We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

KIWI basecamp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
KIWI basecamp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would defiantly stay again. This hostel has a lot of workers in the local area but they are all on working holiday visas so are travellers at heart. Great facilities with brilliant reception staff who are very helpful. Looks very new and modern and the showers are the best I've ever had. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky_212013
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for staying with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here. We have a great mix of people staying with us and love the love that we have lots of really cool areas to hangout in. The showers are amazing and nothing nicer than jumping into one after a long trip, Come say hi next... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and clean, well and new equipped hostel with a lot of space to socialize, relax or just to do own stuff. A different fresh baked bread every morning for free, which was just delicious! I arrived with few patience, but the amazing sincere and considerate staff and owner made my stay great! You realize they don't just try to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miri A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our freshly baked bread in the mornings. We love the relaxed vibe that we have going on in different areas of the backpackers. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and come back to see us soon. Chris, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

I stayed in Kiwi Basecamp for 2 weeks and had an amazing time there. The hostel is really clean (and new), centrally located (only a 15 minute walk to the cathedral), it has a really clean kitchen that is equipped with everything you need and actually has lots of space to store your stuff. There is a nice TV Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnemarieBerlin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Unfortunately our room (#7) shares a wall with the kitchen. It certainly wasn't a pleasurable sleeping experience with people using the kitchen at literally all hours. The room itself is simply a bed with a portable heater. It would have been nice if there was at least a table to put things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teague G
KIWIbasecamp, Owner at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are sorry you didn’t have the best experience in Room 7. This is generally a very popular room, as it is close to bathrooms and the kitchen. We have added furniture to this room, and apologise if it was a little spartan during your stay. Unfortunately we have new fire doors and closers for fire safety.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is o.k, it's modern and has a fresh comfortable feel. The room we stayed in was spacious and quiet. However we were disappointed that the advertised free breakfast was the end of a loaf of bread and packet spreads. Milk and cereal and a bit of fruit would have been acceptable but advertising a free breakfast and providing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holiday1990
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for the review, we appreciate it, and take on board your comments. The breakfast is advertised as fresh bread made daily. We also offer free tea, coffee and hot chocolate all day. It is true that you have to be in early to get more than the end of a loaf as the bread is very... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Nice staff, delicious free bread and awesome people. Everything is clean and new, the beds are really comfy and you have free coffee, tea and hot chocolate.The hagley park is just 5 minutes and the city center about 15 min. You just feel like home here.

Helpful?
Thank lis5689
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed all that we had offer, Please look us up next time your in Christchurch, Kind regards, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here instead of the YMCA where the Kiwi Experience bus had recomended. I am so glad i did. For the price this place is great. Free unlimited fast wifi, fresh baked bread and jams for breakfast (gorgeous) very comfy beds with a nice thick pillow 2 kitchens with everything you need . the whole place felt fresh and new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollie A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us, there is nothing nicer than freshly baked bread and enjoying it out in our cute little courtyard, the free WiFi that is highs speed and unlimited is been a recent addition to Kiwi Basecamp and we couldn't be more pleased with it. We are looking into getting another dining... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so new it's lovely to stay in. The 4 bed dorm room was spacious & beds comfortable. Free homemade bread & Jam for breakfast was very nice. It's quite a walk from the museum where our bus stopped but I think most hostels are outside the centre anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The fresh free homemade bread is a delicious start to the day. Come see us next time your in town and get your head down on our super comfy beds again. Kind regards, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team... More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

This is by far the best hostel I ever stayed in.. Great family friendly staff.. Nd top quality beds nd kitchen stuff.!!:-) wi fi is unlimited nd it's great for a long stay as its really like a home from home:-) nd staff really makes it.. :-) it's a good price nd the location is good. It's not a crazy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aquafirm
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are glad you had a great time with us, we enjoyed having you. We love the fact the beds are so comfy and awesome and you can use the free Wifi when your in your room as well. It's great that chilled come see us again soon, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp team.. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Everything is clean here. Beds are comfy and warm, location is ok and the facilities are great. A huge plus is the showers and bathrooms are super good and modern. All together had a lovely experience at kiwi base camp. Also staff are lovely and will help you with anything!!

Helpful?
1 Thank rmuby
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed all that we had to offer. Let us know next time your in town and come say hi. Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 99 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 99 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#7 of 99 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#15 of 99 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 99 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#22 of 99 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $22 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing