We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Avon City Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Avon City Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks while working in Christchurch area situated in Redwood so location was good for accessing main roads. Friendly proprietors, room was comfortable, clean & well serviced, the gardens were amazing. Friendly proprietors. Free wifi was limited per day of stay. A couple of shopping malls located 5 - 10 minutes away.

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Diana, for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We enjoy accommodating guests for long stays because it gives us a chance to get to know them on a more personal basis. We hope to see you again if your work brings you back to Christchurch...or even on holiday. Val and David More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We stayed at this motel Christmas eve ,it was all you could ask for .Clean, a very warm welcome from the owners and a garden --- well if you love gardens like i do its a must see .Christmas morning we where greeted at the door with a card and a bucket of cookies ,how is that for amazing .We... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11spencer
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, 11spencer, for such lovely comments. Our garden is very beautiful and is a credit to our meticulous gardener. It was a pleasure to give a wee gift on Christmas morning. Hope you enjoyed them. We look forward to your next stay with us. Val and David More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Absolutely Fantastic motel, lovely service, very helpful, very tidy and clean rooms, and great prices, food nextdoor makes it easy to get to, il be back and so to our compary A1 Asphalt ltd queenstown crew love this place, the best in christchurch and we have stayed at a few here, Recommend to all. AAA+++

Helpful?
Thank A1AsphaltLtd
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you A1 Asphalt Ltd Canterbury for such a great review. We pride ourselves in all the attributes you mentioned. We have very meticulous cleaners who maintain the high standard of cleanliness that guests expect and we all aim to make everyone's stay here as pleasant as possible. Have a great Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Pukekohe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

We visited Christchurch recently . staying at avon city motel. A really neat place , which was clean and tidy with excellent service and ideally located, handy to the city and a short drive to Woodford glen speedway

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Andrew, for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the future. Val and David More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We booked our accommodation and advised that we would not be arriving til midnight due to coming over from Australia. Unfortunately our flight was delayed and we go to the motel after 2 am and to our delight the motel heating was on, electric blankets were going and a lovely note from Val, the manager greeted us on our arrival.... More 

Helpful?
Thank phynnsmum
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, "Phynnsmum" for your great review. There is nothing better than a nice warm bed and room to come back to, especially if you have been in Australia! We look forward to your next stay with us and guarantee that you will continue to receive the individual service that you are accustomed to. David Keir More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Val, one of the owners, was so accommodating by stay up until 1am to hand us the keys, some fresh milk and welcome us. She had put on the heating in our room some hours before and it was lovely and warm and welcoming. She also organised a taxi for us and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria W
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Maria, for taking the time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We think that it adds a "personal touch" to be met on arrival so late at night, instead of having to find your unit in the dark. We know that it is not very often practical... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Val and her helpers made this 6 week stay so easy for us. It was a home away from home. We would recommend Avon City Motel to anyone who wanted a clean comfortable place to stay if they were visiting Christchurch or like us needed a refuge.

Helpful?
Thank gillian744
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation, Gillian. We are pleased that you felt Avon City Motel was "a home away from home". It is important to us that guests feel special while they stay here, whether it is for one night or a longer period. Val and David More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for two weeks as we were visiting our friend in Burwood Hospital. We could not have hoped for a better place to stay. The room was spotless, fresh towels every day, plenty of tea and coffee,very comfortable bed, modern TV and a nice large shower that was cleaned every day. The gardens too are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Twins88
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to contribute towards making your time here enjoyable and as stress free as possible. I enjoyed our trips to and from Burwood and being able to catch up with your day's activities. To be called "a mum away from mum" ....that is the... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Facing finding alternative accommodation for four weeks while our house was undergoing earthquake repairs we looked around and chose Avon City Motel. We were attracted by its character, the easy access to the units and the garden ablaze with colourful flowers. We were made to feel very welcome by Val, the co-owner and given the opportunity to view the units... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owen284
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, Owen. It was a pleasure having you both at our motel. We have many people here who have had to leave their earthquake damaged homes while they are being repaired. We realise what a stressful time it is for them and try to ensure that their stay is as pleasant and relaxing as possible.... More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I had to find last minute accommodation for a business trip and the Avon City Motel was booked on short notice. They went out of their way to accommodate me even when my plane was delayed for 3 hours and I arrived at 3:30 in the morning. The unit was spotless clean and I had a great sleep. Val was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, Doug. We think that it is important to make people feel welcome on arrival even when it is 3.30am and no-one is up to greet them. Leaving a welcoming note on the unit door, having a light on in the unit as well as a heater or electric blanket on if necessary... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#87 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#49 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Peppers Clearwater Resort
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#11 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Avon City Motel

Address: 402 Main North Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $100 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing