We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a lot going for it with a central location within easy walking of the CBD and wharf area. The building is old and the rooms are quite beautiful. The real shining stars of this place are the people - Kathy, Lucy, Meagan, And Paloma went out of their way to make our visit first rate. They are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Anne for taking the time to review our Hotel. Yes, the Hotel is old being built in the 1920's and is a Category one Heritage building so has restrictions on what we can change. Many guests really like the ambiance of the well preserved interior. We are sorry that you found the noise of the Council rubbish collection... More 

Orpington
Level Contributor
277 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were just able to find a parking space nearby. Note these have two hour time limits everyday between 0800 and 1800. Parking is free at weekends but the two hour time limit still applies. We were politely greeted by the receptionist and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank RossOrpington
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. Re your comment about parking. Unfortunately when the Hotel was built nearly 100 years ago no provision was made in buildings then for cars. Unfortunately city parking in most countries is difficult. Our hotel does have a space in a nearby car park building for a fee. Re wiFi....we are currently upgrading our... More 

Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the Wellesley. The rooms are lovely, in a style of old school grandeur but recently refurbished. It is QUIET (which is a real find in central Wellington) and reasonably priced for the standard. Great bed, nice bathroom, excellent location.

Helpful?
Thank LTozz
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. It is nice to know that our efforts to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and that our Hotel meets their expectations on all aspects. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Kathleen Guest Relations More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Good points: Beautiful old building with extensive timberwork & fronted by the beautiful Astrid. Location nice & central to all central city attractions such as the water front & Te Papa. Bad points: Dodgy wi-fi, dodgy air conditioning, broken fixtures & fittings, noisy wharf activities which sound like giants playing bocce with shipping containers.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are proud of our old Heritage building and its location. We are currently have a programme for upgrading and renovating which is well underway. As funds allow the air conditioning units are being replaced. Several have already and are working well. The wiFi is due to go on unlimited... More 

West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We spent Christmas Day in Wellington, at about halfway during our trip. We knew that this would be a quiet day and it was. This hotel is very central and so we went to the Te Papa Museum and then to the hotel. We were received graciously and led to the Jeffries Room---more like a small apartment. It had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lou S
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We do appreciate your kind remarks as we do our best to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. As you experienced it is a good location and very quiet at the weekends and especially this time of the year. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

In this beautiful historic building opened in 1925. We stayed in the Brooker Room which was outstanding. The bathroom was huge with a double headed shower and a claw foot bath. Couldn't fault our stay and will certainly be back.

Helpful?
Thank johnandsandragould
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your really nice review. We do our best to help guests enjoy their stay and are very proud of our Heritage building.We are currently upgrading and renovating as much as the Heritage one category allows. The toilets and plumbing being one of he things being upgraded. We look forward to further visits from you. Regards... More 

Herts, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

I was slightly concerned about staying here based on some of the reviews however I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is small and it does feel that way when you arrive, however I found it very nice and really enjoyed my night here. It's easy to get to from the main rail/bus station and close to the major attractions in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you found our hotel to your satisfaction after reading some reviews that were not so complimentary as yours. As you say it is small being a boutique Heritage one category building. It was built in the early 1900's. It is never advertised as being anything else so... More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

First the good points - this hotel is just about as central as you can get for shops, waterfront, restaurants etc, the room was clean and warm and quiet. Half way through our 5 week tour of NZ we had so far stopped at places that were light airy, modern , had good views and helpful staff. I am afraid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I think you would probably have been happier staying in a large modern hotel. We never pretend to be anything other than a small 13 bed Boutique Hotel which is has a Heritage One Category thus we cannot "modernize" it. Most of... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Booked the hotel on a deal online. Walked in on Saturday and absolutely fell in love with the place. Modernised enough to give you all you need for a comfortable stay but also kept intact enough to secure its obvious history. The rooms were kept warm and the service was great. The only comment id make is about the water... More 

Helpful?
Thank yeggz
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Your comments reinforce what we try to achieve. We endeavour to maintain the atmosphere of the building and we are very proud of our staff. We are always trying to maintain the amenities as being so old they need constant upkeep. All the plumbing is currently slowly being upgraded which will... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

The Wellesley is in an excellent location in the heart of Wellington. Easy access to everything and the rooms are nice in a "classic" way. The only negatives I would offer are, as a "Boutique" Hotel charging high rates for rooms, that they are not offing full value-for-money. Bar and restaurant close early (8 pm), rooms were less clean than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Acton K
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't feel you received value for money when staying at our hotel recently. Prices and vacancies were at a premium in Wellington at the time you stayed hence the increase in price. I also believe you had the last room available which is the smallest of our rooms. As the hotel is in the CBD where... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#4 of 49 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#9 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
InterContinental Wellington
#3 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#21 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 49 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay