We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bella Vista Motel & Apartments

Hotel website
193 Bealey Ave, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Booked online a few months ago. We stayed in this chain the whole way around NZ last visit. The room was very very small. We had 2 large suitcases and no where to put them. Room would have suited a single person attending a conference... in at 5 pm out at 7 am ..... and we booked for 2 nights.... More 

Helpful?
Thank esnelson
Graeme S, Manager at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do have a range of room sizes available depending upon your needs and budget that start from our lead in room "the compact studio" right through to our larger 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. The compact studio that you stayed in is our smaller lead in room ideal for the budget conscious traveller who... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

I recently needed to spend 3 nights in Christchurch for a business trip. There were 4 of us including a couple. I booked a 3 bedroom apartment, the biggest unit they had as I had stayed with Bella Vista alround New Zealand and generally they are very good. But this is the exception, the bedrooms were all small, one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Astikuta
Graeme S, Manager at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. We have recently completed a full refurbishment of our motel complex which we are very proud of and are soon to commence a full refurbishment of our apartments. Like a large number of Christchurch businesses and home owners (since... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend this neat little place. It's a short distance to the city centre and service was amazing. We stayed in the back room, ground level, double with single and it was perfect for my little family. We've stayed in so many places in NZ and I would say that this place is by far one of the best.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan1481
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

Stayed 1 night at this motel. The location was good and the proprietors very friendly. The room was tiny and dated and there was mould in the shower. There is no aircon or fan in the room, it was very hot. It was also very noisy with traffic the whole night. Wifi costs $10 per 24 hours which is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milliegoat22
Graeme S, Manager at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We have a range of different size room to suit your budget ranging from the smaller compact studio right through to our 3 bedroom apartments. Although the compact is small in comparison with other types of units it has all the necessities and meets the needs for the budget conscious traveller. We will advise our staff... More 

York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

Situated not far from the city centre this is a good place to base a visit . The accommodation is good - although the kitchen area is small . The bathroom is fitted out as a wet room which gives extra space for showering . Our host was very friendly and helpful . I would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank YorkBonBon
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

This is the third time we have stayed at this motel, and have always had a warm welcome from the owners. It is within walking distance of the city centre and only twenty minutes from the airport. The motel has everything you need for a few nights stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
Beaumaris, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Quiet and comfy accommodation. Apt very clean. Easy stroll to city centre. Hosts very freindly and helpful with advising what to see and where to eat. Wifi was a tad slow. Didnt bother me but bothered the teenagers. We stayed in a 2br apt. The spa bath was a welcome relief after travelling for 7hrs.

Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Stayed for work for a week here. Clean, quiet accommodation. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Don't expect luxury. Rooms are mid size with a nice bathroom. The basics are done well here although wifi seemed expensive (why places still charge for wifi I do not know!). Breakfasts were cooked to order and were very nice, would stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Staff helpful and pleasant but advertised free WiFi, was only for 1 hour, for only one device, I was a bit disappointed with this and would not have stayed here if I had known. I also agree it was a little difficult without a car as is a little far away from supermarkets etc

Helpful?
Thank lady_aragorn
Graeme S, Owner at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and your nice comments regarding our pleasant staff and your comfortable accommodation. Regarding your comment on Wi-Fi we do provide free Wi-Fi however the amount provided may vary depending upon your accommodation package as with most motels and hotels throughout New Zealand and Australia. To find out more about our packages we encourage guests... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

We had three nights here recently in a compact studio unit which was very clean and well serviced. The unit was small but adequate for our needs, however if staying longer would opt for a larger unit. The laundry facilities were great, with an outside line available which isn't always the case. It is within walking distance to the CBD... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamerle
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#60 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella Vista Motel and Apartments is located within 15 minutes flat walk of the Central City. We offer great well priced accommodation, comprising two and three bedroom apartments and studio units to suit all requirements. We are Qualmark Rated 4 Star. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel & Apartments

Address: 193 Bealey Ave, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Apartments
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay