We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Reef Resort

#3 of 70 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Reef Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 390: English reviews
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

After a day's traveling and activities, we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff, full of information at any time of the day. The resort entrance was beautiful, clean and tidy. There was plenty of parking, although if you have a large car, I recommend getting a park early, as the parking below was quiet tight. We traveled as... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeasiiLou
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place has the most amazing rooms. We stayed there for a couple of nights and they upgraded our room for free. The staff there were awesome. It wasn't right in the heart of everything but we didn't want to be. It was nice to get away from it all. It's only a 2minute drive if you need to grab... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1FlyingKiwi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night on a trip from Wellington to Auckland and wished we could stay longer. Staff very friendly and attentive and everything was clean and tidy. Lovely to relax and wind down in the large spa bath. Would love to stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always great to hear great feed back. You'll just have to make a special trip up :) Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Every year we stay at the reef resort and it's always a grea stay. The rooms are always so clean and tidy. Love the private spa bath in each of the rooms. The price is so affordable especially if your after somewhere spacious. Always so friendly.. will recommend all the time 😊 home away from home

Helpful?
Thank krissypul
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating review. We are so glad you choose the Reef Resort as you place to stay in Taupo :) and we appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your comment about the rooms being so clean and tidy. They do a great job for sure. Look forward to seeing you again next... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night recently in a really nice big studio apartment. The staff here were extremely friendly and welcoming after a long day of driving and there was lots of parking. The view of the lake from our room was great but unfortunately it was a foggy day. The hot pool was great for a cold winter morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always awesome to hear great feedback. You'll just have to come another day and sit back and enjoy the views of the lake and mountain without the fog :) Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers More 

wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a one-bedroom apartment that opened out onto the pool. The room was clean and while not spacious had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had our two children with us and we all loved having such direct access to the hot swimming pool. My husband and I could supervise the kids from our balcony when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank lahanz
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love reading how our guests have enjoyed their stay. Our pool side rooms sure are great!! With 2 bathrooms, and separate lounge there's a spot for everyone to relax. We are glad you made great use of the heated pools. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards Julie and Khan -... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Reef Resort far exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed with friendly faces at the front desk who were quite helpful during our stay. We stayed in a poolside suite and it was amazing! This is our first time to New Zealand and Taupo is definitely a place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. It's always lovely to hear great feedback. Hope you got to see some of the amazing sights of Taupo before you headed off to you next destination. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as you enter the lobby either Julie or Khan are there with a friendly and warm greeting. The rooms are warm and comfortable, a great well stocked mini kitchen and a spa bath are appreciated. The swimming pool and hot pool are a real treat especially on cool days. Located on the lake front the resort has its... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcuschandler1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We love providing a welcoming atmosphere for our guests. Great that you made good use of our heated pools. With the pool being 35 degrees it's worth going outside for! :) Our cruiser bikes sure are a great way to see the sights along the lakefront. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us.... More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a room upstairs which had all the necessary cooking utensils needed to whip up a quick bite when we didn't feel like braving the cold. The luxurious spa bath overlooking the sunset from the privacy of our room added to the amazing feeling of being spoiled. The heated room is very cosy and we don't have a need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen E
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's always lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. So glad you had a great time. The spa baths in our luxury studios sure are a treat. Why would you want to leave the room! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Julie and Khan -... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time at the Reef Resort hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially with the special requests re kids. The room was clean and well furnished with modern conveniences. We felt very welcome and would recommend the location to others.

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We work hard to maintain and excellent standard. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#7 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails Motor Lodge
Sails Motor Lodge
#5 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#21 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Resort

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $94 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay