We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel

Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sheree & Rick, welcome you to Bell Lodge, a purpose built motel and backpackers. Situated in a quiet area 4km from the city. You have the choice of motel units, double or twin en-suite rooms or dorm rooms for 4-8 persons with free car parking. All units and rooms open onto covered decks. We can help you organize local activities such as dolphin swimming, surf lessons, sky diving and more. Come and join us at Bell Lodge in the sunny Bay of Plenty.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
46Reviews
9Photos
0Q+A
7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 5
  • 1
  • 8
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Absolute terrible from start to finish. Incredibly rude and judgemental staff, disgustingly filthy rooms with cockroaches. The deck is dodgy as anything. Communal facilities were also filthy. Only stay here if you have zero standards and want to be treated poorly.
Read more
The place was dirty. They have no dorm rooms for woman traveling alone. The flys are all over the kitchen and the deck was falling apart. The owners did nothing about the people doing drugs and being really loud, partying until midnight even though they have a no drugs policy
Read more
+1
Booked a room for one night at $130 p/night. I have pictures of cockroach legs, pubic hair, blood stains, faecal stains on bedding. Completely discoloured brown toilet cistern and uncleaned bathroom. A purely disgusting place, avoid at all cost!!
Read more
Response from sheree123758, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
Responded Mar 6, 2018
Just to put this review into perspective. The toilet cistern has been replaced and so has the tiles we got an expert in the day before and the outcome was not that they were dirty it was a chemical reaction from using organic cleaning sprays so the tiles have been replaced with lion ans the cistern has been changed. we have relayed your comments to rentokil as these come and spray for cockroaches every month. as this customer made a booking through booking.com it clearly states no check ins after 8pm so if you are going to be later dont book in the first place
Read more
We went to the Bell Lodge to find work as kiwi pickers. The stay at the hostel was okay and if you work, you will get a discount on your rooms. After several rainy days we decided to leave one day earlier and thought that this would be no problem, because we didn't want to get
Read more
Response from Bell-LodgeNZ, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
Responded Jun 6, 2017
Thanks for your review, while you were with us you were enjoyable company. I was away at the time attending a funeral and my partner was looking after the hostel. He did explain this to me but I did not realise he was rude to you. My Apologies Sheree
Read more
Lady running the place was very rude. We offered her $50 to drop us at the concert in the Bell Lodge van we were going to as our taxi did not show up. She did so but then refused to do it the next day unless another $50 was given. We arrived home early one night and went to bed
Read more
Response from sheree123758, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel
Responded May 10, 2017
Firstly it is not our responsibility to take you to a concert so $50 was a payment that you would have had to pay as there were 7 or 8 of you even though only 4 of you were staying here at Bell Lodge. The others were friends of yours that were staying somewhere else and I kindly also took to the concert and I could have refused. As i am the only person running the hostel and I am not a taxi service then I refused to help the second day as we had 70 people here and if I run a taxi for all of them then i would not be able to run the hostel. Rather then abusing me it would have been better to be grateful that i took you the first time and not have it expected that i do it for you the next day as it is your responsibility to get there not ours
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & Suite
view from front of motel room
PreviousNext
12
"ask for dorm with own bathroom"
"Get a room closest to car park, they are quieter. Even if traveling alone, make a friend and share one of the private ensuite rooms as they are only a couple of dollars extra per week."
"all the rooms close to the common are are very bad, you cant get sleep because of all the noise coming from the common area. I recommend you get a room with a private bathroom for the difference of price, as there are huge cockroaches and no towells for drying for face."
"Any room is good"
"The motels have their own bathrooms and kitchen facilities, plus a nice green space for relaxing."
PreviousNext
12
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTauranga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing