We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pavilions Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pavilions Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay, our room was very clean and inviting. Staff were very friendly. Restaurant was excellent value and meals were delicious. Only negative thing was the noisy residents who staggered back to their room at 2am :(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimm M
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on three occasions, and I think this tells already that I enjoyed staying here. The rooms are nice, cleaned professionally, the restaurant & bar are very nice. The location is perfect, not too close to CBD so it's intimate and quiet, but close enough to it, if you're looking for spending late evenings/nights into pubs etc. Also,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dragos B
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad we are your place of choice to stay and you notice the cleanliness of our rooms is of a high standard. Our restaurant and bar is very popular with guests and locals alike and the food is fantastic. Agree our location is the best around close to lots of new restaurants and bar and just a short... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An unfriendly welcome with serious face and no eye contact got us off to a miserable start. The room felt a bit dark and gloomy too. It was comfortable enough though, and the bathroom was large and clean. It was very handy to lots of restaurants which was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SkyLynne
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am sorry that our staff did not impress you on arrival - it is quite the opposite for the majority of people that stay here as you will see from all our reviews - our staff are great. Perhaps it was a bad day or moment and... More 

Cleveland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean hotel and a great location, easy walk everywhere around town, but Keith the barman made our whole trip, had great story's and history lessons about Christchurch, his a great assist to the business and made us feel sooo comfortable on our holiday

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jake1young
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on your stay. I will certainly pass your comments onto Keith, he has been here now for a number of years and is certainly an asset to our team. Location is perfect for just walking around to all the local sights including the city, the casino and the busy Victoria Street... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you The pavilions, it was a Great stay great deal we got and great location highly recommend the pavilions, it's the perfect location and the rooms are small clean and was beautiful and warm for our arrival it's these little things that can make the differences.

Helpful?
Thank leebZ9335ET
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on your stay with us. Agree our location is fantastic just a short walk to the Casino, the City and the busy Victoria Street restaurants and bars. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the room cleanliness to our Housekeeping team, we do have very high standards and procedures. Thanks... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an awesome stay and the staff were always on hand to help with any thing we needed. We have had several meals at the restaurant and can highly recommend to all who stay at this hotel. You just have to ask and all staff will see you right. Thank you for an outstanding experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank phillipslisanz
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our staff are most helpful and do assist in making your stay a welcome and enjoyable one. I am glad you got the time to enjoy our restaurant - the meals are fantastic and not the run of the mill Hotel food that is for real. We do hope to... More 

Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasure to stay at Pavillions Hotel the staff are so helpful and always greet you with a smile and are very helpful. Great service provided to guests, checked in late afternoon on a cold day to my room heater on. I will definitely be back to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Julie682013
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post comment. Our staff are fantastic and most have been here for many years so know all our returning customers and help make you feel extra welcome. It has been quite cold here over the last few weeks so a warm room to come back to would certainly be appreciated! -... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having bought a grab one deal for an 'executive spa suite' I did have higher expectations however was sadly disappointed with the outdated decor, the location of the light / power switches in the room & that the room provided a queen bed as opposed to a king. The buffet breakfast was included in the deal I bought however this... More 

Helpful?
Thank TezzaMT
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. With regards to Buffet Breakfast you stayed on a Sunday evening in July - a very quite time in Christchurch for any Hotel. There was a continental buffet setup and you were offered for us to cook you anything you liked fresh from the menu... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service from the front desk and room service. The room was clean and tidy. The spar bath was great. We ordered room service from jimmys bar and the food was outstanding best steak ever! We had breakfast there too which was great. Over all loved it, the stuff were super friendly and accomodating to our needs(we had a 2month... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicolesU6402JC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the tie to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed the service from all of our staff including your clean room. Sounds like you had good use of the facilities also and got to enjoy our fantastic food at Jimmys for both Breakfast and dinner. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel rooms were decent but small. The spa in room was a bath and outside had good size spa. Also the Sauna was available and the bar area had amazing mix of stuffed Possoms and old artefacts with large screen for sports games. Food was nice and breakfast was good. Enjoyed staying here and would again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities of the rooms got to experience our quirky bar. Food is fantastic have to agree and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park Hotel
Chateau on the Park Hotel
#34 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $100 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay