We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Manor House Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manor House Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off, the atmosphere is so welcoming and friendly here. As soon as they saw me enter the house, they greeted me so warmly. The kitchen was well stocked as well. However, the room is not as warm. I rented a double and while the people were warm, the room was not. The heater was quite poor and the restrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We have extra heaters, blankets to keep everyone warm. A pity you did not mention this to staff, very easily resolved. All the best with the reset of your trip. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

I really liked the atmosphere in this hostel. More bathrooms in the second building would be helpful, especially in "rush hours" you had to wait. Rooms are average, the little pouch for storing stuff next to your head is quite useful.

Helpful?
Thank Anja S
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us, we are just waiting on a consent to upgrade bathrooms. More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Staff very friendly, rooms very tidy and confortable. If i will back to dunedin I will stay in Manor Backpackers again. :-) Near to town, almost 15 min by foot and 15 min by car to tunnel beach....beautiful place that you need to know. :-D Dunedin is a gorgeous and charming city!

Helpful?
Thank AlineAga
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, enjoy your time in NZ More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

I really loved this hostel- the rooms were clean, large and warm. Old-fashioned feel which is lovely, a home away from home. Very close to the town centre which is great and close to a Pak N Save too!

Helpful?
Thank mercychaplin
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

This place was like a 1930s home away from home. It felt like a home. Great views, lovely vibe. I would be totally happy to stay again. Dunedin is a beautiful city and you can't wish for a nicer place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Nice review thanks for staying with us. More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

Not one of the most memorable places I stayed in in NZ. It is still somewhat within walking distance from the train station if you don´t have too much stuff but it was one of the few places where I didn´t start chatting to other guests. Could have been me, but also it didn´t feel like there was much of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Franziska S
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Have you reviewed the correct hostel? We have to TV rooms/common areas and a computer room plus 2 kitchens. Our staff are very helpful, it is very hard to suggest how to get to the peninsula if you don't have a car and not prepared to join a tour. We do have bikes you can hire but it is a... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

The backpackers is an easy walk from the town centre. The houses look old and charming, but everything is clean and the rooms are really comfortable. It was a little cold in our dorm (second house, first floor), which is puzzling since it seemed to be warmer in the second floor. But there are heaters available in the dorm so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgane B
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, you mentioned the dorm being a bit cold? A heat pump is to be installed shortly, it will be the most efficient way to warm it up, its a large dorm that caters for 12 people. All the best with the rest of your trip. More 

Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay. There were no keys for shared rooms, meaning anyone could walk into the rooms. We booked a 4 share in a mixed dorm but when we arrived we were told we had to stay in a 5 share dorm because she had us down as 2 females despite being told it was male... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Peekaboo19
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

So disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We get so many great reviews about the hostel. Sorry to hear about the room misunderstanding I will check this out. Consent to upgrade the showers and bathrooms will be happening any day now. I hope you have a great trip in NZ and sorry we did not live up... More 

Atibaia, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

The kitchen was a mess, but the place and the people were very nice. It was a very warm old house, close to the city center and some main places. They have free towels and free earplugs. I recommend this place if you wanna stay for one night or more in Dunedin.

Helpful?
Thank André S
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, its an on going issue keeping the kitchens clean, we can go through the kitchens 5 times a day tidying up after everyone and then an hour later its back to being messy. Thanks for recommending us, all the best with the rest of your trip. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

Period depressing art deco. Dark and dingy. Too much information and suspicion when checking in. I have stayed in much better places and been asked less. Dirty showers. Dirty kitchen. No free tea or coffee,the containers were empty. We had to buy our own. Would I stay again. I was glad to leave but it did get me on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Herrn D
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Oh no very sorry you did not enjoy your time, hope you enjoyed your time in the Catlins. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#8 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#7 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#4 of 37 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
#20 of 37 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunedin Holiday Park
Dunedin Holiday Park
#7 of 37 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manor House rated number 1 Dunedin hostel on Tripadvisor. See for yourself why we are rated the best hostel in town. Situated just up the road from the Naked Bus depot and minutes walk to the city center, we look forward to having you to stay. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE fast WIFI UNLIMITED,available throughout the hostel, tent, vans FREE taxi from Intercity bus depot,must stay 2 nights and book direct FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) FREE hot chocolates every night throughout the winter We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel. Movies nights every Tuesday and Thursday 8.30Pm with popcorn, hot chocolates and marshmallows. Our staff working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $28 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor House Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay