We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very small room. Shower over a old bath, bathroom in need of work, VERY poor shower pressure. We could hear the people in next room hawing, talking and when they heard we could hear them, they whispered and we still HEARD it! Don't reccomend staying here

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Kelly C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we have a wide range of room options available and would have certainly offered you a move to a preferable room had we known you were unhappy where you... More 

Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 ladies on holiday enjoyed a 3 day stay here.Our large room ( A free upgrade) was most suitable for us.A bathroom with a bath was a real treat.We overlooked the road but even with being on the first floor we didn't hear the traffic.The staff members we dealt with were fabulous and extremely helpful thanks Tiana,Vibner and Sally and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Carol C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. Your generous comments were a joy to share with the team, thanks for being such charming (and fun) guests! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the South Island in general. I hope that... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for about two weeks. The building is nice well renovated historic building. However, our room was not well ventilated and no way the sun could stream in through the small window. The staff were very helpful and cooperative.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is very nice of you to mention how helpful the staff were and that you enjoyed the building itself, but I am sorry that you stayed for so long without mentioning that you were not happy in your... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our Son's wedding was held here what a lovely setting so we all decided to stay at the hotel nice rooms and excellent service. Wains Hotel is very handy to the City, Speights Ale House (a must), Dunedin Casino just to name a few, so check Wains Hotel out if staying in Dunna's.

Helpful?
Thank Waynedvh
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Waynedvh, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. We were so happy to host your son and daughter-in-law's beautiful wedding ceremony and reception last week and very much appreciate having been selected as the venue for their big day. They make a lovely couple and we wish them and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Wains Hotel, so different from many of the chain hotels and really enjoyed that the building retained so many original features, including the fire escapes and the old Lift which our son absolutely loved. The staff were friendly and helpful and our bags were taken straight to our rooms. Inside the rooms were modern... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malice79
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Malice79, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely time whilst staying with us and that you enjoyed the interesting old building- it is certainly a bit different from many other hotels although very quintessentially Dunedin in style! Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

The Wains looks nice from the outside and the inside doesn't do anything to change that opinion. If you are looking for 5 star opulence then don't come here but if you are looking for a place 10 min walk from the Octagon with friendly staff and decent sized rooms then this place will tick your boxes.

Helpful?
Thank Pete D
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Pete D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I was glad to read that your time with us was enjoyable across the board- thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you are in town. All... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

I really love the old building and the way it's been renovated. Check in was easy and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. My room was recently renovated but done to fit the old style of the building and lift. Breakfast was a bit of a miss. Hotel was pretty central and only a short walk to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy66lee
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Andy66lee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is great to hear that you love our building, it certainly has a lot of character and much history has been made within its walls during the course of the last 154 years! I am pleased that we made you... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it was great. Reception was helpful and pleasant. Room was good size and tidy with king bed and Great view. Breakfast was brilliant and hot. My only complaint was the bed had a mind of its own and kept moving. Definitely worth a stay

Helpful?
Thank Pam C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Pam C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I appreciate the lovely comments about your breakfast, our team and your room- despite the strange behaviour of your bed, for which I must apologise. I do hope you mentioned this matter to us on check out so that we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Pics look a little better than the actual rooms but to be expected. The double room I stayed in was huge! Everything I needed was in there.. the staff were awesome, very friendly. Loved the breakfast..if I come back to Dunedin I will be staying here again... Just think they need to review there snack/room service menu

Helpful?
Thank Trinity B
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Trinity B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am delighted that we made you feel so welcome and that you plan to stay with us again the next time you are in Dunedin- it is always wonderful to pass on such positive comments to the team. It... More 

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

A lovely little, old hotel, modernised in parts, with warm, spacious rooms. A little over 3 minutes walk to the Octagon (centre of Dunedin), and close to all the popular attractions - Speights Brewery, Art Gallery, Cadbury Factory, are within walking distance. The Forsyth Barr stadium and Baldwin Street are a short drive away. Very good place to base yourself... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhiBre2611
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear PhiBre2611, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I appreciate your kind comments about our team- we understand how challenging it can be to find hotel rooms in Dunedin on busy nights and much prefer to extend the stays of our valued in house guests who are in need... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 59 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 59 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $72 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay