We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manor House Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manor House Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed two nights at this hostel and all of the staff and other backpackers were really friendly and welcoming to me. The facilities are clean and the service is perfect! It is kind of far from the City Centre and the activities you can do in Dunedin, but it's not too far to walk (I did that a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Full of friendly atmosphere with great service, Manor house backpackers is ideal for those travelling on a budget The beds are comfortable and linen is clean rooms are small but dorms are bigger if you don't mind sharing. Similarly bathrooms are shared and have plenty of hot water in cubicle showers that provide privacy Kitchen amenities are well appointed, communal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy H
HildeTBG, Manager at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and lovely comments. Our drive is very steep, but as you have mentioned, we're lucky to be on one of the few streets with plenty of free parking. All the best for your travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place, perhaps a little too casual for my liking but staff was friendly, rooms were ok, free wifi and close to town. The rooms were fine but just not as clean as others i stayed in. Still nice thou so dont freak out! Big hill to get the car up to the carpark!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
HildeTBG, Manager at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, pleased to hear you liked our place! Sorry to hear the cleanliness of your room wasn't as what you hoped for, I will have a detailed look around and point it out to our cleaning team. Cleanliness is on of our top priorities so thank you for mentioning it. Thanks again and safe...

New Zealand
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, always on site too! Big kitchen full of utensils for any kind of baking. Lovely simple dorm rooms, shower block and toilets. TV room full of free DVDs! Free Bike hire available from reception too, which could be quite helpful as it's about 7 minute walk into town. Lovely bars and FREE WIFI!! Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonellie
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks for your lovely review, hope to see you again.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed August 25, 2016

I stayed in Manor House with 8 friends in early August and we all had a really good time. It is the perfect place to stay with a large group, the kitchen offers erverything for preparing a nice meal (although it has only one big table), they have a tv room with lots of sofas, comfortable beds and enough space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnemarieBerlin
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks for your lovely review, the cold water issue has been resolved now.

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

First off, the atmosphere is so welcoming and friendly here. As soon as they saw me enter the house, they greeted me so warmly. The kitchen was well stocked as well. However, the room is not as warm. I rented a double and while the people were warm, the room was not. The heater was quite poor and the restrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We have extra heaters, blankets to keep everyone warm. A pity you did not mention this to staff, very easily resolved. All the best with the reset of your trip.

Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

I really liked the atmosphere in this hostel. More bathrooms in the second building would be helpful, especially in "rush hours" you had to wait. Rooms are average, the little pouch for storing stuff next to your head is quite useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us, we are just waiting on a consent to upgrade bathrooms.

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Staff very friendly, rooms very tidy and confortable. If i will back to dunedin I will stay in Manor Backpackers again. :-) Near to town, almost 15 min by foot and 15 min by car to tunnel beach....beautiful place that you need to know. :-D Dunedin is a gorgeous and charming city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlineAga
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, enjoy your time in NZ

Reviewed May 3, 2016

I really loved this hostel- the rooms were clean, large and warm. Old-fashioned feel which is lovely, a home away from home. Very close to the town centre which is great and close to a Pak N Save too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mercychaplin
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

This place was like a 1930s home away from home. It felt like a home. Great views, lovely vibe. I would be totally happy to stay again. Dunedin is a beautiful city and you can't wish for a nicer place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Nice review thanks for staying with us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
666 reviews
6.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manor House rated number 1 Dunedin hostel on Tripadvisor. See for yourself why we are rated the best hostel in town. Situated just up the road from the Naked Bus depot and minutes walk to the city center, we look forward to having you to stay. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE fast WIFI UNLIMITED,available throughout the hostel, tent, vans FREE taxi from Intercity bus depot,must stay 2 nights and book direct FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) FREE hot chocolates every night throughout the winter We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel. Movies nights every Tuesday and Thursday 8.30Pm with popcorn, hot chocolates and marshmallows. Our staff working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $15 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor House Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manor House Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose room which have lot of windows”
 of 5 bubbles Sarie_Kiriyuu, Jan 27, 2016 | Read review
“The 10 people dorm is the cheapest but usually fully booked”
 of 5 bubbles rrulette, Oct 31, 2015 | Read review
“Whatever suits you best”
 of 5 bubbles lisafL203SE, Aug 20, 2015 | Read review
“unlimrted free wifi”
 of 5 bubbles spinsand, Jun 4, 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose a dorm”
 of 5 bubbles shipbouy, May 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay