We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Save
Share
169 Willis Street Te Aro, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
$107
View deal
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com$138
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (124)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (7)

About

#31 of 52 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 76 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Free wifi in the business center
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
753Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 275
  • 219
  • 77
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
C4nt3rbury wrote a review Oct 4
Christchurch, New Zealand27 contributions1 helpful vote
A dissapointing stay... The room was very dated and in need for some care and attention. Large cracks in the paint/plaster on the walls. Small things such as batteries in the TV remote being held in by cellotape, 3 different water glasses just illustrate a lack of attention to detail, or managements lack of respect for their hotel property. The mattress and base were very soft, which may suit some, combined with the noise from outside made for a restless sleep. The Receptionist (unsure of name) was very friendly and was the only staff member we saw on both days of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Location is great, however be mindful it is an inner city hotel and rather noisy. I have stayed...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
SueC wrote a review Oct 3
Cambridge, New Zealand136 contributions130 helpful votes
We recently spent a weekend in the capital. We have been longtime Accor members and hoped to use up our remaining points, and we had always enjoyed Accor hospitality world wide. Selected this particular hotel for location and it’s good reviews. Sadly renovations are still going on so the room was not one of those being renovated, not really a problem as it was clean and tidy and we were out and about. Breakfast in a makeshift dining room with no windows and obviously a distance from the kitchen made sure that 1 breakfast there was enough. The real disappointment was that the room was not being serviced, we were unaware of this until we arrived back at the end of the day , I was down to the desk promptly asking for a service. Apologies from the staff saying that due to Covid etc rooms were not being serviced, and apologies for not telling us, oh and the sign that should have told us was not there. However the very helpful receptionist got on to the task immediately and we adjourned to a bar across the road. Returned later and the room was serviced - Thankyou. A later discussion with the duty manager where he told me that he had to come from home to help with the servicing was not good and they had been following Covid rules, it was clear to him that I had it wrong, and he was really cross that I had complained and wanted the room serviced. However I have noted advice from the NZ tourist Association that says at Covid Level 2 daily servicing of rooms is fine, though at Level 4 it is not.Our stay was during Level 2, so our room should have been serviced . By the next morning when we left a sign had appeared stating no servicing due to Covid. It is very disappointing that the hotel did not make the ‘no servicing’ clear on our arrival or even notify us during the time between us making the booking and our arrival. We have up until this experience enjoyed staying in Accor Hotels, here in NZ and overseas in Europe and Asia.Accor has been badly let down by our recent experience at this particular hotel.I hope Accor notes this and makes sure that an incident of this nature does not happen to any of it’s customers again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sue, Thank you for your detail feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay. We sincerely apologise that you were not informed during check in about the changes of not servicing the room during level 2. The health and safety of our guest and staff is very important to us and we have put these measures to ensure everyone feels safe and secure. As spoken to you, your confirmation email which you had received did mention about the changes due to COVID. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast area though our intention to provide you the complimentary breakfast was to acknowledge that we had missed to inform about the room cleaning. Our receptionist did go to the room the following night to clean your rooms, which I am glad you're pleased about. We have had our restaurant renovation on progress which unfortunately was delayed due to the recent lockdown and we are delighted to have that finally open this week which we are really excited about. Feedback like yours are very important to us as it makes us better and we really hope you visit us soon and also enjoy our recently renovated restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming back at the hotel. Warm Regards, Nischal Gurung
Read more
geurtrenz wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Temporary dinning room could have been made more homely. For example tables set rather than completely bare, even if they are not used. It is also more welcoming that way. . We also had to get our own cutlery and napkins once we had chosen a table.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I really appreciate your comments on making the temporary dinning more homely and I will definitely ensure that this is shared with the restaurant team so we could make our efforts to ensure that we do not fall short. I am glad that you rated us high on our rooms, cleanliness, sleep quality and other aspects of the hotel, which is what we strive for everyday. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm Regards, Nischal Gurung
Read more
wazpenan wrote a review Jun 2021
Napier, New Zealand5 contributions
Will never stay here again. Very noisy, from traffic and pub. Worse was the noise from other guests which after several complaints management finally called in security, the noise decreased but still continued.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Responded Jun 25, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are really sorry that this incident occurred and there was a big noise issue. Unfortunately incidents like that are out of control of the hotel and we try our best to monitor all security concerns and noise levels to ensure all of our guests are safe and comfortable. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Warm Regards, Nischal
Read more
basil wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
Comfortable bed and good size room. Good facilities. Only thing was we had a room facing Dixon Street and it was very noisy - people partying most of the night. Shower head was a bit low but good size regardless. Staff were friendly and would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Responded Jun 25, 2021
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an good stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. I do understand your concerns regarding the street facing rooms which unfortunately due to our location of the hotel, we do not have much control over. However in the future kindly let us know your preference so we can put you in a room away from the streets. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Warm Regards, Nischal
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abel tasman wellington
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include City to Sea Bridge (0.3 miles), Fear Factory Wellington (0.2 miles), and City Gallery Wellington (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jano Bistro, The Old Quarter, and Neo Cafe & Eatery.
Is Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.1 miles), Government House (1.2 miles), and Wellington Cable Car (0.4 miles).
Does Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.