We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

InterContinental Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,104: English reviews
South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed for business on club floor. New Zealand's capital suffers a little from lack of top class business accommodation. This is it. Club floor has magnificent harbor views refurbed rooms are good standard and location is good for business and pleasure alike

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Centrally located, the Wellington Intercontinental offers every traveler a place to rest. The beds are super comfy, the food is delicious and the staff is very helpful and professional. Select a Club Room for ultimate comfort. Clearly a great hotel.

Helpful?
Thank schneeflocken
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Schneeflocken, Thank you for sharing great feedback as well as choosing to stay at InterContinental Wellington. Taking advantage of our central location I hope you explored our capital and enjoyed your journey. I am highly pleased to read about the delicious food you experienced and professional staff that were able to assist you. Club InterContinental is famous for a... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely family weekend away . The Intercontinental has great facilities great location and relaxed chill out atmosphere. The food and staff where top notch and are helpful . We walked to all the local sights then took a taxi to Weta cave and the Thunderbird set . We have stayed at the Intercontinental three times now and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank meoverworked
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear meoverworked, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment and I am delighted you enjoyed your time here, lovely weekend away, great facilities, great location, relaxed and chilled atmosphere, staff were top notch and helpful, within walking distance to local sights. We... More 

Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a junior suite (I'm not sure that is what they call it) with great harbor views, lounging area, and a great bath. Not as large as other properties we have enjoyed, but big enough for our needs and enjoyment and access to the club lounge, which was excellent. They had a great view, wonderful breakfast, evening canapes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank pdxworldtravler
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear pdxworldtravler, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us whilst in Wellington. I am delighted to read you had a fantastic here time here, great harbor views, great bath, enjoyed the great view from the Club Lounge, wonderful breakfast, evening canapes and drinks, very attentinve and personable staff, had a... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Traditional Hotels sometimes appear are on the endangered species list. The Air Bnb, space sharing age is rapidly overtaking the old school model. The Intercontinental Wellington is a wonderful example of the classic elegance and level of service that an Old School Hotel can offer. Though I seem to have encountered all the pitfalls and frustrations of this model more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Simon C, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment and I am saddened we did not meet all your expectations. Rest assured, I will be following up with the rest of the team regarding your feedback. We strive for high level... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night at King Deluxe with Harbor View. Unfortunately, arrived late and departed early so I couldn't experienced much of this hotel but facilities. The room was spacious, extremely clean and cozy. The bathroom was also bright and clean. Everything was well-organized with friendly staffs. Everything was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Dr_kchris
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Dr_kchris, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us recently. I am pleased you had a fantastic time here even though it was very short, enjoyed the night in a King Deluxe guestroom with a harbor view, room was spacious, clean and cozy, bright and clean bathroom, well organized and... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were picked up at the airport by the hotel limo and checked into our room by the chauffeur. The hotel is modern and well appointed. The rooms are very luxurious as you would expect from an Intercontinental hotel. The pool was unfortunately being renovated during our stay which was disappointing. The hotel restaurant, The Chameleon, is where breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon G
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Simon G, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us recently. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here, picked up and checked in by chauffer, modern and well appointed, luxurious room, excellent food in Chameleon. We strive for high level of service in all aspects and we are committed... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family we try to stay in IHG hotels as much as possible on our world travels and this one in Wellington is a perfect five. The absolute attention to every detail of our stay was so welcome after a long flight from Toronto and we were reluctant to leave I must say. The rooms, food and above all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angeladea
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Angeladea, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I am pleased you had a fantastic time here, perfect five, absolute attention to detail, so welcomed after a long flight, rooms, foods and above all the service from all staff. We are committed to... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Large, renovated but slightly dated rooms. Beds exceptionally comfortable and lovely in-room details and extras make for a pleasant stay. Staff are friendly and try hard to please. Vibe is a bit hokey. Overall, comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank John67-7
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear John67-7, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you chose to stay with us whilst in Wellington. I have read your comment and am delighted you enjoyed your time here, beds exceptionally comfortable, lovely in room details, staff are friendly. We are committed to guest satisfaction and we appreciate the opportunity given to make sure your stay with... More 

Fiji
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing location, right in the heart of the city. The rooms were spacious and up to date.The health club was well equipped with Sauna, Hot Tub and Heated pool. I have never met a staff this friendly anywhere, everything was perfect the only place to stay if you are in Wellington

Helpful?
Thank RehmanHameed
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear RehmanHameed, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am pleased you chose to stay with us whilst in Wellington. I am delighted you had a great time here, amazing location and right in the heart of the city, rooms were spacious and up to date, staff were friendly everywhere, everything was perfect. We are committed to guest satisfaction and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

420 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (297)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 50 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 50 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $159 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay