We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments

Save
Share
130 Victoria Street Te Aro, Wellington 6142 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$89
View Deal
Snaptravel
$126
$88
View Deal
SAVE $38
Booking.com$109
eDreams$109
Expedia.com$126
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (177)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (5)

About

#37 of 49 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French
705Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 98
  • 249
  • 203
  • 104
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jen101Auckland wrote a review Nov 7
auckland94 contributions53 helpful votes
Terrible stay. Hotel is old, carpet smells, noisy fan, window seals need replacing- street noise through the night. When I complained my room hadn't been made up after a long day at work, the manager said I could have called housekeeping (they'd finished hours before I did) and he'd take it up with them. Don't ignore the feedback and be more effective with addressing them especially in a covid world. Would definitely recommend staying away from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
collardsx2 wrote a review Nov 4
Auckland Central, New Zealand88 contributions22 helpful votes
Room 703 was not good, definitely not 4 star. Mouldy window sills & ceilings, burn marks on window sill; cracked walls in bathroom, bathroom door wouldn’t shut, telephone didn’t work, stained couch. We told reception - they weren’t interested. Room 702 where a family member was staying not much better. Very disappointing. Unfortunately, there were loud parties and noisy crowds in the alley /nightclubs beside the hotel until early morning, and the windows are not a tight fit, so sleep was impossible. I contacted Accor with feedback: no reply.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kaikopere wrote a review Oct 2020
Ohakune13 contributions12 helpful votes
Pro. It is central. It is cheap. The lift did not break. Friendly reception staff. Con. Lift creaked alarmingly. Dirty dishes and spoon. Stains on carpet and chairs. No electric blanket, noisy fan heater, so cold in bed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kaikopere, Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience. We are gutted when we miss the mark! Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again Warm Regards, Nischal Gurung Rooms DIvision Manager
Read more
Rebecah G wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
So.... I went and had a look online to book an apartment and decided to book with mercure. Now my wallet had been stolen about 3 weeks ago but I decided to pay online with credit card and I had my driver's licence on my phone with front nd back and also my credit card . I booked then paid online then proceeded to make my way to apartments. I've stayed there 4 or 5 times before and always had amazing service. It's absolutely pissing down with rain and I'm on foot ...I get there and the receptionist is all sunshine and light untill I inform her my driver's licence is a copy on my phone. Long story short I was informed I could not stay as I didn't have a " hard copy of my ID".I even had friends try and ring for me and fully put their credit cards up as guarantee to no avail. I was horrified. I then promptly booked and paid for bay plaza and was welcomed with open arms literally.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nischal Gurung, Other at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We apologise if you felt that our procedures were not practical. We take our guests and staff security very seriously. And we need to ensure every guest including the ones staying are looked after. As part of Health and Safety, Fire Evacuation processes we are obliged as building manager to have accurate and up to date guests list. This is why we asked our guests to provide physical Id and Credit Card as standard hotel procedure upon arrival. We are available should you wish to discuss further. Sincerely The Team at Mercure Central City
Read more
generalrecall wrote a review Sep 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
Location , great. Reception staff great, We booked a two bed apartment, paid $583 for two nights. When we arrived at our rooms we were very disappointed , apartment had six windows , all looked out into brick walls , just like you see in the movies, I thought I would call reception and get a better room, there was nothing in the room to say what number to call reception , when finally contacted reception they said all the rooms were the same.Rooms could have been cleaner, TV missing off one bedroom wall, Very noisey, street noise at night, Rubbish trucks picking up rubbish in the alley early hours of morning not good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Hermes, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear generalrecall, Thank you so much for the feedback and apologies for our shortcomings. Obviously there are a few departments that let us down and I will discuss with them individually how we could have done better. Regards Jeff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
central city apartment wellington, hotel central city apartment
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Nearby attractions include City to Sea Bridge (0.2 miles), Frank Kitts Park (0.3 miles), and Circa Theatre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Curry Heaven, Neo Cafe & Eatery, and The Old Quarter.
Is Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Wellington.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Government House (1.1 miles), Old St Paul's (1.0 miles), and Wellington Cable Car (0.4 miles).
Does Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.