We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The George Christchurch

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 950: English reviews
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

We stayed here on a recommendation, and we were thoroughly delighted at the service provided by the staff, the cleanliness, and most appropriate fit-out of the room we stayed in. It is in a good central part of Christchurch... within a easy walk to Merivale and the central city.... however, please note that the roads and pedestrian walkways throughout the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank westiefans
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear westiefans Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit with us. We are delighted that the service you received from our team, the cleanliness and amenities of your room, our location, and the breakfast you enjoyed all met with your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I stayed at The George over ten years ago now and couldn't quite remember what the establishment was like. I recall it being one of the top hotels in Christchurch and was very excited to be staying there again. Check in was easy with a credit card required for security. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and stylish with a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nomesandjamie
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Nomesandjamie Thank you for your positive comments following your recent return stay with us. We are delighted to hear that the welcome and check-in, room facilities and service you received from our team all combined to ensure you enjoyed a memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation to others. Kind... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Starting our visit to the South Island we were all taken aback by the continued struggle and resurgence of Christchurch in the aftermath of the devastating earthquakes. In a way the George captures the spirit of the city, a resilient, friendly, and charming place with the people to match. The highlight was the gentleman who welcomed us and handled out... More 

Helpful?
Thank IV12121
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear IV12121 We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and really appreciate your sentiments surrounding the spirit of our hotel. It is wonderful that the service you received from our Concierge left such an impression on you. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we do hope we will be able... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We spent all day at The George as the Conference venue from 8.30am to 5.30pm. Great facilities all self contained. We used one large room that had the ability to be divided into two smaller rooms. Seating arrangements, table clothes, all the accessories that complimented the tables. The bathrooms were clean and fresh with cloth hand towels and or paper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mykara
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Mykara Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent conference held with us. We are very pleased to hear you appreciated our conference facilities, the cleanliness of our public bathrooms, the catering throughout the day and the relaxing atmosphere of our foyer. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

The room and ensuite were spacious. The bed was one of the most comfortable amongst many 5 star hotels, more like a quality home bed in good shape without feeling like the bed has been used a lot. As Christchurch is still going through reconstructions, The George is a great option for the choices available. Great facilities in the room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cakes L
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Cakes L We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with and are pleased to hear that the comfort of our beds made such an impression, Thank you also for your positive comments relating to your room, its facilities and our location. In relation to our bathroom toiletries we have been working with our supplier to produce a unique... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Two night stay recently .Well located hotel .Reception staff excellent and room very adequate clean , well arranged with very good bathroom Free parking and internet Dining room disappointing and service variable .Breakfast not worth staying in hotel for.Evening dinner good but expensive We enjoyed our stay - staff were exceptional , and we would stay again

Helpful?
Thank newmarket18
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear newmarket18 Thank for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, the hotel’s facilities and particularly the service you received from all our staff. It is also nice to know you appreciated our environmental practices. We are however sorry to hear that your dining experiences, apart from dinner, did not meet... More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The George Christchurch is a small personal hotel. It offers upscale service, amenities, decor and atmosphere. Clean contemporary design with warmth. The room was very nicely done done in a neutral palette. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Karen L We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the helpful and friendly service you received, our location, rooms and amenities, and the atmosphere of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

masterton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

In Christchurch for weekend and took good friend out for dinner at The George,50 Bistro Warm and inviting reception and food was superb We had the pork belly,Angus sirloin and tiger prawns and they tasted as good as they looked Recommend the deserts- Bombe Alaska a must and the chocolate fondant Service and food great

Helpful?
Thank zzdr
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear zzdr Thank you for the positive comments you have made following your recent visit. We are delighted to hear you and your friend enjoyed your experience in 50 Bistro and that the food and service you received made such an impression. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Overrated! Believe in value for money - not what you get at The George! Reception weren't overly helpful. Room was adequate, bathroom could use a renovation (poor shower head, curtains were nasty) and a thorough clean. Strongly recommend you pass on the breakfast. Basically, there are better options out there! Won't be staying again, at any price!

Helpful?
2 Thank Luke R
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Luke R We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations and that you experienced a number of issues in the room you were allocated. We will certainly take all your comments on board and address those areas that require immediate attention. Thank you for taking the time to post your... More 

Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This was our second time at the George & we weren't disappointed. Efficient friendly check in. Very bright & comfortable room with good bathroom. Housekeeping do a great job & our room & bathroom were always neat & tidy. Continental breakfast was disappointing, but the Pescatory restaurant was amazing. Excellent staff & amazing & tasty food. Pricey, but worth it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vernon J
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Vernon J We are delighted you chose to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for the positive comments you have made on your check-in, the comfort and cleanliness of your room, the service you received from all our team and the meal you enjoyed in Pescatore. We are however sorry to hear of your disappointment relating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#11 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $216 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay