We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Due West, South Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a modern high-rise hostel in the middle of the city. Very comfortable and with great amenities. Nice kitchen and several TV lounges were great. The staff members were mostly helpful, but some gave us wrong information that made life difficult, like telling us wrong times for the ferry and not telling us that you an catch a ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elsner2016
Köln, Deutschland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here the second time and enjoyed our stay in a triple ensuite very much. Location of the YHA is great, staff very friendly and room/ facilities meet our needs. Very clean and well equipped kitchen (especially to other hostels we stayed); free wifi throughout the house; nice common areas with sofas, books, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leolinchen
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Leolinchen Thanks for your review. We’re very lucky to be so centrally located and I think it just adds to the well-being of our staff and guests having everything so conveniently close. I’m thrilled how pleased you were with your accommodation and our facilities and I hope you come back to stay with us again during your third visit...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location for a visit to Wellington. The hostel has all the facilities you would want or need. Clean, comfortable and very relaxed despite its size. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sassi66
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Sassi66 Thanks for your review and choosing us for your New Year’s accommodation! Happy New Year! Our location’s particularly convenient that time of year being so close to the festivities by the waterfront, I hope you got to see the fireworks! Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand 2017 and we’ll look forward to seeing you again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent location to access the harbour and all the best local eateries. The welsh bar in the middle of the street is a must too. Clean simple private rooms. Shower is a little small. Common theme for tall people in NZ hostels. Very good value. The receptionist needs math lessons though, we helped her through in the end 👌🏼😎

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomPrice1
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Tom Thanks for your review. We’re situated rather conveniently to everything Wellington has to offer including the infamous Welsh bar which claims to be the only one in the Southern Hemisphere! I’m sorry that our facilities couldn’t quite accommodate your height but thank you for your patience with our staff. I wish you all the best for your future...

Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The YHA rarely disappoint and this hostel, though one of the bigger ones is a perfect place to stay in Wellington. It is set right in the middle of the city centre, near waterfront, Cuba Street and museums. The social areas and kitchen are on the bottom floor and are very spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anke B
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Anke B Thanks for your detailed review. We’re all about you guys meeting each other so I hope the free activities enabled you to do so. There’s nothing in the city that cannot be accessed quickly and efficiently from our location and there’s nothing our staff cannot advise and book for you along the way either. We appreciate your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is clean and the wifi is free, there are lockers in the room and in the lobby if you are anxious about your valuables, there are two kitchens and a New World just next to it. But the location is not the greatest, the bathrooms are like cubicles and it really feels like a factory. I guess it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian F
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Florian Thanks for your review. When you have as many guests stay as we do it requires having a lot of storage space and facilities to accommodate and with the supermarket being over the road well that’s just a bonus! I’m sorry that you didn’t like the bathroom layout and our location wasn’t so convenient for you but hopefully...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The YHA in Wellington is a relatively modern building with excellent facilities. The rooms are comfortable and as well as the usual kitchen, lzundry and common room facilities there is a cafe and a TV/film lounge. Excellent facilities and a very knowledgable front desk staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjpeg
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. We’re blessed to have acquired such a fantastic property within the capital. Comfort is priority when so far away from home and I’m thankful our staff were able to pass on some knowledgeable information to you as well. I hope the rest of your time in New Zealand’s as pleasant and we’ll see you next...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was a fairly reasonable size. Kitchen is a good size with plenty of space in the fridge. There is no parking on site. I had to drive about 5 min down the road (15 min walk) and had to pay for parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Andrew Thanks for your review. Being such a large property means that our rooms and facilities also reflect that in their size. The best place to park is a short 10-15 minute walk to Oriental Parade where it’s free from 4pm-10am and all day weekends! Between these hours it’s only $7.50 and it’s a pleasant scenic walk back home...

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best YHA i stayed by far. We (family of 4) got a family room with attached bathroom. The room was spacious and clean. The toilet was clean. The room come with table and wardrobes. The room close to hotel standard. It come with 2 kitchen, so worry of crowding. There was plenty of fridge. The kitchen was well-equipped. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilsonwsw
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times now and to be honest I would struggle to choose anywhere else. I have never been a hostel type person but after experiencing this one on a school trip we have since returned on various occasions. Located right in town minutes from the best restaurants and bars, opposite an amazing supermarket ....best New World...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank takamitchell
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $22 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA Wellington staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors are more desirable except for wind noise.”
 of 5 bubbles elsner2016, yesterday | Read review
“Try to avoid the rooms near the elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 875reubenc, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“Great location abd good views from the top floors on the waterfront”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“HIgh floor has good views. I stayed in room 506”
  • 4 bed ensuite
  • Great view!
 of 5 bubbles 186carmenw, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on city side...theres a noisy restaurant fan that doesn't switch off until early morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kimbanok23, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay