We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Comfort Inn Riccarton

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Riccarton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

We stayed two nights in this motel. We required a simple unit but, although the motel boasts 28 units, we were told when we booked that we could not have the same unit two nights in a row but would have to vacate between 10 am and 2 pm. We then decided to pay extra and upgrade to a unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noyeraie
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Noyeraie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Comfort Inn Riccarton. We are disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your experience while staying with us. We are sorry that the room you requested was not available for two consecutive nights. Given the circumstances, we believe we went above and beyond... More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night and from the outside it wasn't super appealing but the rooms were great! The lady at reception was super helpful with everything, she made the experience much better! The rooms are a good size, nice big bathroom and a comfy bed! Good wifi is a huge plus also :)

Helpful?
Thank Kyle V
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hello Kyle V Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Love, love, LOVE this place! Amazing room, Amazing stuff members , overall AMAZING!!! Felt like home, my kids loved their stay and felt free and comfortable. Really looking forward to planning another family trip, just glad I can trust that my family and I will be in a warm, comfortable and reliable place to stay while traveling. Or maybe just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leesha14
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Leesha, Thank you so much for giving us full marks. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our AMAZING friendly staff and our clean and tidy rooms, being very comfortable, we're glad to hear it helped you enjoy your stay. We appreciate the fantastic review and we look forward to... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

Had several concerns with this motel. We had booked a 3 bedroom unit for a family weekend away and ended up very disappointed. What you would expect from the photos on the website is not what you get! Cleanliness was not high on their list: The unit had not been dusted for a very long time. Any surface you touched... More 

Helpful?
Thank nelson728
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

We value your feed back.Thank you for taking the time to respond. Had we know about your concern at the time when you arrived, or during your stay, would have been able to rectify the matters. Concerns after you have left, leaves us no opportunity to put it right for you the guest. Please note this guest, did damage to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Seaham, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

I was not sure what to expect based on previous posts. I was impressed by the comfort, kitchenette facilities, coffee pot and espresso machine, roomy bathroom, table and chairs and a sofa. Modern decor. Handy to airport and and easy straight line drive into the city. Lots of eateries closer into city...so you need to drive.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hello Fiona. Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are delighted we were able exceed your expectations. We are well located, close to Bush Inn Shopping Centre, 15 eating places all under 7 minutes walk, very close to the University and handy to the airport. Bus service is outside our gate. We hope you have taken home wonderful... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights in possibly the most uncomfortable bed I've (tried) to sleep in. The room was a good size, small kitchen which was nice (able to self cater) although on inspection the remains of previous guests cooking were lying on the oven floor. Salt and pepper lay on the shelf around the shakers so it felt like the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank travellingrat
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear travellingrat, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size of our guest rooms and bedding options. We endeavour to offer a flexible approach to our room types to cater to solo travellers as well as families and groups. We are however disappointed to hear that you were... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile

Being booked by the travel agent, I wasn't sure what to expect here; I haven't stayed at or even seen a Best Western for ages. It sounds like this one is independently owned and operated, not that that has anything to do with the experience, which was very pleasant. The reception was very friendly and hassle-free. They have a charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank johobu
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear johobu, Thank you so much for giving us full marks. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and our clean and tidy rooms, we're glad to hear that you also enjoyed our shower and it helped you to getting a good nights rest. We appreciate the fantastic... More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016

Delightfully warm welcome that continued throughout the stay. They were exceptionally helpful. Very clean & comfortable room & OMG - the shower & plush bed alone could have made my trip. They arranged the absolute best all-day tour that picked me up at the hotel, and the city bus stops right in front of hotel. Wonderful visit. Highly recommended. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mysistahgirl
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Mysistahgirl, Wow! Thank you soo much for leaving a perfect review! We're soo happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff who strive to accomodate all guests requests, and we're glad that they contributed to making your stay enjoyable. Thank you also for mentioning our clean and comfortable... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

The bed linen was so dirty, there were 3 yellow spots on the bed linen and very smelly. Feels like they didn't change the bed linen from the previous customers before we arrived. After sleeping one night, I feel very itch on my skin. Very bad experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lina G
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Lina G, Thank you for your time in leaving a review. We are however disappointed to learn that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. Concerning the quality of our linen, please be assured that our guest rooms are cleaned and serviced before every arrival and all of our linen is professionally cleaned to the highest standard. We... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

Great location, close to airport, uni, Riccarton Mall & Church Corner. But bed linen wasn't quite clean, a few yellow spots that looked like urine stain; got itchy skin after one night sleep. The toilet flush didn't work properly; have to press the button a few time to stop the water leaking. And it's a bit odd to have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Eric Z, Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving a review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to all of Christchurch's main attractions. Many guests choose to return and stay with us regularly due to our value and location. However we are disappointed that you were not totally satisfied with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#80 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#44 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#68 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#71 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Christchurch motel offering you affordable accommodation with a true Rural Southern Hospitality welcome to an Urban in Christchurch New Zealand. Being Kiwi owned and operated your hosts Bob & Zeta Pringle extend a very warm welcome to Best Western Clyde on Riccarton Motel.Your first choice for exceptional, affordable Christchurch accommodation offering 23 quiet, luxury, self-contained units, all with fully equipped kitchenettes, Sky TV, wireless broadband and some with spa baths. Ample off-street parking, BBQ/play area in garden setting. For your convenience we offer in every unit,Wireless high-speed broadband internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riccarton

Address: 280 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $83 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay