We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pounamu Apartments

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,172: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights midweek and it was a great place to stay. 10 min walk to town direct or alternate of 30 mins around the lake front. If you don't fancy walking there's a bus stop at the apartments with buses running every 15 mins. Everything in the apartment you could need. We were in block... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stay here twice over the last year, there are quite a few reasons for coming back. Top would have to be the booking direct and the personal friendly touch that is just not there in a chain hotel. The place was amazingly clean and well cared for, good wifi and free easy parking.

Helpful?
Thank Henrietta2011
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a very enjoyable week at the Pounamu Apartments. We stayed in a lake view apartment and found the standard to be extremely high. The views were spectacular and the staff extremely welcoming and happy to assist. Highlights included evenings in the spa and underfloor heating and a fire after a long day of skiing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jkanab_809291
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were very happy with our recent trip to Queenstown and our stay at these apartments. The staff were super friendly. We were there to ski, and the staff helped us arrange our rentals and a bus from the apartments each morning which was a great way to save time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Joseph H. Our focus is to ensure our guests leave Pounamu and Queenstown with treasured lifetime memories. We thoroughly enjoy making recommendations, booking trips and restaurants for our Guests. With the Remarkables and Coronet Peak on your doorstep and Cardrona just an hour away, we are spoilt for choice when comes to skiing and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay at Pounamu apartments. We had a great view over the lake, a spacious one bedroom apartment with all that you need. Clean, modern, well set out & did I mention the killer view! Loved our stay & can't wait to come back next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anniepipes
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Hi anniepipes Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us at Pounamu. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities on offer. We strive to ensure that your stay is just like “home away from home” with the necessities supplied. Keep a look out on our website for Seasonal Special offers.... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This apartment was way beyond what we thought we had purchased. It was amazing from start to finish. The friendly staff provided us with all our tourist info on arrival and even gave us discount vouchers for our stay. Then our apartment! The underfloor heating and heated towel rails were winners for us being from QLD. But just being able... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank krishangiw
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review krishangiw. We are rapt to read that you had a terrific time at Pounamu and Queenstown. We hope you return again and maybe enjoy our next Ski season. Not only can you store your skis in the ski lockers, you can also hire fantastic gear from “SnoPro” in Queenstown. Delivery right to your Apartment.... More 

Calgary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful complex, lots of stairs, great location - just a short safe walk to centre of town. Underground parking with ski storage for winter. Studios are very small, just 2 twin beds and kitchenette with no room for sitting, really just a bedroom. Staff are awesome helpful with local bookings and support for travel. Would highly recommend for their 1... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dsmall2016
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review “dsmall2016”. The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette. They are perfect for 2 people and for short stays or if Guests are out and about enjoying the activities that Queenstown has to offer and really just wanting somewhere to lay your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can highly recommend Pounamu. We had a great stay in a one bedroom apartment with incredible views over the lake & snow capped mountains. The rooms are clean, modern & have everything you need. Friendly & accommodating staff which make you feel more than welcome. Whilst a 10 minute walk from the main centre of Queenstown. The walk is... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniebywater
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Hi anniebywater Your words sum things up just perfectly “what a view”!! Thank you for your lovely feedback and review. It’s always a pleasure to read about enjoyable stays. All of our Apartments face the Remarkables and Lake Wakitupu. Check out our website for more beautiful images and seasonal specials. We look forward to your return next year. Why not... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay and the 1 bed apartment exceeded all of our expectations. Great facilities; beautiful view; warm; quiet despite the road; and fully appointed with everything we could need. The gym access was a well used and welcome addition and the staff were exemplary. There is no need for us to try anywhere else again - this was our 3rd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review on our Apartments Matthew W. We are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations on your first visit with us at Pounamu Apartments. You are so right about the facilities at Pounamu. One of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu, is that the rooms are “self catering”, creating the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pounamu apartments were in an ideal location for our stay in Queenstown. The staff were very helpful in advising us on activities for the area and they also booked all activities that we wanted to participate in requiring no effort from us at all. I would stay there again :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank samantha_easton86
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Hi samantha_easton86. Thank you for your fantastic review. Our focus is to ensure our guests leave Pounamu and Queenstown with treasured lifetime memories. We thoroughly enjoy making recommendations, booking trips and restaurants for our Guests. Allow us to help plan your holiday and take out the stress of organising .. we know all the Hot Spots! We hope that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

504 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (333)
Viewed
View from Room (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Premier Apartment (100)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $151 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay