We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Plaza Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Centrally located and a short walk to Te Papa.Staff at reception and in the restaurant very pleasant and helpful. However room (especially bathroom) needs refurbishing as outdated.Restaurant meals very good.

Helpful?
Thank possum94
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a good central city location and a great food and beverage operation. We look forward to welcoming you back the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington. Regards Eileen More 

Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bay Plaza Hotel using the City Escape, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package which we felt was great value for money. The staff were all helpful & pleasant. The meals were great and we only paid for the alcoholic drinks we had. We stayed on the 11th floor on a corner room at the front, which had... More 

Helpful?
Thank raro20
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your 5 star review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We are fortunate to have a great team and we pride ourselves with the level of customer focus... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Rooms: Outdated, not clean enough, bedsheets and blankets need to be replaced as they are smelly. The view is nice from the upper floor rooms, however, it is still noisy as the windows provide very low noise isolation Breakfast: Everything what you would expect. No complaints. Staff: Very friendly, were really helpful with changing the room Location: Very good, close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for leaving your feedback, I am sorry to hear that we were not the style of accommodation you were looking for. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel. We are fortunate to have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We had an extended long weekend visiting Wellington and chose to stay at Bay Plaza. What a nice surprise it was. Great location with views over the harbour. Close to restaurants and bars and lots of choice for breakfast and dinner. Close to TePapa for a day visiting the museum of NZ. And easy walking along the stunning waterfront to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clairesworld
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Claire, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay, when you visit... More 

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We drove into Wellington not expecting to drink a lot but I soon found myself over the limit and we hadn't been out for dinner yet. Popping into the Bay Plaza I was told a room was available for $110 for the night plus $18 parking. This seemed the perfect solution meaning I could go out and have a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryM4
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Gary, Thank you positive feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and are always ready to assist with our guests needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Rather old furnitured room with old carpet and a basic bathroom but clean. Nice sun filtered new curtains with shabby curtains. Bed was comfortable with clean sheets and the towels were nice and fluffy. The small fridge was old in a very shabby looking cupboard in the middle of the room by the bed. A small TV with sufficient seating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 57happy
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for leaving your feedback, I am sorry to hear that we were not the style of accommodation you were looking for. We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with amazing views of the city, and within walking distance to all the attractions, and a great team, who strive to met all guest expectation. I... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We also got the rate off the Supermarket docket and took our grand daughter down to Wellington with us for a 3 night stay. We were very pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is a little dated, but gosh the closeness to everything more than made up for that. We could see TePapa from our window and the views at night of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarieAnnNZ
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I am pleased you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment and I am delighted you enjoyed your time here, great views, staff were attentive and friendly, location was close to everything. We strive for high level of service in all aspects and appreciate the opportunity to make sure... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the Homegrown event. It is a dated hotel and the room we had was quite small but the bed was comfy and the views were amazing! The staff were nice and helpful. However while we were there the elevator broke down on one of the floors leaving the door looking like it was falling off and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahpJ4072DX
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks so much for leaving your positive feedback. We are centrally located affordable accommodation option with a great team, who take customer service seriously. Yes we did have other guests who caused the damage to the lift and it was great that you informed the front desk of this lift maintenance issue. Since the weekend, you stayed we... More 

Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

To the owners of this place, surely it would be nice to bring it into the 21st century .. What a shame with such a nice location. The hotel was clean, but old, noisy, very noisy . The plumbing was crazy and I'm sure you could here everyone's not the hotel flushing the toilets. The staff were very helpful but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie H
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

We had Flybuy points so it was a good place to stay before our flight to Dunedin the following morning. Pity I had to pay $18 for use of their carpark though. Easy walking distance into the CBD area for finding a place for a meal. Not far from Te Papa museum.

Helpful?
Thank Pat F
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Pat, Thank you so much for your review. Great to see you enjoyed our affordable central city location, and yes we are fortunate to be in a short walking distance to Te Papa. We are one of the few hotels in Wellington city to have ample car parking, and our charge of $18.00 is one of cheapest in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#20 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#12 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#13 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay