We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

YHA Christchurch

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at YHA Christchurch for one night and it is comfortable. It has pretty large lounge, quite comfy. WiFi service is good also. The bedroom is clean, and the bed is quite comfy. At first I thought It would be quite noisy because it is near the street, but it didn't. It is quite peaceful at night. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frederick_FD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I chose YHA Christchurch after my positive experience at the YHA Wellington. It was a nice stay with extra blankets for the winter chill that sometimes lingers in the room. Stayed in a room with a bathroom which was nice even though the shower was a bit low. Didn't do any cooking but left some stuff in the fridge overnight,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna L
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hostel was very modern looking and was lovely to stay in. We had a private double ensuite and the only complaint that I can even possibly think of making was that at 9am we had the cleaner try and come in while we were trying to have a lie in! Maybe an idea to have a do not disturb sign... More 

Helpful?
Thank mooseyholt
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Kia Ora Mooseyholt, It is marvellous to see that you enjoyed your time here at the YHA Christchurch, I am sorry to see that your sleep was disturbed we have reminded our cleaning team that rooms should not be approached until after 10am and have ordered door signs as suggested for our private rooms. I hope you have a fantastic... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two private rooms with ensuites for our little entourage. This worked out well for us, and having the lounge and kitchen facilities to spread out in was ideal. We were surprised at the laziness of some of the guests in the kitchen area though. An on-going battle for staff, I'm sure. Would stay again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Angie C
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 3 night stay at the private ensuite bedroom for 3 persons. The room given to us is underneath the stairs so it's quite noisy. If possible, ask for a room away from the stairs. The room is a little small but we don't really stay for long hours in the room, so we're pretty alright with it. Otherwise,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ong M
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Kia Ora Ong, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to our staff. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Kind Regards, Luke Tarplett, Hostel Manager More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three nights here in a private double room with shared bathroom. Room was just big enough to be comfortable and have space to move around. LCD TV in the room is an unexpected nice touch. We generally didn't have to wait too long for the bathrooms. The accessible washroom had issues with water on the floor due to the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank kjkToronto
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room where we stayed looked luxurious and clean including the toilet. If you are looking for a comfortable and cozy place this might be what you are looking for. The amenities was great and very spacious. Except for the laundry (even the receptionist is mumbling "laundry sucks"). Over - all my over night experience is awesome!

Helpful?
Thank XASF
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Hi XASF, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hereford street hostel. It’s great to hear you were pleased with the facilities on offer as we continually strive to offer the best for YHA guests. We are glad you had such a great experience with us, and hope to see you again for a future stay. Kind Regards... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed a night in 6bedded female dorm. Didnt use the kitchen n common lounge but had a walkthrough Pros - Big bathroom with easily adjusted shower - Many bathrooms - Bed is clean - 5-10mins walk to canterbury museum, where the coaches pickup - Warm! - quiet at night - kitchen n common area are big - clean kitchen Cons... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Hi Lee, We are pleased to hear that the facilities were spacious, clean and warm during your stay as we strive to provide high comfort levels for all guests. We are currently in the process of putting lockers in all of our rooms, which will alleviate some space problems with luggage in the dorm rooms. We also provide luggage storage... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed in. Clean excellent facilities 2 pillows for the guest good WiFi. staff were polite and friendly not too pricey either. Highly recommend. kitchen and lounge are easy to locate and the location is also worth a mention

Helpful?
Thank Ste D
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Hi We're glad to hear your stay with us was first-rate. We strive to provide clean amenities and provide guests with a comfortable stay. I have passed your kind comments about the staff on to the team, as we loving hearing such great feedback. Hoping to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Amy More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Close to excellent museum & lovely botanic gardens & easy walking distance from the bus station, building sites & car parks that seem to make up the centre of Christchurch after the earthquake. Plenty of room for kit & packing in rooms, with clean en-suite bathroom & amazingly a TV in the bedroom - I know this seems a minor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mechanogirl
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch, responded to this review

Hi Mechanogirl, We greatly appreciate hearing such a positive review regarding your recent stay with us. We are fortunate in a our position that we are so close to many of Christchurch's great sites and amenities. It's good to hear the rooms surpassed expectations, as we try to make it as comfortable as possible for your stay here. Sometimes the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.2 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#19 of 99 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 99 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA New Zealand welcomes its newest hostel into the network - YHA Christchurch! YHA Christchurch is a homely, comfortable, 100 year old building currently undergoing upgrades due to new ownership. The hostel is located near the Christchurch town centre, the Canterbury Museum, the Botanical Gardens and Hagley Park. A wide range of comfortable backpacker accommodation is available including multi-share, female only, double, twin and well-appointed ensuite rooms. YHA Christchurch also accommodates families and groups. All rooms have flat screen TVs. The kitchen is fully equipped with gas hob stoves and plenty of storage for your groceries. The communal lounge and dining is updated and modern. Enjoy the outdoor garden, BBQ and fire pit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch

Address: 36 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Thomas's Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $46 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay