We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once past the foyer of this hotel you could be in any average hotel. The room was small but clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfast experience was not so great. The dining room was cold and drafty, there was lipstick on a juice glass, the hash browns were grey (i didn't eat them), the tomato tasteless. Overall was not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion L
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Marion L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. What a shame that an otherwise pleasant stay was marred by your breakfast experience the following morning. I am sorry that we dropped the ball on this occasion and have certainly used your feedback constructively including arranging extra heating in... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good location - walking distance to central city but parking was off site. The room was quite big on the highest level. We received a free upgrade which was nice. The bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Has all you need for a good nights sleep. The wifi was important to us to use for googling things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diem H
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Diem H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your few days with us and your comments were a pleasure to share with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future- please be... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impression of this hotel was "wow" what a beautiful historic hotel. Love the historic charm, totally matches the city of Dunedin. Only negative was the heater in our room didn't quite heat up the room and there was no extra blankets in the room so had to wear clothes to bed.

Helpful?
Thank Kate A
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Kate A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is wonderful that you found the hotel to be very quintessentially Dunedin, at 154 years old we are indeed one of the city's original buildings! I am so sorry that you were not warm enough in your room and... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had to travel to Dunedin one day earlier than planned. As wains was offering a special at $113 pr nt I booked there. During check in the girl asked for our credit card imprint. I explained she already had it for the booking but i would be paying with ftpos. She tells me no you cant do that as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denys F
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Denys F, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. When you booked your accommodation on Booking.com you selected the prepaid non refundable rate as the receptionist advised. As such the credit card supplied for the booking was charged straight away. There are other options on this website and our... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lift was ancient but had character. It was one of those old fashioned ones where the passengers had to slide the door and the cage door open and closed. The breakfast was good, they offered croissants which was delicious. We had to be extra careful stepping and out of the bath/shower because there were no mats and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine_Jem604
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Christine_Jem604, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am so glad that you enjoyed our quirky but reliable old lift and that you were happy with your room and our breakfast croissants! With regard to the bathmats, all rooms should have these in them at all times, I... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location of this property is good. Getting a little tired and the fittings are dated, but serviceable. Ving card access would not work for the room and appeared that Reception knew there was an issue with this access but still had me located there - disappointing. Overall value for money.

Helpful?
Thank GymJunkie66
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear GymJunkie66, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I apologise for your room key having to be re-cut twice, this must have been very frustrating at the end of a long day. We have since checked the lock on your door and it all appears to be working fine... More 

Weipa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very old hotel that had a bit of charm. Room was an odd shape, but this did not impact on the comfort or warmth of the room. Staff were very helpful and breakfast menu was reasonably priced if you only wanted a simple breakfast. Very close to the city centre and it was in walking distance to some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslee C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Leslee C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is nice that you found the hotel to be charming and comfortable. In reference to your room 311, the hotel has rooms in a plethora of shapes and sizes, some more eccentric than others! Thanks also for mentioning the... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found our stay to be comfortable, clean and well serviced. We did find that our room could have contained more facilities and this could have been our oversight on booking the room. We did find the noise from the Musicians Club very loud and drunk people outside till about 1am very unpleasant, I did ring the front desk and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank karendT3823YL
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Ms Donnelly, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin and also completing a guest feedback form prior to your departure. I am sorry that your concerns about a neighbouring music club were not dealt with appropriately during your stay, your comments have been shared with the Team accordingly. We... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well priced clean and comfortable rooms only missed a table or couch but the room wasn't big enough for either. Interesting old styled elevator which added to the charm of this historic building. In short a great place for short visits or people on a budget wanting a good mix in quality and price.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is excellent that you found your room, our location and the hotel itself to be pleasing and well suited to your requirements whilst still providing value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Very small room. Shower over a old bath, bathroom in need of work, VERY poor shower pressure. We could hear the people in next room hawing, talking and when they heard we could hear them, they whispered and we still HEARD it! Don't reccomend staying here

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Kelly C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we have a wide range of room options available and would have certainly offered you a move to a preferable room had we known you were unhappy where you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#31 of 59 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 59 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $66 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay