, my friends and I really values the privacy. Views from apartment were beautiful and location was great as it was a short walk into town again with beautiful views. Only downside was one room and bathroom had poor natural lightinb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q380KTdanielleh
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

This was our fifth hotel stop on a South Island tour. It was the most expensive and unfortunately the most disappointing. Location, view, and the room itself were brilliant. We had the two bedroom apartment. Clean and comfortable but thats where the good news ends. We had a two night layover and absolutely no housekeeping was done. Importantly the bins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oz-kiwi-pom
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review

Kia Ora, thank you very much for taking the time to review Breakfree the Point. Please accept our apologies for the broken items in your room. That is not our usual standard and will be rectified immediately. Regarding the other points that you mentioned I am afraid there has been some form of miscommunication as your expectations exceeded the service...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Good location but freezing cold due to lack of appropriate heating The appartment has 3 rooms and only one small heater which isn't sufficient Location and furniture, size of the appartment etc all good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haraldh526
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed August 12, 2016

We came to check in at 2pm to find the office closed. Used the handset outside the office to only get an answer phone. Numerous trips backwards and forwards from town and 17 unanswered phone calls and we had had enough. It was after 5.30pm and we decided to call the head office of the hotel group in Australia. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank misty467
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Place is average. Not the cleanest and very poor service in reception. Office closed when we got here and no one answered phone for 3 hours! Explanation in the morning was "I wasn't working yesterday" - poor excuse! Drains in shower don't clear and kitchen bench not cleaned, with cup marks and liquid still on it. TV remote covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#41 of 57 in Queenstown
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#13 of 87 in Queenstown
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
#30 of 57 in Queenstown
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $155 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BreakFree The Point staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree The Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles L4020ABjasonb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Bottom left corner rooms have the best morning sun.”
 of 5 bubbles Herodeniro, Apr 26, 2016 | Read review
“Very slow internet ! Very steep drive and lots of steps to carry bags up and down”
 of 5 bubbles music22016, Apr 4, 2016 | Read review
“stay away from private resident”
 of 5 bubbles track111, Feb 18, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the rooms closest to Frankton road to avoid the steep walks to and from lower rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 172ChrisM172, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay