We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dorset House Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dorset House Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a private double room This was a very nice place to stay, nice room, excellent shower etc, lovely lounge,very good location just a brief walk to city centre Kitchen was good too, stacked with equipment Shame that many of those staying didn't appreciate this in the kitchen - nearly always unwashed pots, pans, bowls.... left out all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PipPaul W
Sohar, Oman
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was very light and clean, the bathrooms were clean (though the showers were hard to get hot.) The kitchen is roomy and there's a nice common room and outdoor seating area. It's not far from Victoria St, which has a lot of restaurants. However, it's quite a walk to the Restart Mall, bus exchange, etc (about 45 minutes).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egrieb2017
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Egrieb2017, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review following your stay. We are glad to hear that you found the hostel clean and enjoyed our common areas; we have an amazing housekeeping team that work hard daily to ensure the hostel is spotless! Indeed, one of the upstairs showers can take a bit...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights. Kitchen was really well equipped! Staff was ver friendly. Dorms were relatively spacious. Showers were really clean and quite many available (enough for when I was there). It's a cute comfortable atmosphere. Not very far from Center so easy to have a 20min walk there. I'd go again anytime. Thank you also for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Anja S, Thank you very much for your lovely review and 5-stars! We are super happy to hear you found the facilities spacious, clean and cute :-) We've got bathroom facilities upstairs as well as on the ground floor to ensure these are constantly available. We are indeed an easy 17-20 minute walk to the center- we are in...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really liked the atmosphere. Rooms clean, showers warm, good mixed crowd hangs out there (not the young party backpackers), staff was always super friendly and helpful. Free parking. Most people hang out in the kitchen despite there is a larger room downstairs. If that room was designed a bit more social, I'm sure people would also hang out there. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whiteorbit1
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi whiteorbit1, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere of the hostel, we've had a great bunch of guests staying with us this season- we totally agree that the mixed crowd helps the relaxed vibe, we certainly don't tend to...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What I really like is the hotel has a nice building and architecture, clean rooms and bathrooms, staff is nice, kitchen facilities are complete, location is also good, walking distance to interesting places

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Niantiaulia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear you found our staff to be nice, the hostel to be comfortable and clean and our location to be good as well :) Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Christchurch and we hope you enjoy the rest of...

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

With hostels like this around I can't understand how others get away with being so poor. Dorset house has single beds (not bunk beds) which is a nice treat for a traveller! The rooms aren't that spacious but it could be a lot worse if they'd have opted for bunk beds. The beds themselves are comfy and I was sufficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macolo3
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Macolo3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We could indeed put three sets of bunks in (and sleep 6 people) which would give you more floor space, but we always think guests would rather have one person less...

Reviewed November 14, 2016

I recently stayed in Christchurch due to a course i was attending so last minute i found a we place in dorset street, dorset house backpackers, service was great, nothing was an issue, they changed rooms quickly when i wanted a room with an outside window, sure rooms relatively small, but clean. 1 shower up stairs was the boom! Best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always happy to help whenever possible to ensure our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest :) One of our Single Rooms is indeed an internal room, but has a window opening into the hallway...

Paris, France
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Alter 13 days in a campervan, we enjoyed our stay there. This is a charming old house. The girls at the reception are nice. We stayed in a double room. The size was just correct for the price. I can't imagine staying in "small" one... The free wifi cannot be received correctly in all the rooms... Bathrooms are clean (despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Or14
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jade_Or14, Thank you for your feedback; we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us after being in a camper for a couple of weeks. We feel lucky to have a charming old home with friendly staff to run it– we are always happy to help :) We are glad you found the size of...

San Mateo, California, United States
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Dorset house is very considerate. They have notice to notify that there is a day light saving the next day. If not , I will miss the bus. I reserve a single room, but they upgrade me to a double room. The room is comfortable with a heater. Location is good if travel to airport. But is a distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kangmin L
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kangmin L, Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation! We are happy to hear that you caught your bus at the correct time - daylight savings can be a confusing concept for travelers so we are glad to know that our sign helped :) That's wonderful that you enjoyed your upgrade from a Single room to the Double;...

Reviewed September 18, 2016

We booked a private double room, and the room was tiny but comfortable and clean. The shower and bathrooms had terrible water pressure, but were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great kitchen and common room facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jasmin, Thank you for taking to time to leave us a review. Our Small Double Rooms (double bed) are indeed smaller than our Double Rooms (queen bed) and have limited space around the bed for luggage or other items. I’m unsure whether all Online Travel Agents show the size of our rooms, but our own website also gives an...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 145 in Christchurch
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 145 in Christchurch
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 109 in Christchurch
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 109 in Christchurch
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#19 of 109 in Christchurch
204 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 109 in Christchurch
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $25 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms on the park pretty quiet , off street so i didn't notice noise”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 2 - window looks out to Hagley park and right opposite kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 799lydiab, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a private room w double bed”
 of 5 bubbles EddingtonTravel, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“Double storey building with staircase to second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles paulwT4925LM, Dec 17, 2015 | Read review
“Be prepared to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs and choose a room which is away from the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles ShailajaVora, Jun 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay