We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Expedia.com$65*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$73*
$65*
$73*
$73*
$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
 Click to rate
New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wasn't overly disappointed with this motel because I had picked one that was cheap. It was a last minute booking and only for one night, so I thought 'What the heck?" Being Taupo, close to the snow-topped mountains, it was cold at night in May. I did manage to locate a heater, in a glory box, but the heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixiehat
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in Budget room with double bed, bed comfy and shower ok but as for the rest very disappointing. Old and tired décor apart from the Restaurant. TV was supposed to have Sky, no channels of Sky, sub titles on every channel making it terrible to watch. No radio/clock and no telephone which were advertised for this room on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolvw2017
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

We took the opportunity to take a few days away over the Easter weekend and used booking.com to select a Hotel for 2 nights. The rate was good and the photo looked good so we chose a Queen room. The staff were friendly enough but the room was certainly not what was in the photo. It was a long narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markhbnz
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

The room was small. Had to put jug on floor to plug in. Staff were friendly when you could find them. Decor is dated. Parking is hard and drive trucks. Free WiFi was ok. Rooms are noisy. Lights out in hallway made things hard. The door hard to be pulled hard to make sure to locked behind you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abseilor
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. The room did not match or look at all like the website photos. Very dated. Old uncomfortable bed. Definitely not value for money. Don't recommend. Would rather stay at a backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AucklandToni
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We booked using GRABONE discounts and stayed in one of the back rooms, which meant no road noise. The room was basic, but clean and included an en-suite bathroom with shower, hand basin, and toilet. The Queensize bed was fine,a 30" TV, hot drink facilities. The restaurant where we had breakfast was on the 2nd story, and looked across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussRascal
Hokitika, New Zealand
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

I'm not a fussy when it comes to accommodation but my expectations of the room were let down by the website. The room is dated, carpet was stained and the toilet fan very noisy. My bed sheets had a stain on them which I didn't realize until I was in it so didn't bother mentioning. Working in the tourism business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HOKISITE
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Reviewed April 7, 2017

The room was nice albeit a bit tired. Fridge, tea& Coffee, Free wifi. There was a heated outside pool that we didn't use. We had dinner in the restaurant. Nice ambiance, beautiful view of the lake but food was a letdown for the price we paid. Friendly service but possibly a bit understaffed as meal took a long time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SofiaAndreen
Lawndale, California
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Booked the hotel same day but unfortunately had to check in late, driving in from Wellington. The front desk was closed when we arrived. We woke up the person covering the front desk who came out in his pajamas to check us in. Our names weren't in the system because of the late book. However, he made some calls (at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peteysiu
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you turned up unexpected but I'm pleased that the staff were able to assist you efficiently. Yes, our rooms are certainly very clean. We look forward to seeing you again.

Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Paid $145 for a very tiny studio room, we only stayed a night and just wanted a comfy bed after travelling but it was probably the worse bed ever, so small and so hard, my partner likes firm beds but even he tried the floor. It was room 28. We didn't bother about the size but this room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange J
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property - I am sorry to hear that aspects of your stay fell below expectations. I will get the maintenance team to address the issue you raised with the toilet seat. Many hotels do not offer fridges these days, they were removed as they were simply not utilised by guests. You booked...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#36 of 69 in Taupo
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#44 of 69 in Taupo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo is perfectly positioned on the lakefront, with spectacular views across the lake to the three volcanic cones of Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe. Taupo is home to New Zealand's largest lake, more trout than you can shake a stick at and some of the country's most stunning scenery. Whether you are in Taupo on business or for a holiday, Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo offers an ideal setting. Our Lake Taupo accommodation offers great value and is proudly NZ family owned and operated, and is located within minutes of the Lake Taupo town centre and airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Address: 100 Lake Terrace | PO Box 54, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley on the Lake Taupo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellesley on the Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley on the Lake Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you're not fussy, and want the dining room food, only cheaper, get from hotel takeaway menu”
Pixiehat, 5 days ago | Read review
“Room on top floor, long corridor, could have been noisy had I stayed longer.”
carolvw2017, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“None from the 3 I saw”
AngeJ700, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
“First floor for a better lake view”
Andysafrica11, Mar 14, 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid the back rooms”
ErylAnn, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$65* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$73
TripAdvisor$65
Priceline$73
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates