We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amora Hotel Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,095: English reviews
Atlanta
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent just one night at the Amora. It is a short walk from the great Te Papa Museum with fantastic exhibits on Maori culture and a powerful exhibit on the Galipoli campaign in Turkey during World War I in which many Kiwis and Aussies gave their lives fighting against a German ally. The Hotel is immaculate. Reception was warm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had lovely overnight stay. Staff were very efficient and helpful. This hotel is in an excellent position with access to waterfront and also 5 mins from shops and museums. Rooms are of a good size, clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
Darlington, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a perfectly located hotel to explore the city and only a couple of minutes from the waterfront. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Well worth a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparky8167
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a very comfortable stay here. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. The bathroom was a credit to the hotel. It was really good to have both a bath and a shower in the bathroom. Reception was nice and spacious and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only negative part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iamapioneer
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear iamapioneer, It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and was very pleased with the accomodation. We were located on the 9th floor and the room was a good size with a King bed and the most magnificent views of Wellington harbour. The bathroom in particular was large with a separate bath and shower. Ate at the restaurant and it was a pleasant surprise as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grey999
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Grey999, Thank you so much for posting a fabulous review of your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I will share them with my team who will be greatly encouraged by your feedback. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future....

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe it's the area but for us it has to be a 3 star hotel. The concierge lady who checked us in was nice, there wasn't anyone there to help us with our bags to bring them in and she came from behind the desk to assist. Now, the hotel itself is outdated, there's wear and tear on the furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mlysndoll
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear mlysndoll, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate your feedback. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a double and a twin room for a couple of days. Double room was huge, twin room slightly smaller and felt a lot fuller. My double was very spacious with a fantastic comfy bed and all the usual freebies you needed i.e. Tea, coffee, ironing board, dressing gown etc. The view of the harbour area was brilliant and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee_A_B_1976
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Lee_A_B_1976, It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got a free upgrade to a top floor suite and the stay was sweet. Club floor but no club access which was a little disappointing and the spa was fully booked which also was a little disappointing. The staff were great and they looked after the car right outside which was appreciated, nice and central good access to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mdggnz
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Mdggnz, It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance surprised me with this hotel stay as we were initially booked in at another cheaper hotel - he paid for a fancy suite room, with a very comfortable bed (and complimentary chocolate), big clean bathroom, and a pillow menu to select the types of pillow u may like! to add on top of that, we had access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thsu012
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear thsu012, Thanks so much for posting a fabulous review of your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I will share them with my team who will be greatly encouraged by your feedback. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future. Kind...

Danville, Ca
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One block from the waterfront and central to all the best restaurants, easily within walking distance. Very nice hotel. Hotel is probably a four star but we were upgraded to the club floor at the top making it five stars. Comfortable bed, seperate shower and tub. Spectacular harbor views. Two to three block walk to all the museum's. Wouldn't hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomBrodehl
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear TomBrodehl, Thank you for posting some fantastic feedback of your experience! Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (214)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $110 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Melbourne, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had an upgraded room overlooking the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielG619, 3 days ago | Read review
“A sea view was not available when we booked but the view was of the sea and very good.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanT480, 6 days ago | Read review
“Go high! Top floors are nice and peaceful!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“only come if you have a deal”
 of 5 bubbles dalainz, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Request for a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles truetraveller100, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay