We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Trek Global

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Trek Global
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hostel, with spacious kitchens, big lounge room and very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed here for a few months while working in Wellington. Hostel has a good mix between long-term and short-term people. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andries P
TrekGlobal, Guest Service Relations at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank you for picking Trek Global as your accommodation in Wellington and for your review Andries. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon at Trek Global!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovley friendly staff, cleanish kitchens, bathrooms and rooms are nice enough. They have free Internet computers and also it is right in the centre! Pretty busy hostel but everything seemed to be clean!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee161
TrekGlobal, Guest Services Agent at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Lee! Thank you for your review about Trek Global. We are glad to hear our staff were friendly and that the bathrooms met the standards as we strive to exceed expectations on customer service and cleanliness. The location of this hostel is definitely very handy to the city! We hope to see again soon at Trek Global!

Hawera, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hostel for a night after a gig in Wellington, totally acceptable hostel to stay at. Right in town so handy to everything central and only a 2km walk to westpac stadium. You do need to book a space at their car pack but they can give you validated parking close by if their own is full, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
TrekGlobal, Guest Services Agent at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, Monica. We're glad you were able to get to the concert easily from our hostel. :) We hope to see you again here at Trek Global!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfectly functional hostel. We were able to park in the carpark next door for $20. It's a nice place but bed not very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and great central location. Great if catching ferry next day, 10 min drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
TrekGlobal, Guest Services Agent at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Trek Global and for your review. We're glad that our Reception Staff were helpful and that you enjoyed the central location of our hostel. We hope to see you again at Trek Global!

Bangalore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed a night here before heading to Picton on the ferry. The room was clean even if slightly small. The guys at the reception were very friendly and they gave us clear directions to the free shuttle bus to the ferry. The toilet was neat and though we didn't use either of the kitchens we saw, they looked quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsvivek
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my 2 night stay here. The room was a good size and had nice big windows, it was clean. They have thought about things most hostels forget such as plenty of hooks for towels, plenty of power points and a mirror in the room. Lockers are provided, however don't forget your padlock. My negative remarks are the wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed January 14, 2017

It was my 2nd stay at Trek Global and this time I have to say that it was really great. My room was located in the retreat area and there was also a nice little terrace. I really enjoyed the fact that it was quiet and that not noisy at all. The staff was also really helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L2692JDelisabeths
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Definitely worth staying several days! In the city centre, cozy beds, clean rooms and toilets, lovely and helpful staff and lots of great people! Would absolutely go there again and recommend it to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audreyx346
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Booked for one night and immediately knew I wanted to stay somewhere else. The front desk staff are friendly enough but don't make any other effort than just to check you in and take your money. The kitchen was dirty and incredibly poorly stocked, but the kitchenettes on each other floor were much better. The mattresses remind me of thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Jill, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. I'm sorry to hear we weren't able to meet your expectations. All of our staff are perfectly happy to make the extra effort to be helpful in any way possible (and would far prefer if we didn't have to take your money at...

San Diego, California
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Stayed here for a night booking with a friend through hostel bookers site. When we arrived we were told they had over booked and that we had to have separate rooms. I asked the staff why they didn't inform us sooner, as I would have found a different hostel to stay in had I known this beforehand and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torrey F
TrekGlobal, Trek Global Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Torrey, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the timing of your booking, we could not guarantee that you and your friend would be in the same room. We do try our best to assign friends together as bookings come in. We do pride ourselves on our customer service, and are sorry to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trek Global

Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Price Range: $17 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Trek Global staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Trek Global staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“retreat area (quiet area)”
 of 5 bubbles L2692JDelisabeths, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“Find a better place if you can afford it!”
 of 5 bubbles brkrishnan2016, Dec 2, 2016 | Read review
“Purple - quieter floors, Blue/orange - best for socialising, red - cheapest”
 of 5 bubbles Fell4NZ, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“I liked the top floor but it's female only”
 of 5 bubbles 22merelh, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“Close to lots of transport.”
 of 5 bubbles HUZISADVENTURES, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question