We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Monarch Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Monarch for a work trip. We could not get over the fantastic service we received from Clark. He went beyond to ensure our stay was great. We will be definitely be coming back next time we are in town.

Helpful?
Thank austria99
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

We stay here every time we go to Invercargill. Great hosts, great rooms and great service. 😊 They always remember us, when we are going to be late into Invercargill they turn the heaters on for us and leave our key in our room. No need to give them credit details over the phone as they are very nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sallygaudin
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Nice and tidy quite units comfortable beds friendly people, got stranded in Invercargill once and they did everything they could to fit me in. Will stay there again and recommend them to other travellers heading south.

Helpful?
Thank keithm5563
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monarch Motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feed back is very much appreciated. From the team at Monarch Motel More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

The motel was clean, tidy and had all the amenities I required. There are 2 great dinning restaurants within easy reach. Situated on the main road into Invercargill it easy to find and with plenty of off street parking. The rooms are well set back to allow for a peaceful nights sleep. Staff and management were both polite and informative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosalind M
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you had a peaceful nights sleep and look forward to seeing you again. From the team at Monarch Motel More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

We had no booking and did not know how long we would be staying for, we advised the owners on check in and they were great about the whole thing. Ended up staying three nights. Rooms were clean, warm, quiet, and parking was right outside the room, which was great because the weather was horrible on at least one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Southlander11
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Southlander11 for your positive comments and taking the time to review Monarch Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the Monarch Motel. We would love to see you back. Kind Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Spent 2 nights in ground floor one bedroom unit which appeared to have been recently renovated. The unit was huge with great kitchen - fridge, full cooktop with oven, microwave and lots of utensils, large bathroom, lounge area with couch to watch TV and a separate bedroom which was very roomy and spacious. It was raining during our stay so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. We appreciate it very much as we continue to upgrade & renovate our Guest Rooms at the Monarch Motel. It was our pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Kerry, Karl and the team at the Monarch More 

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Great service from helpfull and friendly hosts, Very tidy and clean units and nice and quiet rooms. A great motel to base your visit to Invercargill and district attractions. Would most definitely stay again and recommend the same to others. Chris G

Helpful?
Thank chris2872015
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Chris for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back. Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

We arrived at the motel and were allocated unit an old tired unit - there was certainly no ceramic cooker hob or work table and we were charged the top rate. We asked for a unit on the lower floor but were given one on the higher floor. We asked for some milk and were told we had to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Londonjin999
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Hi Londonjin999, thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. Unfortunately I do not agree with a lot of the content of your review. When you booked via booking.com you specifically booked a two bedroom unit and asked for asked for a unit with 4 beds. All of our two bedroom units are located on the first... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights at this motel and would definitely recommend it. From the initial phone call the staff were very helpful. It is a very clean tidy motel with everything for a comfortable stay. Would we stay again.... Definitely

Helpful?
Thank Faye B
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Faye for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and were pleased we were able meet your expectations and we hope you are able to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

The motel was very well appointed with good lighting. Within easy distance of restaurants and the CBD. Helpful staff. We were very pleasantly surprised at the value for money. Can recommend this motel.

Helpful?
Thank Keith-Helen
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Helen, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that your unit had everything you wanted. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Best wishes, Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#20 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Motel

Address: 633 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Price Range: $82 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monarch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Motel Invercargill, South Island
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay