We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Mandy was very nice with me and try to find accomodation even if the winter festival begins tomorrow and the backpackers are full in Queenstown. Very nice Town to visit and please go to Wanaka and Arrowtown which are two beautiful places not far from the city

Helpful?
Thank David J
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

The room was a good size with a heater you could operate yourself. The private room building was quite empty so we had a bathroom to ourselves and kitchen shared with a few others. Good additional parking for the private rooms. The cost was quite high but I guess that's just Queenstown for you.

Helpful?
Thank David G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Just a great time; super clean, great management, absolutely loved my time there. It's right next to the center of Queenstown and just a 2 minute walk to the only major grocery store in town. It's small enough to meet everyone and get a good group together for going out. Worth every penny. :)

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Sweden
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

I loved this place last time and was eager to come back. Unfortunately I was not as pleased this time. They put us in a very noisy double room, just underneath the kitchen, which meant we had people stomping around above our heads from very early morning till late evening. We asked if we could change rooms (any other room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Egus
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Run down, not particularly clean and overpriced. Smelly with so many crammed into small rooms. They shut kitchen overnight till 7.30am and people catching early coaches cannot get breakfast or even a cup of coffee. Not happy. Not up to bbh standards in other hostels. Stayed in 28 in NZ and this is by far the worst.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave0314
AspenLodgeBackpacker, Manager at Aspen Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David. Thank you for your review. As mentioned via email this morning, I’m unsure how this happened. As you would have been aware we have 2 kitchen areas for you to place your food. This would have been explained on check in or if you were a late check in, on the map that you received with the key... More 

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

At the tender age of 47 and my first time back packing I was a little apprehensive at the whole scenario , as always done hotels. This experience as made me regret not doing it sooner . Yes I stayed in a room on my own (if only to spare others my snoring !!) The room was spotlessly clean, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianstygall
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

Good location (3 minutes walk from the center) friendly staff and.. that's all. Room was very basic and not very clean. Room = bed + nightstand (with broken lamp). Shared bathroom = paint falling off ceiling + broken door lock. Whole place needs some serious renovation and cleaning. Will definitely choose a different hostel next time in Queenstown

Helpful?
Thank GrimusTrip
AspenLodgeBackpacker, Manager at Aspen Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to respond to your queries however, if there was a problem, I would have appreciated you asking for help or letting us know so that this can be dealt with immediately rather than finding out online. The broken lamp we were not aware of so this has now been changed. Bathroom ceiling... More 

Nuneaton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2016

Stayed in the Aspen for 6 nights over New year with my son. Fantastic place to stay in amazing place of Queenstown. Staff so friendly and helpful. Place was very clean in a perfect location, 5 mins walk to the centre Stay here!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank scoff
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We stayed in Queenstown for 3 nights. The twin room we stayed was warm and nice, shared bathroom with only the other room. Bathroom was also clean and tidy. The price was also friendly to backpacker. Dan, the staff, was so friendly and energetic. He helped us to arrange booking activities and gave us some advice for travel. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank fan212
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Aspen lodge is not in the centre but not too far from it. clean bed and friendly staffs are the thing you can expect. i stayed in room 2 (dormitory) at downstair but the kitchens are upstairs. if you are driving, there are plenty of parking along roadside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Choonhong C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#9 of 84 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 84 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#35 of 84 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#38 of 84 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $15 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing