We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St Clair

Booking.com$125*
View Deal
#23 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$131*
$125*
Great Deal
$130*
$131*
$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St Clair
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St Clair
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel St Clair is a favourite of ours - we have been there four times in recent years. The views of St Clair and St Kilda beaches, and the surfers, the sunrises out of the sea, are spectacular. The rooms and room decor are beautiful and contemporary. The hotel is under new management and was perhaps still finding its feet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barb_einhorn
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved this hotel. Very friendly staff. Large rooms. Breakfast at pier 24 was nice too. The only issue was having to text to get access code for wifi. Great position right on the esplanade. Beautiful views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkTeakle
HotelStClair, Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are certainly lucky to have such a great spot along the Esplanade! We would love to welcome you back in the future if you chose to return :) Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel St Clair is in a beautiful location right next to a beach where there were lots of surfers in the late afternoon. We arrived at 1 o'clock on a rainy day and the receptionist was welcoming and we were able to get into the room. Although it didn't have a direct sea view you could see the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheilambutcher
HotelStClair, Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next one :) , Kind Regards Hotel St Clair Team

Orem, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice to have a hotel near the ocean, that caters to a colder climate. Nice touches in the room like a radiator, heated towel bar, heat in bathroom, heated mattress pad, etc. Has a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge, (no stove/burners) and a few kitchen utensils. Spacious rooms, most with balconies. Pleasant staff, and my stay included a buffet breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DareAcceptor
HotelStClair, Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next one :) Kind Regards Hotel St Clair Team

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a room on the 3rd floor. Although not overlooking the ocean it did offer glimpses of the magnificent beach. Our room was spacious and clean. All the the staff we came across we friendly and helpful. Even though this hotel wasn't in the city it was a perfect location with enough eateries nearby to satisfy us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike p
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you Mike P for taking the time to give us such a lovely review :) We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, we are lucky that even though we are not in the city center, that there are plenty of options for places to eat! Thank you again, and for acknowledging the service you...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night recently. Hotel is situated right over the road from the beach. Great situation. It was a cold rainy night and morning but can imagine what the view would be like on a sunny day. We had an ocean view room, it was more than a hotel room, really a studio room. Usual tea, coffee making facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin5142
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you Kevin5142 for your lovely review! It is unfortunate that it was not good weather, as there is so much to see and do in Dunedin, but we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay regardless. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel St Clair team

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed April 13, 2017

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, with great views up the beach to the surfers braving the windy and cold weather on the night we were there. The room was excellent, nicely decorated, spacious, but with a warm cosy feel. We'd visited Dunedin before, but never stayed out at the beach before, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Parking under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our beach front location. We are fortunately enough to have plenty of restaurants in walking distance also! We apologize the bed was not up to your comfort though, and I will pass this onto management for a way to work...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Room was clean and comfortable, bed a bit soft for my liking, very quiet. Small hotel on the promenade at St Clair, Hotel has no breakfast included in rate, but there are several options within walking distance. Surfers started on sunrise and left at sunset, What a view. Take a walk up past the sea water pool to an inlet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joethetraveller58
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

I am so glad you had such a wonderful time! You were incredibly lucky to see the penguins, they can be very difficult to find! We wish you all the best, and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

Reviewed March 29, 2017

Very nice light and airy room, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom, even supplied a make up removing flannel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good free underground parking which is useful as we found parking out front difficult. Excellent beachside location with plenty of restaurant choices. We really liked the Esplanade restaurant. Can't review the hotel restaurant as we didn't dine there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Judi Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of the location! We would gladly welcome you back in the future if you return :) Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

We upgraded to a suite that included a kitchenette, sofa and view of the ocean, although across a public parking lot. The room was very clean and bathroom large. It sits right on the promenade in St. Clair, which is about a 15 minute drive into Dunedin city center. We walked the promenade and beach and enjoyed a couple restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advicetaken
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would absolutely welcome you back if you return in the future. Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
3.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
7.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
3.1 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - In house Restaurant (Pier 24) - Room service - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St Clair

Address: 24 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly St Clair Beach Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $139 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Clair 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel St Clair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Beach Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#6 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel St Clair staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St Clair staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on 3 sides have at least partial ocean views.”
DareAcceptor, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms seem to be great. We had one facing west looking at the hillsides”
mikepL6050XN, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view.”
Kevin5142, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Any room with a sea view.”
  • View from our room
LindaNZ, Apr 13, 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view of the sea, but probably the best is the top floor with a direct view.”
Joethetraveller58, Mar 30, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$125* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$130
TripAdvisor$125
Travelocity$131
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates