We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

0.3 miles from Queenstown center
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 646: English reviews
Start your review of Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is not new, but the facilities are excellent. The rooms are comfortable and very quiet. The views from the Lakeview rooms and suites are fantastic and good value. The hotel appeared to be very busy during our stay. Michelle in bookings did a great job in accommodating our room request - thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cheshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent two nights here as part of tour. Beautiful views and excellent quality rooms and services. Nice walk down to town - about 15 mins - quite a hill to climb on way back. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel as part of a great Queenstown experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prof1Cheshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Called the reception ask for wifi password and been told there is a form to fill in and charges for it. Then I ask there's no free wifi for guest? I get a simple "Noooooooooooo" and a hang Up call. This is very different from all the Kiwis I've met in my 2 weeks trip. Very Dissappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus L
British Columbia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a two day stop at Queenstown and stayed at the Copthorne hotel and resort. It was a very modern hotel and everything was within walking distance. Buffet breakfast was very good. Laundry facility was available also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BritishColumbiaKathy
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you Kathy for your great review ! Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you enjoyed Queenstown & New Zealand .

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Queenstown parking is a nightmare. We spent the last night of our trip here because we wanted to be downtown and I didn't want to spend a fortune. I did not know how much of a nightmare parking was downtown so I was glad to be at this hotel and a 10-minute walk away from everything. The parking on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 26point24
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , I'm pleased you enjoyed our Hotel and agree with parking ; it certainly is an issue around town. Thank you for your comments and hope you enjoyed your time here in Queenstown .

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Close to town. Chloe in reception is great. Best Beds. Room is nice and warm too. Service staff were lovely. Wish We'd had a room with a view of the river as we were right next it:( Good room. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simone j
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to our staff & to Chloe . Thank you

New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 2 nights in this centrally located hotel. I was able to park on the street, although there is hotel parking available. I walked to the gardens, along the lake and down into town. Everything is very close. The hotel has laundry and the staff was very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAnywhere44
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for your review , I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to our staff .

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and comfortable rooms in a somewhat confusing layout. It is built on the side of a hill so the reception desk is on the fifth floor with the restaurant on the sixth while all the rooms were on levels below. Very good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Easy2BeGreen
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and hope you enjoyed Queenstown.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sleepless nights. No air conditioning- no insect screens, windows left open by housekeeping meant countless insect bites. Request to fumigate the room in our absence ignored and GM offered to take a 'couple of drinks' off the bill as consolation! Staff in restaurant are untrained backpackers. Not impressed given prices charged. Beautiful property, poorly managed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gautam S
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us . We do have fans for the rooms and I apologise if you were not offered one. We do not usually have a problem with insects, unless the lights are left on at night with the windows & curtains open . I'm sorry to hear your restaurant...

New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: - nice rooms with a view - rooms are clean - great location Cons: - breakfast was terrible for $25 +$5 for coffee. Very basic, glasses dirty, lovelessly presented (reminds of a youth hostel). Got sick of it after 3 days. - WiFi has to be purchased every day - Overall overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mil_the_globetrotter
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I shall certainly review breakfast . We appreciate your comments .

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (264)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#35 of 57 in Queenstown
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $152 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lakefront room recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles leow642, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Lakeview rooms are the best in Value and also views..stunning. However, they are located on the otherside of the hotel and is quite a walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 652serahb, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“check if you want a room with views”
 of 5 bubbles ianm658, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and get the Lake view rooms - huge windows where you take in the magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryThied, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a lake view are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question