We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 519: English reviews
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying here for eight days mid Winter 2016. The first impression was that the premises were a little dated. The whole is just two storeys high and occupies the site of a former brewery, with pleasant gardens outside to the rear and a fair amount of parking out front. The rooms seem to be in... More 

Helpful?
Thank big_ian
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Many, many thanks for taking the time to post this informative and interesting account of your stay here at our hotel. We most sincerely appreciate the shout outs to staff whom you found to be instrumental in making your stay enjoyable. You've raised some interesting feedback which will be directed to management for consideration/action. We appreciate your comments and hope... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently while in the city for work. Meet the needs of what I needed on this trip interns of stay and cost so no really dramas really and the room was clean and tidy be all in good working order. No major dramas and fine for the type of trip I was on.

Helpful?
Thank David T
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to be of service to you next time you're in Dunedin. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy location when arriving in Dunedin from the north. Friendly staff, free wifi, clean and tidy well presented rooms. Corridors can be noisy and water pressure in shower not very good. Very good price for hotel accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank emcr0sbie
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to post. We are delighted we were able to meet most of your expectations during your stay and hope to be of service to you again in the near future. More 

Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my third stay in the hotel, I received a great welcome at Reception. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have tea & coffee facilities. The breakfast & supper meals were very good as was the bar service. Mrs Jan McDougall and her team run an excellent facility.

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

We are humbled and delighted by your review and wish to thank you sincerely for posting. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 x nights in an interconnecting room. This was a great option travelling with two teens. Very comfy beds and quiet location. All the standard room facilities and free 1gb wifi per day. This is not a modern hotel but it has it's own charm. Convenient location to CBD. The restaurant offered a good variety of dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel. Our team are delighted we were able to meet most of your needs during your stay. Thanks for taking the time to post. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a accor member I was deeply disappointed with the male on reception who advised in no uncertain terms you only get one free drink. Everywhere else we go we get two with a silver membership. Why is this please?

Helpful?
Thank HewettNewZealand
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. With regards to your question, each Accor property decides individually how many complimentary drinks they will provide to members on arrival. At our hotel, we acknowledge and reward the card holder. We apologise if this policy has disappointed you and our staff member was in any way discourteous in conveying this... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently at the Mercure in Dunedin and it was fantastic! We had one person on crutches and they provided a shower stool and a late checkout for us which was very much appreciated. I also rang a week before we travelled asking for a ground floor room and the staff were happy to accommodate us. Most of the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey1994
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to assist with requests you made. Your comments have inspired our team to focus on delivering a superior experience to guests as we go forward. With regards to the complimentary drink(s), Accor properties can individually choose who will receive this... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mcgavins restaraunt served a lovely meal with great service. The salmon was just right and the lamb burger special was large and lovely. Irishcoffee was also great .. Front reception staff were very helpful with little things that make a difference. recommended to all

Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your delightful review of our hotel. Our staff are pleased that we could contribute to a great experience for you. Thanks ever so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Nothing fancy, just good sleep and efficient check-in. Would be happy to stay again. Pros: - Quick and friendly check-in, front desk was helpful with restaurant suggestions as we were tired and hungry after a long drive! - Free wifi up to 1 GB I think, good reception in the rooms - Spacious, comfortable, clean room - Good beds ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank XavierZen
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for this comprehensive review of your experience at our hotel. We are delighted we were able to meet most of your needs during your stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thanks for taking the time to review. We really appreciate your feedback. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

There were 2 functions on so there was no room to park for guests! We had to park a block a way and leave the car on the street. Tired rooms and decor. Needs modernising. Clean and tidy and beds are OK

Helpful?
Thank Alimac41
MercureLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. While we are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, at no time do we guarantee parking for any of the hotel's users. Parking is provided on a first come, first served basis and is free. We are naturally disappointed by your feedback and wish to apologise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#8 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
5.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.5 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#10 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#9 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay