We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Bay Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Auckland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights for a birthday celebration as other family had a package deal. I would normally spend two or three times as much on accommodation as would be/was wary of the low cost as I am a very fussy traveller BUT my expectations were exceeded immensely. My brother in law had a drama with a bag being left in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piglethead
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your 5 star review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We have great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and your comments have been passed on to all... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Parking was a good price for wellington. Staff were lovely, friendly and quick to help. For the price of $99 per night for our group it was really good. Wouldn't have wanted to pay much more for how old it is but it was still clean and pleasant. View was great, and it was very close to Te Papa and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travellingkavs
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for your comments about the hotel, we are pleased your enjoyed your stay at our affordable centrally located hotel. Our location makes it the ideal place to explore the city. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Wellington city. Regards Eileen More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service, staff, price, location all faultless. A good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, with good room facilities. The old girl is probably due a refurbishment, is looking a little worn and so a slightly lower rating, but I'd happily go back taking my first remarks into account.

Helpful?
Thank Habanacustom
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit the "Coolest Little... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is extremely basic, very old run down and is in dire need of renovation. Location is the only thing going for it. $18 a night to park on the roof which is a life hazard being so windy in Wellington. The rooms have very little facilities, no microwave for example and beds are terrible. Keep looking. There are... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarrynF
Bay Plaza H, Owner at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Darryn, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, that we did not provide the style of accommodation you were looking for. Yes we are fortunate we have a great central location hotel, close to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I got a deal behind my grocery receipt and decided to try it. Sean and Kendra provided a warm welcome at reception and my first impression was good. Room was comfortable but a very noisy fan in the bathroom ran all night long and disturbed my sleep. Cody bed and nice shower. Breakfast was good value too and generally all... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelsavvy2016
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your positive feedback, about your recent stay.We are pleased you enjoyed out affordable centrally located hotel. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the Sean and Kendra, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel, and your comments have been passed on... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Centrally located and a short walk to Te Papa.Staff at reception and in the restaurant very pleasant and helpful. However room (especially bathroom) needs refurbishing as outdated.Restaurant meals very good.

Helpful?
Thank possum94
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a good central city location and a great food and beverage operation. We look forward to welcoming you back the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington. Regards Eileen More 

Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

We stayed at the Bay Plaza Hotel using the City Escape, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package which we felt was great value for money. The staff were all helpful & pleasant. The meals were great and we only paid for the alcoholic drinks we had. We stayed on the 11th floor on a corner room at the front, which had... More 

Helpful?
Thank raro20
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your 5 star review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We are fortunate to have a great team and we pride ourselves with the level of customer focus... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Rooms: Outdated, not clean enough, bedsheets and blankets need to be replaced as they are smelly. The view is nice from the upper floor rooms, however, it is still noisy as the windows provide very low noise isolation Breakfast: Everything what you would expect. No complaints. Staff: Very friendly, were really helpful with changing the room Location: Very good, close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for leaving your feedback, I am sorry to hear that we were not the style of accommodation you were looking for. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel. We are fortunate to have... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We had an extended long weekend visiting Wellington and chose to stay at Bay Plaza. What a nice surprise it was. Great location with views over the harbour. Close to restaurants and bars and lots of choice for breakfast and dinner. Close to TePapa for a day visiting the museum of NZ. And easy walking along the stunning waterfront to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clairesworld
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Claire, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay, when you visit... More 

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We drove into Wellington not expecting to drink a lot but I soon found myself over the limit and we hadn't been out for dinner yet. Popping into the Bay Plaza I was told a room was available for $110 for the night plus $18 parking. This seemed the perfect solution meaning I could go out and have a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryM4
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Gary, Thank you positive feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and are always ready to assist with our guests needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#20 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#12 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#14 of 50 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 50 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay