We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The George Christchurch

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

987 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 952: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First time visitor to Christchurch and selected The George based on the reviews and the fact it is my surname - I accept not the soundest reasoning. Lovely welcome at reception and allocated a room on the ground floor. Very modern interior for both the bedroom and bathroom. Tones of white and silver with wood accents. Wonderfully comfortable beds with... More 

Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The bedrooms are very high standard. It feels like at home. They are spacious, and you can have everything you need. Services are professionals and fast. You are very close to the new center, only 15 minutes walk with the tramwaay close by. Really highly recommended

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 647ibanezm
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good rooms with charming viewss on the park. Professional and good services. Location near airport snd near town centre. Unfortunately there is no fitness center in the hotel and you have to go to another hotel. In spite of this, it is true that it is quite close of the George, but at seven o'clock in the morning with a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank piquecampsm
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had my induction stay so it's hard for me to talk about value, etc. I would not normaly stay in such hotel, but it was very nice experience and an opportunity to see experience it from the other site...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank klimam2016
TheGeorgeGM, Operations Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Klimam2016 it was a nice thought that you post a review on Tripadvisor however as a staff member there is a conflict of interest therefore we can't retain the review. Kind regards, John Etheridge Operations Manager More 

Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent food from room service,good housekeeping and good reception as well,it was nice to have teddy bear every visit,it's save my time to shop some gift to my kids.location also good, walking distance to some shop and restaurants

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cher X
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Cher X, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team work very hard to ensure all our guests receive a top quality experience so I am pleased to read that we again lived up to your expectations. I am also delighted that The George Bear's are finding welcome homes. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my second stay and review of The George, with a couple of years between. On this stay I found The George excellently run with professional staff and genuine service. It has a great location and well within walking distance of the city centre and very good restaurants. There is also a good restaurant in the hotel which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melb_Craig
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Melb_Craig, I am delighted to read about your return trip to The George and that we lived up to your expectations. Our team all work very hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the noise. Our team will review this so that we may further improve the experience... More 

Boat Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The George is a small hotel, overlooking Christchurchs main park. It has excellent rooms with adjoining rooms for families as well as a great restuarant, bar and small shop. The staff are the best I have encountered in world wide travel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Berryman M
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Berryman M, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that your family found our rooms, restaurant, bar and shop to be excellent. In particular it is especially pleasing that you found our team "the best (you) encountered in world wide travel." Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent service. Has the best rooms and all the finer details are spot on. I stay at hotels across all of NZ and The George has the best rooms by far. Love the teddy, the heated floors, the location and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brainem2016
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear brainem2016, we value all feedback so are pleased to read that you enjoyed the little touches, the service you received and that the rooms were the best across all of New Zealand. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Methven, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We organised a family 80th birthday celebration through the events manager and had a marvellous time. With a large group and a set sit down meal served in the atrium area I was thrilled my parents had such a good day. The room was warm and inviting and with added bouquets we provided on the table looked great. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank jobrennan2014
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear jobrennan2014, thank you choosing The George to celebrate such an important event. I am delighted that your experience was such a successful one and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conference was a great excuse to stay at the George. Didn't get a chance to dine at Pescatore this trip.... Next time. The room was lovely as usual, luxurious comfortable and spotless clean. Great central location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SIMONE H
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Simone H, I was delighted that on return to our property your expectations were met. We hope that you will be able to experience our award winning restaurant on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $215 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay