We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Carlton Mill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Carlton Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Carlton Mill
 Click to rate
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time we have stayed here and while the location is excellent, the room is dated. They have tried to make it look modern, lovely reception area, however the rooms are stuck in the 70's. We arrived early and the young gentleman on reception was very accommodating and friendly, however the warmness was missing the next day when we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeKennedyUk
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Reviewed January 11, 2017

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. We love the fact it is so close to all the night life on Victoria st and so handy to Hagley Park. Very affordable, clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and eager to please.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Disgusting sewage in the shower! Offered the next room...same but worse. Husband followed the man to basement, claimed it was a one off event but obviously from the soaked, filthy towels which were used down there this happens all the time. Moved to another building as too tired to find another hotel/ motel. Advice to owners, management and staff. Stop...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janice G
CarltonMill, Owner at Hotel Carlton Mill, responded to this review

Good afternoon Janice Thank you for sending through your review. We do apologise for what happened regarding the sewage and as you are aware we attended to the problem in a timely manner. This is not a regular accurrence as you have indicated and as a team at the Hotel; take offence at being called liars. The team at the...

Motueka, New Zealand
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Unavoidably late leaving, long drive and mid-evening arrival so we were cold, tired and hungry. Warm, friendly welcome at the desk but the best bit came when we opened the door to our room. The heating was on and all the lights, including in the bathroom. It felt so warm and welcoming and the young woman on the desk came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petrov301
CarltonMill, Head Receptionist at Hotel Carlton Mill, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is important to us to receive "feedback" from our guests. I am so pleased we lived up to your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay. Tessa the receptionist who was on that night is new so I will be showing her this review and how appreciative...

Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Working in Christchurch a few times we chose to stay at the Carlton Mill Hotel, always friendly and helpful staff and a real family atmosphere, when in Christchurch please consider the Carlton Mill Hotel as your place to stay Ok Felicity Best regards Michael Michael Przibilla Senior Linac Installer FES Medical Australia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MPMedicalEngineer
CarltonMill, Head Receptionist at Hotel Carlton Mill, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. I hope you are well and busy, busy with work. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Felicity Bell Head Receptionist

Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Reviewed September 12, 2016

In need of some accommodation in a hurry, looked okay on website but rooms are dated. Nice clean and tidy did needs an update, was a delay in staff coming to front desk on check in. Rooms very basic but got a discount on booking. Central to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
Somerset, United States
Reviewed July 3, 2016

We stayed for one night at the Carlton Mill. Our room was clean, and the staff was very polite. Each room has a small fridge, sink and microwave, which is helpful. The only suggestion that I would make is to add a fan to the bathroom. The only way to vent it is by opening windows, which can make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert Z
CarltonMill, Manager at Hotel Carlton Mill, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Robert, we take pride in having a clean and tidy hotel and are glad to hear it was to your satisfaction. Thank you for the suggestion, we are always looking to improve and better bathroom ventilation options is something we are looking into. We are also in the process of upgrading our internet to ultra-fast broadband....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed May 14, 2016

Although clean and tidy, the place looks like it could do with an update. A fan in the bathroom would have been helpful so we wouldn't have to leave the window open letting in cold air. We were on the top floor (2nd floor), we don't mind stairs when we don't have 2 heavy suitcases to carry, a lift would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iris0219
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and can honestly say it is one of the best Hotels in Christchurch... It is not a new Hotel, but it more than makes up for it. It is situated in a fantastic location so close to Hagley park, bars, restaurants and shops. The room was a great size, nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We stayed for one night rather than drink and risk driving home, after a function we attended. The convenience of this hotel was excellent. Walking distance to where the function was, and to the casino down on Victoria Street. Very clean room and quiet considering we were so close to the night life of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alaroy01
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Parkview on Hagley
#65 of 148 in Christchurch
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#34 of 148 in Christchurch
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 148 in Christchurch
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#73 of 148 in Christchurch
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#49 of 148 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Mill

Address: 17 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Carlton Mill Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Carlton Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hill Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Carlton Mill staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Carlton Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Keep customers away from restaurant as very noisy with pots etc and banging doors.”
 of 5 bubbles janice_gibson, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“Room 15 doesn't get the sun, or even much light, so if that matters to you, ask for another.”
 of 5 bubbles petrov301, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles BERTIE14, Apr 9, 2016 | Read review
“If you are a short stay with luggage ask for a ground floor suite”
 of 5 bubbles Syntwins, Jan 18, 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles 816charlee, Oct 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question