We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
12/3/2017 12/4/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bumbles Backpackers

    Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    12/3/2017 12/4/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in QueenstownSee available hotels in Queenstown
    Traveler (75)
    Room & Suite (45)
    Dining (4)
    Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
    2,849 reviews
    #16 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    3.6 mi
     
    The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
    2,102 reviews
    #10 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    1.7 mi
     
    Crowne Plaza Queenstown
    1,494 reviews
    #18 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    0.1 mi
     
    The Dairy Private Hotel
    908 reviews
    #2 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    0.3 mi
     
    Overview
    • Excellent55%
    • Very good28%
    • Average12%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible2%
    Travelers talk about
    “dorm room” (17 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (59 reviews)
    “great location” (36 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (234)
    There are newer reviews for Bumbles Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    81 - 85 of 221 reviews

    Reviewed September 17, 2015

    I don't usually write reviews but I really felt like I had to for this one. I can honestly say that this is one of the best backpackers I've stayed at during my New Zealand trip - I had such a lovely time here! Due...More

    Thank Keara019
    Response from BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles BackpackersResponded September 21, 2015

    Wow, Thank you sooo much for your extremely positive review. It's really great to hear that the small touches at Bumbles don't go unnoticed. Best of luck with the remainder of your travels. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Queenstown....More

    Reviewed September 12, 2015

    Very nice little hostels with great views (with terrace), great location (300m to main street), welcoming staff, possibility to book great tours (good advices) and clean / decent rooms for the price + great common areas

    Thank paulandre1984
    Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

    Well priced and friendly staff. A shame however that there are not smaller dorm rooms available - the six bed dorms are inevitably quite noisy. Also, there is only one toilet and shower between six people, which can make for a long and inconvenient wait...More

    1  Thank Modbridge
    Response from BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles BackpackersResponded September 21, 2015

    Thanks for writing a review. Toilet paper: - this is something that is usually topped daily. Apologies that it ran out on this particular day. There are always 2 x contact phone numbers on the door of reception if guests need assistance after hours. There...More

    Reviewed August 29, 2015

    The hostel is in a great location, just minutes from the town center. Our room had the most beautiful view of the lake. The rooms itself was spacious and had it's own bathroom. It was clean and tidy as well so all we really needed,...More

    1  Thank Rebecca1991_12
    Response from BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles BackpackersResponded September 21, 2015

    Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay :)

    Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

    Great parking. Staff was very nice and accommodating. The lay out is poor. The dorm rooms for 6 people also share a bathroom with the private rooms. People in the private rooms have to walk through the dorms in order to get to their room....More

    1  Thank Rachel O
    Response from BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles BackpackersResponded September 21, 2015

    Sincere apologies on behalf of your noisy and untidy neighbours, and your long showering room mates. It's a shame you didn't mention this while you stayed - you could have used another bathroom. It's surprising to read you didn't find the kitchen to be adequate,...More

    Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
    2,849 reviews
    #16 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    3.6 mi
     
    The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
    2,102 reviews
    #10 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    1.7 mi
     
    Crowne Plaza Queenstown
    1,494 reviews
    #18 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    0.1 mi
     
    The Dairy Private Hotel
    908 reviews
    #2 of 59 hotels in Queenstown
    0.3 mi
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • $32 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Queenstown
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (75)
    Room & Suite (45)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (42)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    The Dairy Private Hotel
    908 reviews
    .29 miles away
     
    Crowne Plaza Queenstown
    1,494 reviews
    .11 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Taj Indian Kitchen
    264 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Atlas Beer Cafe
    619 reviews
    .12 miles away
    Ivy & Lola's Kitchen + Bar
    1,247 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Bombay Palace Indian Restaurant
    780 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Moke Lake
    286 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Queenstown Water Taxis
    103 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Moa Statue
    77 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Creative Queenstown Arts & Crafts Market
    20 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    TerrySydneyAustralia
    April 28, 2016|
    Answer
    Response from BumblesQT | Property representative |
    Hi Terry, Yes is the answer to all of your questions :) Bumbles reception can arrange everything you need for the ski fields - lift pass & transport combos, equipment & clothing hire etc. There are packages available for all... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Room 8 - dorm room"
    Read review
    "Ask for extra blankets or use the in-room heater. It was a bit chilly when I stayed."
    Read review
    "Dorm 7 has the best view of the lake"
    Read review
    "ask if the room is right next to the bathroom. definitely book a double room if your travelling with another..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing