We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel on York

Show Prices
#22 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel on York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of Motel on York
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Best to get the idea of this place being a motel out of your head as it is much more than that. The owner, Kate, takes a great pride in ensuring guests feel at home and has a fantastic knowledge of the city and gives good recommendations of tours to try and where to eat - try the pub/restaurant at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Ros2014
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, as you mentioned it takes a team to ensure our Guests enjoy their accommodation and stay. We believe our team do an amazing job each and ever day. It was our pleasure having you stay and we hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Leura, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff delightful Position of motel from the main part of city excellent Heaps of cafes and restaurants nearby Close to gardens art gallery and museum No problem finding a park but make sure you don't arrive to late at night may have to park next door where there are metres starting around 8am

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frapal54
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we do try to accommodate with parking but unfortunately when we are fully booked some Guests may have to park on the street overnight. It is free from 6.00 pm to 9.00 am. Being close to a lot of restaurants, cafes and attractions is definitely bonus.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a lovely motel with an excellent management team who went out of their way to be helpful. The apartment was great and well equipped. The location is really good and you can walk to everywhere in the city leaving the car parked at the motel. It's a great choice when in Dunedin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaJSheffield
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you. We do try our best to make all our Guests feel welcome and relaxed. Our location is a bonus for Guests as they can walk to most restaurants and attractions easily.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a cut above your average Motel, we had 3 rooms, a bed room, bath room and sitting room. The location is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre so we were able to abandon the car and walk everywhere. The only drawback is the cooking facilities in the room are rather limited due to fire regulations do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoretonBoy
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and yes most of our Guests agree that our location is excellent for getting out and about without the car.

Timaru
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed at this motel before but not for quite a while so we were hoping it would still be as good a choice as previously. There were no worries on that front - it was obviously a little bit older but still in well maintained condition. My beef lies with unclean motels but I'm really pleased to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanpic
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take great pride in our house keeping staff and the excellent job they do. We feel the extra touches are important in making our Guests more comfortable during their stay. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Dunedin.

Middleton Cheney, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. Location was brilliant for exploring Dunedin and also easy to drive out to the Otago peninsula. Wi - fi was rubbish in the room, pretty much impossible to get a signal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amy_MRB
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, as always the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms is one of the best compliments we can receive, our location is always a positive with our guests. If we had been made aware of our Wi-Fi problem we may have been able to offer an alternate solution, apologies for any inconvenience this caused.

Dublin, Ohio, United States
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We drove up to this motel to check availability. They had a couple of suites with reasonable enough pricing, so we booked one for a single night. The lady (owner) who checked us in was extremely nice and helpful and showed us two room choices before we decided to book one of them. The suite was clean and spacious, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bikerjff
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we try to give walk in Guests a look at the room options when available. As always our housekeeping and location seem to be redeeming factors, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed November 26, 2016

Ideally located to walk into the city lots of good bars and restaurants close. nice clean unit friendly hosts, rather novel cctv coverage of the car park on the room tv . Railway Station just down the road.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ozkiwis2016
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you, we are fortunate with our location and our housekeeping staff do a great job for us in keeping the rooms clean. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous motel. On arrival I was warmly greeted by management. Lindsay took me to my unit and explained the in's and out's of how things work. There was plenty of off street parking. The motel is so close to the shops. I would fully recommend anyone to stay there. Thanks for making my short stay in Dunedin a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosalind M
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation, we are very lucky being close to shops, restaurants etc, it makes it very easy for our guests to get around without having to drive. It was our pleasure having you stay and we hope you stay again sometime.

Union, Kentucky
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Lindsey and his wife were excellent hosts. Clean, comfortable and like home. I highly recommend the Motel on York for a stay in Dunedin. Convenient walking to the Octogon area and good rates. Beautiful view of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KyBuffalo
Kate M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was our pleasure having you stay. We are very happy you felt at home. Our housekeeping staff do a great job and this reflects in all our reviews.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#19 of 58 in Dunedin
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#12 of 58 in Dunedin
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel on York

Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Motel on York staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel on York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms close to York street have the best view (second and third floors )”
 of 5 bubbles frapal54, 6 days ago | Read review
“Our room was facing east and on the second floor so we had great views over the city.”
 of 5 bubbles tanpic, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“It had good views”
 of 5 bubbles 18sandyk, Feb 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor if you don't like steps. There is no lift to upper 2 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexLee20, Jan 12, 2016 | Read review
“no lift, so if stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor unit.”
  • Unit 8
 of 5 bubbles allthingsclassy, Dec 28, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question