We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Camelot Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Camelot Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here as part of our tour of new Zealand and the room was large with ample parking. The kitchen we well equipped only issue was the kettle kept leaking but being out all day meant I couldn't tell reception but apart from that this area was fine. The room was scrupulously clean which was nice and everyday housekeeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kezzaroo92
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a week in Christchurch, and stayed at the Camelot Motor Lodge, Papanui. We were only 7 minutes from the centre of the CBD, and about 20 mins from everywhere else, inc the Airport. Camelot provided us with a 2 bedroom apartment, which was serviced everyday. Had lots of space and room for our children to play. Fully contained... More 

Helpful?
Thank freed0m59
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed here for two nights.. Front office staff was great and they let us check in before the check in time which was awesome. The lady is quiet helpful with the Christchurch information and sorting out Wifi codes and all even before we have to ask. had a very good feeling about the motel when we checked in. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaustubh12
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaustubh12, thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about te Motel. We are glad you had a nice stay with us. Also, we take all the guest's comments on board and we will defientely discuss everything you ponted out. Thanks again and we trust we will see you again next time you are in Cristchurch!... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable and warm. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was quiet as we'd asked for. The decor is average but clean and tidy. Excellent value for money though. It is also very handy to places to eat and shop. You could manage without a car if you had to.

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sue P, we are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us at the Camelot Motel. Thanks for choosing us and we trust we'll see you next time you visit Christchurch! The Camelot Team More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

The room was very decent with a lot of spaces. The staff was pretty helpful as well. However, when we stayed there the wifi was not working and we have to go to the reception area to try and get wifi. Other than that, the place was quite perfect. Oh yeah, a bit far from the nearest supermarket

Helpful?
Thank stevennilam
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stevennilam, We are thrilled to receive your kind words following your recent stay with us. Thank you for for taking the time to post your review. As you mention, we did have an issue with our internet provider for a few hours that was fixed straight away, meaning that WIFI is working in all units again. Thanks again and... More 

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

I have been visiting from Hamilton and found this place on Expedia. And wow the building is castle shaped and it just is so beautiful! The staff are so kind and the rooms are so nice and they cater for large groups as well which is great to know! However, We went out for the day to find when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank SavannaGoncalves
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SavannaGoncalves, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to read that you had a lovely time here at the Camelot Motel and that you enjoyed our units so much! Regarding the service of your room, we do service every single unit every day for an even better stay of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in June 2016. From the internet photos its looks quite nice, but that is misleading as what you see is not what you get!! It was dark, cold, extremely old, kitchen cupboards had no doors on them. No heater in bathroom. No heater in 2nd bedroom. The apartment was freezing. Toilet cracked, Basin... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4fornzholiday
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Camelot Motel. Every feedback helps us improve our service and our units. As a team, we work really hard here at the property to keep all the rooms to a high standard. As discussed when you walked in to the reception on a Monday afternoon with your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

I stayed for three nights and enjoyed the Tudor style and understated luxurious furnishings and decor. I found my stay restful and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed the clean, well equipped, and well laid out spaces with kitchenette, bathroom, and wardrobe. The lighting was pleasant. I especially appreciated having the shampoo, conditioner and soap dispenser unit in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana G
CamelotChch, Front Office Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Diana G, We are delighted to receive your positive feedback following your recent stay and to hear you enjoyed a pleasant experience. It is especially good that you appreciated our location, the comfort of your bed and all the amenities in the unit. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We trust to see you at... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here are few times and it was always great.Excellent location, spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, always clean with very service from the staff. The rose gardens around the motels are well maintained and they also have a small kids play ground tucked away at the back for kids which was excellent for my wee boys.

Helpful?
Thank TASMANCAKAU
CamelotChch, Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tasmancakau, on behalf of the whole team at the Camelot Motel, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our accommodation. It is our joy to have people enjoying while staying with us and we keep on working hard every day to ensure we deliver the best possible service. We hope to... More 

Aussie
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

The Tudor style décor was very evident on arriving at Camelot. It, along with so many other hotels along Papanui Rd took me back to that era and reminded me of similar hotels we had stayed at while holidaying in the UK. Rooms were quite large and well appointed. They were very clean and well maintained although a little dated... More 

Helpful?
Thank AussieSuzie53
CamelotChch, Manager at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AussieSuzie53, thanks for your great review. We are glad you had a nice time at the Motel and that you made the most of our very large and spacious units. We trust we'll see you here again, maybe in our big apartments, for another lovely stay. Thanks again, Camelot Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#48 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Central Motel Apartments
City Central Motel Apartments
#52 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#19 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $73 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay