We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehaven Homestay

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stonehaven Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Lincoln
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

We were only in the area for one night but stayed at Stonehaven on the strength of a previous visit 12 years ago. So often return visits, especially after such a gap, are a disappointment, but this was just as we remembered, especially the most hospitable hosts, John & Paulette. We had booked dinner and Paulette happily adjusted the meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lemmus
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

It was so lovely to see you both again - you haven't changed a bit in the past 12 years!! We were delighted that you found us as we were the first time you were here, allbeit a bit greyer and slower!! It was lovely to have your company at dinner and appreciate your comments - it was a pleasure... More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

Quality accommodation on this vineyard. John and Paulette were so friendly and helpful, they booked restaurant for our evening meal and provided the most fantastic breakfast in the summer house. Lovely garden and pool (which we unfortunately didn't have time to use). Enjoyed our stay, shame it was only 1 night.

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you, Barry, for taking the time to write a review of Stonehaven and your experience here. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and we enjoyed Jane's and your company very much. Hope your long trip home went well and you are enjoying the joys of spring in the UK. Thanks again for your comments -... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

We stayed there for only 1 night but it was nice and refreshing different from a big hotel. The hosts and hostess was lovely and engaging. they are very helpful and great hosts. They helped us with directions and made reservations for dinner for us. The breakfast was really the highlight. It was one of the best we had on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you Jane for your review of your stay with us at Stonehaven. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time, short as it was, here in Marlborough. The free wifi reception is a problem in the Queen Room where you were and we apologise for that. Being out in the country means that it can be quite slow at... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

We only had one night with Paulette and John as part of our honeymoon trip to New Zealand, but they really helped us to make the most of it by providing us with bikes and helping with restaurant suggestions upon arrival. Stonehaven is a lovely house in a very good location within cycling distance of lots of wineries. Our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenniSwift
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Jenni, Thank you for your lovely comments! Recipe for the Muesli bircher is on its way this morning by email. Hope you and Edward have settled in back home after your trip to NZ and that you are both fully recovered from the long flight back. Fleeting visit but very enjoyable for us meeting you both. Take care and... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016

If you want to spend some time touring the wonderful wineries in Marlborough, look no further. Paulette and John have the most lovely and welcoming accommodation one can find. I will admit, sometimes I am a bit intimidated by homestay or bed and breakfast....not knowing the innkeepers, etc. My husband convinced me this was the place we should stay and... More 

Helpful?
Thank suegj14
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of us, our homestay and the food. It was an absolute pleasure to have your company for 3 nights in February (and we miss you!). Please give our regards to Mark and hope the memory of the Kylix still lingers!! Being right in amongst the vineyards as a location, having 'top of... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

Our stay here really is one of our favorite memories of our trip. John and Paulette are wonderful hosts and made us feel as though we were treasured friends. The room was very comfortable and the view from the window was so beautiful. After reading a few other reviews we opted to dine in John and Paulette and were so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy H
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Amy & Don, The summer has passed since your stay with us last November and tomorrow heralds the first day of autumn. We can't believe how quickly the time has passed since we had the pleasure of your company. Thank you for writing this review, Amy. Its so nice to think that you still remember your stay here so... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

I would highly recommend the Stonehaven Homestay. Paulette and John are excellent hosts. Their home is in an idyllic setting - in the Stoneleigh vineyard. The house is immaculate and has everything you would want. Paulette supplied us with information on local vineyards to visit and also dinner options in the area. The breakfast was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Jackie, Lovely to read your review. Thanks for that. It was such a pleasure meeting you and Chris. Pity you couldn't have stayed longer but we realise there's a lot to see and do in this great country of ours!! Hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and lived up to expectations. We have wonderful memories of you... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

A great B&B experience. Beautiful Home surrounded by vineyards, Very comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Well located to visiting Marlborough wineries within easy driving or biking distance.,The hosts are delightful and we would recommend taking advantage of a wonderful diner accompanied by the host couple.

Helpful?
Thank Gerry296
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Kia Ora Gerry. Thank you for the compliments!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Stonehaven with us. Pity it was just a short one but nevertheless it was great to meet you both and to be able to enjoy your company. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review on your experience here... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

We choose Stonehaven on tripadvisor to allow us to recover from a 28 hour journey. We could not have chosen better. As other reviewers have stated, all was as good as it gets - the welcome, the rooms and the home, hospitality, the dinner and breakfasts with Paulette, John and other guests. A perfect start to our New Zealand adventure.

Helpful?
Thank bob h
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks Bob! Glad you found Stonehaven a relaxing place to unwind after the long trip down-under. We appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay here with other travellers. We enjoyed having you join us for dinner not once but twice during your time here - great company and conversation at the... More 

Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Paulette and John have a beautiful home and are exceptional at sharing it with their guests. Their gardens are beautiful and bountiful with fresh fruits, vegetables, and flowers than find their way onto the breakfast and dinner table. We stayed in the Nikau King room and it was wonderful. We were very comfortable and the room was amazing with doors... More 

Helpful?
Thank malibufan
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We do our best to provide guests with a generous, genuine 'Kiwi' experience. Its made so easy when we have such friendly, interesting guests such as you. We enjoyed your company very much and it was a delight to meet you. Thanks for choosing to stay here at Stonehaven during your time visiting Marlborough!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
2.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
5.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 31 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#8 of 31 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#1 of 42 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stonehaven Homestay is situated amongst 20 acres of neighbouring Sauvignon Blanc vines in the heart of sunny Marlborough's wine country, within easy walking or cycling distance of our most renowned wineries. Experience genuine, generous 'kiwi' hospitality - your comfort and a relaxing stay are our top priorities. The two Guest Rooms (King NZ$295 per night & Queen NZ$275 per night have exquisite vineyard & mountain views). Each room has a spacious en-suite bathroom with all the amenities you could wish for including underfloor heating, heated towel rail, bathrobes & toiletries. Rooms have bar fridges with complimentary goodies, Tea & Coffee making facilities with fresh home-baking, snack basket, complimentary Port and Sherry, TV, electric blankets etc.Our delicious 'White Linen' Breakfast is a Stonehaven specialty and features home-grown & local produce - guaranteed to set you up for the day. Three course evening dining is available by arrangement. Book-A-Bike bicycle and scooter hire is based at Stonehaven. Have a fun day cycling around the wineries or take a scooter for a sight-seeing tour of the district for a taste of what Marlborough has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Rd, RD 3, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range: $228 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay