Hotel St Clair

Hotel St Clair

24 Esplanade Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012 New Zealand
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (8)
View from Room (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Dunedin
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Beach
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Korean

Location

24 Esplanade Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Dunedin Airport
13.9 mi
See all flights
179Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 96
  • 59
  • 15
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris Francis wrote a review Mar 2023
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand141 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The view from my room had a wow factor and made a great impression when I first entered it. It was situated to the side but still had a pleasant outlook with a balcony. The sea could be viewed to the side from the balcony. The queen sized bed was very comfy and the room was extremely quiet at night. The receptionist was polite and the check in was easy and quick. The room was clean and the heated towel rail in the bathroom was appreciated The negatives are, all rooms are required to be paid up front upon booking, even if you reserve through the hotel. There was only one light switch by the bed which was high up on the wall. There was no fresh milk in the fridge but I read in the hotel handout that you can request it at reception. It would have been appreciated if a supply of long-life milk had been available along with the tea and coffee. The cafe next door to the hotel does not open until 9am so you need to wait until then to have breakfast. There does not appear to be a cafe open for breakfast anywhere near the hotel, so be prepared to take your own.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rosiebag wrote a review Dec 2023
Cortez, Florida61 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice location on St. Clair beach. The rooms are equipped with a small refrigerator, 2 plates, 2 cups, silverware and a coffee maker with instant coffee, tea and a cookie. The facility was clean and tidy. There are no services, but we were given a coupon to try the salt water public pool nearby. There is underground parking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin C wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia135 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked & paid for 2 nights at a BnB that was bit of a nightmare. Hotel St Clair took us in 'off the street'.
The location is exceptional, the rooms are clean & luxurious, they even have a decent size little kitchenette.
Even the non Ocean view rooms have a little bit of Ocean View.
So very glad the other place was awful as we'd have never experienced this beautiful place.
Thank you Hotel St Clair for taking us in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at Hotel St Clair in the future. Take care. Kind regards, Caitlin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ATLAdventurer2010 wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlanta, Georgia175 contributions88 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very challenging one night at this hotel. On a five week self-guided driving tour throughout both islands, we stayed at 16 hotels, airbnbs and bnbs and this was the only one in which we had a bad experience. Although it is a lovely part of Dunedin and overlooks a stunning beach, the hotel left a very bad taste in our mouths after having a room that reeked of a sour smell- what seemed like a cross between old beer, pot and something else. After our arrival to our room and smelling the horrid smell, we opened the windows and hoped it would abate, however, after a couple of hours it did not, so I went to see the desk clerk on duty. He showed concern and came to the room to smell for himself. He agreed there was a funky smell, but wasn't sure what it was. He said he would contact the hotel manager to see what might be done. Many hours later, after not hearing anything, we reached out to the clerk again and he said there was no response from the manager and at that time there were no other rooms available. Being that it was 8 pm, we felt we had no choice but to stay in the room, but made it clear we were not happy about it. We couldn't sleep and unfortunately couldn't leave the window open because once the sun dropped it was very cold. By morning there still was no response from the manager, so we asked for his email so that we could contact him ourselves and request a refund. A day later we received an email response and he denied that the room smelled at all and therefore refused our refund request. This type of poor customer service is unacceptable in the hospitality business. Stay at your own risk, but know that if something goes wrong you are on your own at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
traveller wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked and pre paid an oceanview room for $219 per night over the internet, On arrival I was told all of the Ocean view rooms were not available, I could have a room on the side of the hotel with a view of hills and houses.
I had planned two nights looking at the ocean from the balcony I had pre booked.
The man on the reception was not at all helpful, kept leaving me standing in reception while he spoke to some one in the back office.
After crediting my card I left and and stayed in a two room suite at the Millennium Hotel with awesome city and sea views for $195 a night, much better value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel St Clair Office, General Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Mar 22, 2021
Hello, Thank you for the review. The room you booked for $219.00 was the Executive Room, which was the correct room type offered to you upon check-in. We were very busy so could not offer you another room type but offered to refund so you were able to find another hotel. I am sure that most, if not all hotels by the sea/lake will not have the sea/lake view in every room, and we state that on our booking websites for this room type. You can still get a minor view of the sea on the balcony however. We are glad you found a hotel that suited your taste. Regards, Hotel St. Clair Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary A wrote a review Nov 2021
Cromwell, New Zealand14 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had stayed at Hotel St Clair prior to this booking and had found a specific room we wished to stay in, it was a luxury apartment with a great balcony and ocean views. I requested the specific room number and was told it was available for the 2 nights I wanted, I then paid for that room for our 2 night stay a week in advance to confirm the booking and was told it was a non refundable booking. Arrive at the hotel looking forward to our weekend away only to find that they had given the room I had paid for to someone else WTF, I asked why and the receptionist said people had been staying in the room and wanted to extend their stay, I said why didn't you say the room was not available, she could only apologise, they gave me a $32 refund - it was an insult really and I will think long and hard before recommending anyone stay there.
ing
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
177Chris177 wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand84 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great decision it was to choose St Clair Hotel. Situated right on St Clair beach allowed us to be lulled to sleep by the waves and to wake up to the sunrise over the water. Our room had a balcony where we could enjoy sitting and watching the people promenade on the walkway. Having a little kichenette was great. The bed
was SO comfortable, best on our holiday. We were welcomed warmly on arrival and nothing was too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel St Clair Office, General Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Thank you so much for the glowing review ! We are glad you enjoyed staying with us :) Hope to see you again Chris -Hotel St Clair-
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ddisandro wrote a review Mar 2023
Paso Robles Wine Region, California21 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This beachfront hotel provided us with an ocean view room right in the heart of the South Dunedin shoreline. Very friendly and helpful staff, free parking on site (first come, first served) and short walk to heated salt water community pool (which is complimentary for hotel guests) plus several great restaurants (don’t miss Esplanade for an amazing dinner or morning coffee, etc.). Fun to watch surfers from our room right in front of the hotel, and loved being lulled to sleep by the waves.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord MacDuff wrote a review Apr 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom660 contributions406 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great room with views along the beach from the room and balcony. Not the biggest room when you have a lot of luggage but it came with a good, well fitted kitchenette, bathroom with separate shower and large bath, Sky TV, excellent wifi and underground parking with lift to your floor. No breakfast provided as their restaurant is being refurbished but there are plenty of local café’s available or like us, you visit a convenience store and buy what you wish to start the day with. Location is some 15 minutes from the octagon (centre of Dunedin) but it is right on the beach and really worked well for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: High floor at front for view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel St Clair Office, General Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded May 14, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel St Clair. Stay safe and have a lovely evening. Kind regards Hotel St Clair
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James D wrote a review Dec 2020
Wellington, New Zealand21 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel's location is perfect with sweeping views out to St Clair beach and the ocean. We enjoyed some great walks along the beach and even encountered a seal. The room was clean, comfortable and well-equipped, if a tad plain. The hotel is brilliantly positioned for eating out on the esplanade. We loved the Italian for pizza and Starfish for breakfast. Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel St Clair Office, General Manager at Hotel St Clair
Responded Dec 13, 2020
Thank you so much for the review ! Thank you for staying with us and Hope to see you again James -Hotel St Clair-
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hburr asked a question Aug 2018
Los Angeles, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
Does this hotel have air conditioning?
Answer from HotelStClair
Dunedin, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
Sorry, correcting below answer. We unfortunately do not have air conditioning, but we do have heaters and electric blankets in the room.
Debra H asked a question Aug 2016
Randolph, Vermont, United States12 contributions4 helpful votes
We will be flying home to the US the morning after our stay. Is transportation available early morning from the hotel?
Answer from HotelStClair
Dunedin, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
Good Morning, Yes transportation is available. There are Taxis and Shuttles. Were you wanting to go to the Airport? And what time were you looking at leaving here? Thank you. Kind Regards, Kelly
Carol Blue Mountains wrote a tip Nov 2023
Blue Mountains, Australia399 contributions176 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expensive rooms have the best view but all rooms have a sea view from the balcony"
Read full review
thegarvans wrote a tip Feb 2023
Cronulla, Australia207 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the rooms with the north facing balconies for all day sun and perfect views of the beach"
Read full review
michelleskinz wrote a tip Nov 2022
Wanaka, New Zealand49 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Ocean View Rooms are the best. Pay the additional price to upgrade, it is well worth it."
Read full review
waynehannah2018 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand49 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top Floor views are hard to beat !"
Read full review
Anwil51 wrote a tip Dec 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand520 contributions306 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor suite with ocean and St Kilda view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunedin area.
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st clair beach hotel dunedin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St Clair Beach Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ST CLAIR $117 ($̶1̶4̶8̶) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel St Clair
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel St Clair?
Nearby attractions include St Clair Beach (0.1 miles), Dunedin Beach (0.1 miles), and St Clair Hot Salt Water Pool (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel St Clair?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel St Clair?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel St Clair?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel St Clair?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel St Clair?
Conveniently located restaurants include Titi, Esplanade Restaurant, and Starfish Cafe and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel St Clair?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel St Clair?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel St Clair?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel St Clair?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Olveston Historic Home (3.3 miles), Speight’s Brewery (2.5 miles), and Northern Cemetery (3.9 miles).
Does Hotel St Clair have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Dunedin HotelsDunedin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DunedinHotels near Hotel St Clair
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars