We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Taupo Urban Retreat

65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Taupo Urban Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Ålesund, Norge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was on a travel with a tour bus and we stopped here for one night. The place is nice if you are on a budget. It has a bar and a small kitchen. The fasade is really cool and looks like a jungle hut. It was a bit chilly in July, both in the dorm and in the bar.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Izzie89
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

We were in a 6 bed dorm and the room was very dry and dusty. I'm pretty sure it's the reason I'm sick right now, even after taking a nap the first day I woke up with a very dry itchy throat I didn't have that morning. The room was decently clean but there were dirty mugs that people had... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmerke
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear you became unwell during your stay. Housekeeping is carried out every morning after check out, where rooms are cleaned and prepared for the arrival of guests, this includes dusting and emptying of bins. Unfortunately, it is beyond our control if other guests decide to dye... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I booked a twin room with private toilet. The room was clean and tidy but it was a bit too small. The facility was okay, the toilet was clean. Nice and helpful staffs. Reasonable and affordable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank natcharee h
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Enjoy the rest of your trip :-) More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

A fine and proper backpacker accomodation! All the facilities needed - Clean rooms with safe lockers - Moderate fast WiFi - Nice and helpful staff - Good location - You will definitely get what you pay for.

Helpful?
1 Thank gapyearbackpacker
Katie T, Reception at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Its so lovely to receive such positive feedback. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ. :-) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm with an ensuite. The room was dark, smelt of damp and not hugely spacious. Positives first: the staff are friendly and very helpful. I think they must have the same complaints from staff all the time - it would be great if management could resolve the issues once and for all. Also, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adela256
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

We stayed in the 16 bed dorm, which was really spacious, full of natural light and very comfortable. Great value for money, really friendly and helpful staff, very good location, cheap drinks/food deals ($5 chili from what I remember) and a great communal area that was perfect for a large group of us to drink/play games in. Free wi-fi too.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JakeSchogger
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. Our 16 bed dorm is a favorite among many due to the spaciousness and natural light that floods the room during the day. We are pleased you had a great stay with us and took advantage of our cheap on site bar and facilities. Enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand :-) More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed just one night in a 4 dorm bed. Not much space in there, but the beds were good and it was clean. Staff was nice and helpfull. Free, decent, wifi everywhere and 3 computers free to use. Kitchen had everything but it was a little small. Summed up: doesn't get better for that price

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope you made use of the under bed storage lockers so that the floor space was not used by belongings. Our new free wifi and internet connections are superb, so glad to hear you took advantage of these. Enjoy the rest of your trip :-) More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

I had originally booked three nights stay at Taupo Urban Retreat, but unfortunately had to leave a day early due to not being able to do any of the things that I wanted to do while staying in Taupo because of bad weather. I was very disappointed to leave a day early as I had booked a private room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. So happy to hear you had a lovely stay with us. Unfortunately due to the lay out of the building some rooms do not have access to the outdoors but we do our best to vent these rooms and have an opening roof in the corridor to allow fresh air in. Sadly the recent... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

This hostel is nothing short of amazing! It's such a social hostel, most people staying are from kiwi experience, but I wasn't and made a tonne of friends. The location is great, only a short walk to the lake, centre of town etc. The rooms were a little small, with not much room to put you're bag. But apart from... More 

Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
Katie T, Receptionist at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your amazing review, so lovely to have such positive feedback. We hope you made use of the under the bed storage lockers. Enjoy the rest of your trip around beautiful New Zealand More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

We booked a double room. When we went into the room at about 11PM to sleep we saw lots of hairs, including pubic hairs all over the sheets and pillows. It looked like the sheets hadn't been changed. We advised the last 2 staff working who brought some more sheets which also had hairs [though admittedly fewer] on them. Still... More 

Helpful?
Thank tristan j
Solarpowered_12, Owner at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Having spoken to our Hostel Manager and Bar Manager who were both working and dealt with you, we understand that you checked in about 4pm and were having a very pleasant evening drinking at the hostel bar until 11pm. There were some hairs on the sheet which should have been dealt with earlier by our housekeeper and an oversight which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taupo
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#4 of 34 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Lodge
Silver Fern Lodge
#24 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $31 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay