We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
2/4/2018 2/5/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tuatara Lodge

    30 - 32 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2/4/2018 2/5/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in InvercargillSee available hotels in Invercargill
    Traveler (26)
    Dining (15)
    Room & Suite (5)
    • Excellent11%
    • Very good28%
    • Average34%
    • Poor15%
    • Terrible12%
    Travelers talk about
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (99)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 89 reviews

    Reviewed November 27, 2017

    I stayed for 3 nights. My 6 bed room didn't have any windows or lockers; there were just 3 bunk beds and a chair. It was quite nice to have the room just for myself for two nights, though. The building seems to be quite...More

    Thank OkamiCaro
    Response from Tuatara I, Owner at Tuatara LodgeResponded November 29, 2017

    Sorry your stay was not up to your expectations. The reason we have lockers outside the rooms rather than in the rooms is because we have them monitored on security camera, which we cant do for privacy reasons in the rooms. We really are sorry...More

    Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

    It was okay, nothing overall stand out. Wall charger didn't work in room I was in. I mean I would stay there again but I wouldn't go out of my way to ensure a room. Kitchen was spacious, laundry was fine and well labeled and...More

    Thank Billie G
    Response from Tuatara I, Manager at Tuatara LodgeResponded November 14, 2017

    Hi Billie, Since you last stayed with us we have fixed all of the wall chargers available, thank you for your review :)

    Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

    I have stayed here in a private room twice in the last two months. Both times the room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom both ensuite and public were super clean aswell. I enjoyed a delicious coffee and mushrooms on toast on one stay but...More

    1  Thank coubs
    Response from Tuatara I, Manager at Tuatara LodgeResponded November 14, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback!! We hope to see you again soon :)

    Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

    We walked to the Invercargill Brewery to sample the local brews. Licensing laws prevented this without a site tour but we were time deprived with other places to see. Luckily we discovered that this establishment had all the brews on tap and we enjoyed sampling...More

    Thank Mikaere
    Response from Tuatara I, Manager at Tuatara LodgeResponded November 14, 2017

    Thank you very much for your review :)

    Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

    It has got high ceiling rooms, feels spacious. Kitchen is large. Wifi is good but sometimes doesn't work in rooms but works well in shared areas. It is very close to Little India - food choices, has a subway next door.

    Thank Krush D
    Response from Tuatara I, Manager at Tuatara LodgeResponded November 14, 2017

    Thanks for your feedback :)

    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Price range
    • $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 26
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Southland Region >
    • Invercargill
    • Also Known As
    • Tuatara Lodge Invercargill, South Island
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (26)
    Dining (15)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (9)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Invercargill
    Kelvin Hotel
    185 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Golden Leaf Apartments
    8 reviews
    .45 miles away
    Shiny Paua Motels and B&B
    6 reviews
    .56 miles away
    Heritage Court Motel
    22 reviews
    .58 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Rocks Cafe
    303 reviews
    .11 miles away
    Pinch of Spice
    55 reviews
    .04 miles away
    Speights Ale House
    293 reviews
    .02 miles away
    Waxy's Irish Pub
    225 reviews
    .10 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    E Hayes and Sons - The World's Fastest Indian
    630 reviews
    .27 miles away
    Queens Park
    466 reviews
    .62 miles away
    Southland Museum and Art Gallery
    349 reviews
    .52 miles away
    Classic Motorcycle Mecca
    74 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Tuatara Lodge staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Room near to the TV lounge or above the cafe are noisy"
    Read review
    "Pay an extra 4 $ for the room upgrade, eat at off hours the kitchen gets crowded."
    Read review
    "Didn't get free wifi at the room but sitting at the kitchen at the table nearest the internet room, I was..."
    Read review
    "ask for one with a TV if you want it."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing