We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Good price for a room in Queenstown for a few days. I booked a room in a six-person bedroom for three days, in order to find something more permanent in the city. No courtesy WiFi but nice facilities and service. A good option for a couple of days.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manuel L
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We had a doubleroom and were staying of one night in queenstown to have a night out in the bars. The living and social area is really cozy and there is huge collection of dvds you can watch so even on a rainy day there is something to do

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tobi l
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Spent 5 nights with my 16 year old daughter and 2 friends. Paid $25 each a night. Facilities great and clean!! Within walking distance to everything, wifi and off street parking. Great for travelling on a budget or just wanting value for money. Def recommend A+++ 😀

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaza E
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Mandy was very nice with me and try to find accomodation even if the winter festival begins tomorrow and the backpackers are full in Queenstown. Very nice Town to visit and please go to Wanaka and Arrowtown which are two beautiful places not far from the city

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

The room was a good size with a heater you could operate yourself. The private room building was quite empty so we had a bathroom to ourselves and kitchen shared with a few others. Good additional parking for the private rooms. The cost was quite high but I guess that's just Queenstown for you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David G
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Just a great time; super clean, great management, absolutely loved my time there. It's right next to the center of Queenstown and just a 2 minute walk to the only major grocery store in town. It's small enough to meet everyone and get a good group together for going out. Worth every penny. :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger W
Sweden
Reviewed March 29, 2016

I loved this place last time and was eager to come back. Unfortunately I was not as pleased this time. They put us in a very noisy double room, just underneath the kitchen, which meant we had people stomping around above our heads from very early morning till late evening. We asked if we could change rooms (any other room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egus
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed March 8, 2016

Run down, not particularly clean and overpriced. Smelly with so many crammed into small rooms. They shut kitchen overnight till 7.30am and people catching early coaches cannot get breakfast or even a cup of coffee. Not happy. Not up to bbh standards in other hostels. Stayed in 28 in NZ and this is by far the worst.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave0314
AspenLodgeBackpacker, Manager at Aspen Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David. Thank you for your review. As mentioned via email this morning, I’m unsure how this happened. As you would have been aware we have 2 kitchen areas for you to place your food. This would have been explained on check in or if you were a late check in, on the map that you received with the key...

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

At the tender age of 47 and my first time back packing I was a little apprehensive at the whole scenario , as always done hotels. This experience as made me regret not doing it sooner . Yes I stayed in a room on my own (if only to spare others my snoring !!) The room was spotlessly clean, as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianstygall
Krakow, Poland
Reviewed February 10, 2016

Good location (3 minutes walk from the center) friendly staff and.. that's all. Room was very basic and not very clean. Room = bed + nightstand (with broken lamp). Shared bathroom = paint falling off ceiling + broken door lock. Whole place needs some serious renovation and cleaning. Will definitely choose a different hostel next time in Queenstown

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrimusTrip
AspenLodgeBackpacker, Manager at Aspen Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to respond to your queries however, if there was a problem, I would have appreciated you asking for help or letting us know so that this can be dealt with immediately rather than finding out online. The broken lamp we were not aware of so this has now been changed. Bathroom ceiling...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#8 of 87 in Queenstown
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#10 of 87 in Queenstown
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#32 of 87 in Queenstown
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.4 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#38 of 87 in Queenstown
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $16 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aspen Lodge Backpackers staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aspen Lodge Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a double on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Egus, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Dave0314, Mar 8, 2016 | Read review
“perfect service”
 of 5 bubbles fan212, Nov 8, 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms in a separate building from the dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles gxnnx, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“The rooms in the separate building at the back are fantastic and much nicer views.”
 of 5 bubbles 32LouiseM, Jul 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question