We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Save
Share
14 Northcroft Street PO Box 837, Taupo New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$202
$115
View deal
SAVE $87
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Prestigia.com$202
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (116)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 09/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Updated 09/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 65 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous conference venue and on-site restaurant the Lake Bistro.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Boating
Hiking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Hindi
418Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 137
  • 184
  • 72
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rei88 wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand71 contributions39 helpful votes
We had a 2 bedrooms, nice spacious room with balcony. Everything was clean and had a little kitchen. Kids love the playground and the pool. Service was good, there is a restaurant but we haven’t tried.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brandy wrote a review Apr 2021
6 contributions
Really enjoyed our stay at Suncourt Hotel, friendly staff at the desk. The room was really nice and spacious for 4 people and was very clean and well presented. The hotel is really close to the main shops of Taupo as well as the easy access to the lake. We LOVED the pressure of the shower was amazing but would have liked body wash included in the shower as there is shampoo and hand wash. But overall we all enjoyed our stay, would definitely return and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
poohtravel wrote a review Mar 2021
New Zealand327 contributions88 helpful votes
My main disappointment with my room was that there were absolutely no toiletries. I did not complain or ask for any as there was no spot where they obviously would have been. Fortunately I by chance had some with me. The sliding door to the wee deck looking out to the lake was locked. There were no instructions on how to open it. A coffee out there watching the sun rise would have been lovely. Not only were there no toiletries but I was phoned by someone from the hotel accusing me of having taken them with me. I assured them that I had not as there weren’t any there to start with. I was told they would check it out and come back to me. I’m still waiting for the apology. Shame because I would have gone back again and recommended them but I cannot recommend a place that contacts their guests with random accusations over disposable toiletries that I would have paid for in my not so cheap accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Mar 26, 2021
We are sorry to find out via email and this review that there were no toiletries in your room.  This is unusual and if we had known we would have delivered toiletries to your room immediately.  We appreciate this must have been an inconvenience for you.  Our reception team followed our process by contacting the guest when these products are not in the room on departure (which are part of our sustainability initiative, where these bottles are refilled after each departure).  Some guests take these refillable bottles unknowingly thinking they are complimentary.  In your situation our receptionist checked with you and listened to your explanation and there has been no charge against your reservation.
Read more
Kej5 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland, New Zealand203 contributions37 helpful votes
Friendly staff on check in; we had a trainee who was under the supervision of someone else, but he was friendly and courteous. The room was clean, with some basic cups and glasses, but not much in the way of other facilities. The outside area was nice with comfortable seaing to watch people moving around as it was a public holiday and quite busy. Noisy neighbours with a young child spoilt this trip for us as they did very little to consider all of the other guests staying at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will pass your comments on to the staff members involved. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the outdoor seating with your room and also apologise for your noisy neighbor. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
Gursharan wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Owner deducted extra money from my account after checkout making false statements, I don't recommend this place, you will end-up paying more than they say upfront, avoid this place so you don't get a bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Please avoid this place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Good afternoon Gursharan, This is standard procedure when items are missing from rooms on departure. We have emailed you. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suncourt hotel and conference centre
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.2 miles), Maori Rock Carvings (0.1 miles), and Taupo Mini Golf (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine), Master of India, and Spoon and Paddle.
Is Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Hindi, and Afrikaans.
Does Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.