We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St Clair

Traveler (39)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
128Reviews
56Photos
2Q+A
37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 75
  • 41
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I’ve stayed at this hotel a few times now and it never fails to impress. The best thing about it is the prime beachfront location on St Clair Beach. We had sweeping ocean vistas from our room and we never tired of watching the waves rolling onto the beach. The area is great for
Read more
Response from HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We really really appreciate your feedback, and has certainly made our days reading this! We very much look forward to welcoming you back here :) Kind regards, Danielle
Read more
A wonderful location on the beach, watching the sun rise each morning was always an enjoyable experience, and having good weather made it even better. The staff were friendly and helpful, having a restaurant would have been helpful but it is not the end of the world.
Read more
Response from HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded 5 weeks ago
What a joy to receive such a kind review! It is nice to hear that the sun was out, and you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back in future, hopefully to a new & inviting restaurant :)
Read more
Great spot on the beach, we had ocean view room and good weather so sunrises were beautiful. Aside from front desk person and cleaning staff, not many other services. Hotel restaurant was closed but excellent restaurants a 2 minute walk along the esplanade. Hotel was nicely
Read more
Response from HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Jan 2, 2019
Thank you for your top review!! We are so pleased you were able to make the most of our location, and thankfully the weather! We are just a small boutique hotel so there is just us front desk and Housekeeping staff, but we hope we were able to contribute to the wonderful experience you had! Hope to have you stay with us again in the future Kind regards, Hotel St Clair team
Read more
This has been a favourite venue in because of its location, restaurant and room service. Alas the restaurant is closed indefinitely. The "mountain view" room was overlooked by half a suburb so delivered a complete lack of privacy. With the curtains closed it was just an
Read more
Response from HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Nov 21, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write this. We are very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately our restaurant is closed, but there are great restaurants within a minutes walk from the hotel. The Executive room that you booked is advertised as looking over the St Clair hills, as unfortunately not all the rooms can have an ocean view so this is our most standard room type. In saying this, the room still has great value and has everything that a guest would need. I will pass your feedback onto our management team as there is always room for improvement! Thank you again for your feedback Kind regards, Hotel St Clair team
Read more
The hotel itself is very pleasant in a great location on the beach. The suite was nicely furnished and the bed was comfy, but to watch the TV you had to move a sofa and close the curtains. Although the weather was OK when we were there and we got ventilation by opening the
Read more
Response from HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Nov 16, 2018
Thank you for your constructive review. Though you enjoyed the location and the room in general, we are very sorry that you were let down by us not having a restaurant. It is very unfortunate that we no longer have one, but perhaps of just having it removed from being advertised on sites I could clearly have the websites state we don't have a restaurant to avoid disappointment of future guests. This is something I can look at, so I appreciate you letting us know. Thank you again, and we wish you the best with all future travels! Kind regards, Hotel St Clair team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
View from front of hotel
Bathroom
Bedroom
View from our room
PreviousNext
12345
Sorry, correcting below answer. We unfortunately do not have air conditioning, but we do have heaters and electric blankets in the room.
0 votes
Good Morning, Yes transportation is available. There are Taxis and Shuttles. Were you wanting to go to the Airport? And what time were you looking at leaving here? Thank you. Kind Regards, Kelly
0 votes
Show all answers
"Very comfortable and lovely view"
"make sure you get an "Ocean View" - epic !"
"Eastern side rooms still have great views down the beach. 403 was great"
"Spend a bit more and get an ocean view room"
"North east corner is best"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st clair beach hotel dunedin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St Clair Beach Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing