We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Richmond Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Richmond Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay with friendly & funny host who was always happy to help with a great sense of humour. Room was clean & cosy for the freezing Wellington nights. Only thing I can say was that this was my first time in a B&B and the bed in my room was a bit soft compared to what I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ranjeeta S
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

What can I say that no one else has already said, I will definitely like to stay again. All I can do is repeat all of the nice things you can read on the previous reviews. The night before I stayed at another chain hotel, and while that was nice, it was missing something, that Richmond B&B did not lack.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deicidal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Nice clean accommodation and room. The manager John is very helpful, friendly and engaging when he wants to be, but can also be moody, very watchful in public areas, and gruff. Otherwise, it's a good stay overall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichol N
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

We needed a place for an overnight stay and this place did the job. It was clean, tidy, inexpensive and John was very helpful with information about places to go and things to do. It is an easy walk to the central city and if you have a car John will give you a residents' parking card that will enable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erasmus16
Chambery, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

We stayed at the Richmond B&B about a week ago and really enjoyed our time here. The check-in was very friendly and attentive. We felt welcome right away. The rooms are newly renovated, super clean and have a great nostalgic charm (nice furniture). We really weren't missing a thing - hairdryer, toiletteries, fresh towels and even the daily newspaper, everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre M
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

John was an amazing host--very friendly, had great stories, and extremely accommodating. The room itself was massive, and the antique furniture was a great touch! This is definitely one of the best places I've stayed in NZ over the past 6 years.

Helpful?
1 Thank bhedgespeth
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

We stayed at the Richmond Guest House because it was the only hotel/B&B that we could find in Wellington that had free wifi, free parking, AND free breakfast and was still walking distance to the city center. We were pleasantly surprised with the location. It was great and was an easy walk to everything we wanted to do in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pwdrpinkprncess2
Taranaki
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Would not recommend it. The guest lounge was dominated by the owner who was extremely rude. As there was no TV in the room the opportunity to relax without the manager interrupting conversation would have been appreciated The room was clean and value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tarananki
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Well folks . i realize that this was your first bed and breakfast, but this is what they are all about folk stay here because they know that they will meet folk from all over the world and i am told that im a friendly talkative type and yes i realize that living way out in the country as you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We had such a great stay at the Richmond Guest house. We turned up late in the evening and were provided a lovely furnished room, with en-suite and a cup of tea after a big day. John was fantastic, giving us a parking spot right outside the guesthouse, ensuring sure that we wouldn't get ticketed. The room looked like the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

My friend and I, in our mid 50's and 60's, stayed here for two nights. It started upon arrival," I'm not talking to her (me) Manager said and said to my friend you translate". We looked at each other and thought that we missed something. He made a big fuss when I asked for brown bread toast and was most... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy411
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#14 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#12 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Richmond Guest House is a lovely twelve room 19th century villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and the city. The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has still got many of it's original features including beautiful plaster ceilings and with all rooms having there own ensuite bathrooms plus hairdryers and radio alarms, and have the local paper delivered daily. We have a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals (breakfast is provided) with a connecting dining room with complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. There is also a guest's computer with free internet and we also have free wifi throughout the building. Plus we have a a TV lounge and free laundry use is available. We are a 100% non-smoking site and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 10am until 10pm no check ins' after 10pm will be accepted We are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, Bus, and Interisland Ferry depot. Your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $61 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay