We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Comfort Inn Academy

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Comfort Inn Academy
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights while at a work conference it was a lovely place to stay, the hosts were very helpful, motel was in a good location, clean and tidy with breakfast delivered to our door at a reasonable price. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorainewitana
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

We thank you for your lovely comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The weather is getting a lot warmer - bring your togs for a swim or a spa on your next visit. Gladys & Kelvin

Rakaia, Canterbury. New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here to use some reward points we had & we weren't disappointed. It was spotlessly clean, & everything you need in the room. Really good breakfasts also. A little road noise as we were near the front, but not enough to disturb us. Very pleasant managers. Thanks for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Isn't it great to earn a free night's stay with your reward points. We are pleased you weren't disappointed and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Gladys & Kelvin

Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned a visit on the spur of the moment, and this motel was the highest ranked place with a room. It was the last room available, and so close to the main road, but the soundproofing is good, and the noise, though you could hear it, was not nearly enough to disturb sleep. Everything about the place is totally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your full and interesting review of your stay with us. We are pleased it met all of your needs. The restrictions on strong smelling cooking ingredients is because it gets into the bedding drapes and carpets and makes it a bigger cleaning job (then no profit) and sometimes we can't get the smell out for...

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Not very happy me my baby and husband were turned away for not having a credit card even though when i booked on the phone i stated it was a debit card and was not told it was unacceptable i could not find on the website that stated this was a rule i have never been turned away after handing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chloegeorge88
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

You booked via booking.com with a debit card which I advised booking.com (it is states on their website that we require a CREDIT card.) The booking came back again with the same thing and I advised booking.com AGAIN. A CREDIT card was not forthcoming so I cancelled the booking. You then booked again with us directly using someone else's CREDIT...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

On my latest stay at Academy the service was exceptional as it always is, the room was comfortable and quiet and the overall experience was very good. The motel is clean and tidy and centrally located on the main road heading into the CBD. Rooms have kitchens which gives them a more homely feel particularly when you travel a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markhbnz
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We received a Gold award yesterday from Choice Hotels for being in the top 10% of the Comfort brand in Australasia. It is great when our work is appreciated by guests and the brand we operate under. Gladys

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Have to agree with other comments: spotless & immaculate, rooms very well equipped - excellent for families, very comfortable and very well presented. And the service - lovely hosts. Thanks for making our stay wonderful. Highly recommend this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalkerAKL
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to your next visit. Gladys & Kelvin

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Looks like an ordinary Motel! Great size room, spotless bath room etc. Lovely bed, sheets and pillows. Excellent breakfast served in room, piping hot and great value for money with proper coffee!! Highways very close, so leave the windows closed and you cannot hear a thing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzmermaidnz
AcademyTauranga, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your unit and what we have to offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Gladys & Kelvin

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Nice clean and modern units. The 2 bedroom unit we stayed in had a very nice bathroom that looked like it was recently modernised. The unit was presented very well with nice towels and accessories. Competitively priced. Would recommend it highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JChan888
AcademyTauranga, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your group did so well in the competition it was lovely to see the happy faces and the kids showing us their medals. We look forward to your next visit. Gladys

Reviewed May 25, 2016

The owners Glenys and Kevin are lovely hosts and very helpful. The motel is very clean and tidy, and my room was easy to heat up in the cold weather. There are lots of shops and places to eat nearby, including a large supermarket. I got 10GB of free wifi, which was plenty for me, and the signal was really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan W
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel and that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased we were able to get your property back to you before your flight. Gladys & Kelvin

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

I am a regular at Academy and love the central location and close proximity to the office. Comfortable rooms with kitchenettes and plenty of room ensure a comfortable stay. Swimming pool and BBQ facilities are available. A range of room layouts offer good facilities for my business travel alone and for return visits for leisure. Staff are fantastic and really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markhbnz
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to write a review of your stay with us. We thank you for your comments and it is great to see guests returning to stay for leisure as well as business. Gladys & Kelvin

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.0 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
963 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
474 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Academy

Address: 734 Cameron Road | (cnr Cameron Rd & 15th Ave), Tauranga 3112, New Zealand (Formerly Academy Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: $89 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Academy 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#3 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Academy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If traffic noise is an issue ask for a room on Cameron Road and not on the 15th Ave side.”
 of 5 bubbles WalkerAKL, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the front entrance, to avoid road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles 12StephenH, Apr 17, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on ground floor access to our vehicle right outside door”
 of 5 bubbles emj52, Apr 16, 2016 | Read review
“Unit 13 is down the back of the motel and very private.”
 of 5 bubbles 66glendam, Feb 26, 2016 | Read review
“very central part of town”
 of 5 bubbles S3938EXkarenw, Feb 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay