We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Lodge Motel

Show Prices
#41 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colonial Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My 2 kids and I stayed for 3 nights over late winter. Awesome views directly across the road from the lake, attentive service from innkeepers, daily housekeeping, washer & dryer facilities essential for families.

Helpful?
Thank Cheah E
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lakefront view, but not from the motel room. I could walk just 1 minute to the lake side. The room itself was spacious for two people. Even has its own spa pool in the bathroom and the kitchen facilities were excellent. Loved the electric blanket in the bed! The host Anthony was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank IntrepidGoose
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

We took a break from our campervan vacation and stayed here for one night in January. And we couldn’t have chosen a better place to do this! The managers were very friendly and we felt welcomed right from the start. The room was spacious and had a great bed. There was Jacuzzi in the bathroom, and it worked like a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoonasHM
ColonialTaupo, Innkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joonas Thank you for the time you have spent in writing a review. We appreciate reading what Guests have to say. As you can see everyone has their own opinion and ideas. We strive to make all guests stays as comfortable as possible. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand and would like to... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Friendly hosts, comfortable rooms, clean, great location. We had two twin beds and separate room with queen; perfect for our group. Refrigerator, wifi and coffee pot--what else do you need? Right across from the lake. Large bathroom with separate tub and shower.

Helpful?
Thank Mi M
ColonialTaupo, Innkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Mi We always appreciate guests reviews. It is great meeting different guests from different Nationalities and Personalities. We cater to One Night Stayers to Guests that spend up to 7 Days with us to enjoy all the local Activities and Events that Taupo has to offer in Summer and Winter. We hope to see you again on your next... More 

San Francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Some places you remember forever, such as the Colonial Lodge Motel. I was there in Feb 2014 (but the system wouldn't let me go that far back). What was great about it was the friendliness of the owners, the completeness of the amenities, and the comfort of the beds. It was a walking distance to the downtown area, but I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cheap_flashpacker
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

We stayed at the Colonial for 4 nights and loved it. The lovely couple that were looking after the motel were fantastic couldn't be more inviting and friendly made us feel welcome and at home, Washing facilities provided and a dryer. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Kitchenette, microwave, fridge, spa bath, air-con were a plus as Feb is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoll D
ColonialTaupo, Innkeepers at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Nicoll It is always uplifting to hear reviews from guests that appreciate Taupo and it surrounds. We decided buying this business due to its location and have enjoyed gradually renovating as time permits. The stroll along the lakeside is great of an evening while watching the beautiful sunsets that change by the minute. We also enjoy hearing and seeing... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

As a frequent visitor to Taupo we booked here last minute. We sent them a msg to request a carpark onsite due to kids with loads of baggage. When we arrived the booked us into a studio at the back. Quiet with no traffic flow for saftey and less traffic noise which was so greatly appreciated. Not only that they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melza88
ColonialTaupo, Innkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Melza Thank you for your wonderful review. It is good to hear your experience at our property. We endeavor to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Catering to all types of guests is what we endeavor to achieve. It is pleasant stroll along the beachfront to the main shopping centre, bars and restaurants. A little further to the... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

We found this motel by the lake through Tourist Information in Taupo and were very pleased with it. Noel and Anthony were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, with kitchen area and a bathroom. And amazing value, our room was $140 a night and could accommodate three people with ease.

Helpful?
Thank maddercat
ColonialTaupo, Innkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. Value for money is not an easy thing to gauge. You could pay up to $40.00 per night for other properties to get a view but then you have the problem of the road noise or have to close drapes to block out the direct sun. Our property is built to capture the winter sun... More 

Waikanae
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight on trip up North Island. The motel has become very dated and tired looking and it does not live up to the website pics. The managers were very welcoming and helpful and the room was very clean and tidy although the air freshner smell was quite overpowering and makes one wonder what it was masking. Reasonably expensive for... More 

Helpful?
Thank popone
ColonialTaupo, Inkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Popone. Thank you for your review. Holiday period is always the most expensive period to travel. A matter of Supply and Demand. Value for money is hard to define. We have many guest stay for more than just one quick overnight stay as they prefer the quiet home style accommodation and comfort we provide. We use ECO Natural cleaning... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the Nee Year weekend. Location is good, on the lakeside and a short walk to main shopping, food, drink areas of Taupo. Room was a good size, with television (including film channel), kitchenette, and en suite (including 'spa bath'). The bed was very uncomfortable unfortunately. Also the room was only superficially clean. There were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ADP29
ColonialTaupo, Inkeeper at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi ADP29 Thank you for your review. We don't know where you booked from but our webpage does not quote "partial lake and city views" It is difficult to provide the bed that suits all guests so we purchase the mid comfort (not to soft and not to hard) Hotel quality beds. Each room is cleaned thoroughly after every use... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located opposite the main swimming beach just 1.3 Klms, a short pleasant stroll along the shores of beautiful Lake Taupo, to the main Shopping Centre, Restaurants and Vibrant Night Life. Our spacious Spa Studios, Family Studios, One Bedroom and Family Apartments are tastefully decorated and furnished for your comfort. Our Studios and Apartments are quiet, without any road noises, making them suitable for Corporate or Free Independent Travellers wishing to have a quiet nights rest. They have been built to capture the warm Sun in Winter and to keep cool during the Summer months. The main Swimming beach is opposite our front door and, from our BBQ Area and Picnic Tables, there are wonderful views of the 3 Volcanoes and all the splendour of the lake with yachts sailing, fishing boats and water sports. Come alone, with your partner, bring your family or friends and request an interconnecting room. Stay for a night or for a week. Stay here while on a Business Trip or for Pleasure and Relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $100 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay