We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Motel on York

Show Prices
#21 of 59 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel on York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed hear many times, always clean and very comfortable while being away from home. Close to The Octagon, restaurants and bars which is in walking distance. Staff are very helpful. If you don't feel like eating out staff can give you a list of places that deliver to the motel.

Helpful?
Thank petes912
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel is the closest to the CBD as you can get. One block and you are there. This motel is warm and welcoming and surprisingly quiet for being so close to the CBD. The hosts are lovely and nothing was a problem. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Nan24a
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. A definite bonus being so close to the CBD. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

I was booked into a Superior Studio room, the cheapest of the selection. While the room was small, it was big enough for a business traveller. Room was very clean and tidy, sheets were soft and clean, towels a bit average and not fluffy. TV a bit small for the room size. Pleasant reception staff. Room was cold when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank classicchch
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We do apologise for the room being cold when you arrived. As a rule when the weather is colder we do turn the heaters on when we know we have people coming into a room. The heating and refrigerator do not turn off when you remove the energy control card; it... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Though we stayed only one night we really liked this place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and very clean room. Centrally located. What else could one wish for during a tour of the South Island?

Helpful?
Thank dcm_boticelli
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay,a nd I hope to see you again Thanks More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Stayed for 1 night. Rooms were decent and our Balcony had a nice view of the city. There was a rugby match of Otago and since all other motels were booked, we managed to get 1 last room available here. And we were not at all disappointed. Recommended to anyone who visits Dunedin

Helpful?
Thank ShrenikAjmera
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Hope you enjoyed the game, and pleased you had a great view. Look forward to seeing you next time More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We don't usually stay in motels, but good hotels, these are limited in some parts of NZ. Having done our homework we found the 'Motel on York' for a few days in Dunedin. The location is great being just down from the main shopping street with plenty of shops & restaurants. The motel and it's rooms are well designed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank RedPartridge
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the Motel experience, and were able to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Only a short walk to the Octagon and Dunedin's main shopping/restaurant area, so well located. The rooms are spotless and very quiet, and ours featured a balcony with views over Dunedin and out to the harbour. There are no lifts so if you are in an upstairs room, the luggage needs to be carried up the stairs, which I did... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZtraveler
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Yes, we are more than happy to carry any bags upstairs if required. Pleaseed you were able to take advantage of our great location, and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

A very nice motel, conveniently located. The centre of busy Dunedin is easily reached, yet the motel is very quiet. We had a fully serviced room on the upper floor. From the balcony we had extensive views over Dunedin. The main problem was carrying large suitcases up the stairs. The manager obliged us with many suggestions re tours, entertainment and... More 

Helpful?
Thank arbruse
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Yes Dunedin is very much a City on the hills. Being at the base of the hills behind the town, we are able to get some great views. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. More 

birmingham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Came to Dunedin for a couple of nights in early March 2016 while exploring the East coast. Think it was a busy weekend in Dunedin - I think a big rugby match - but I was pleased I chose the Motel on York Arrived on a Friday afternoon , friendly and helpful owners , I had a modern well equipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank flatworm
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and your time in the city. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

A nice and tidy hotel situated only a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. We had a small outside area off our room which had a table and chairs. Even though it backed onto an outside street it was still very quite.

Helpful?
Thank Craig O
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#8 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 59 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#12 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel on York

Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Motel on York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay