We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hilton Lake Taupo

#6 of 70 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Lake Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,562: English reviews
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great stay, lovely service. Lovely room and good internet. Great location. Pity you have to pay for the parking though. Restaurant full at dinner time. Dined elsewhere. Great pool and spa. Really clean.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 20garethf
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I decided to have a hot pool at De Brett's en route to the Hawkes Bay. We then decided to spend the night at the Hilton Taupo adjacent to the pools. From check in till check out we experienced the very best in service both at reception and during dinner and thereafter room service. Our dinner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank K N
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend, and loved our stay! There was a mix up with the room and our booking, which was all sorted for us while we went out, when we got back our luggage had all been moved to our new room. We were in the heritage wing, loved being in the original hotel. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank shannong963
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear shannong963, Thank you for sharing your favourable review in TripAdvisor. It really is with great pleasure to see you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I agree, suites in our Heritage Wing are absolutely stunning and add some real character and warmth to guests accommodating in these areas of the hotel. I have passed your fantastic comments on to... More 

auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hilton @ Lake Taupo can be wonderful, but we found it was not issue free. We arrived to a cold, humourless, condescending welcome from the clearly disinterested receptionist. We were made to feel inadequate and like a pair of peasants. It only got worse when I went back to reception to inquire about the non existent business centre listed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank westieak
AKLLT-GM, Hotel Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear westieak, I greatly appreciate you posting and sharing with fellow travellers your recent experience at Hilton Lake Taupo. Please accept my apologies for management not calling or responding to your comments earlier. I take full responsibility as I was of the understanding that our front office manager was contacting you in my absence. This clearly did not happened and... More 

Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A delicious dinner, bed and breakfast for a quick girls catch up. We shared the room, drank, ate changed our mealtimes and lounged around in the pool & sauna spaces. We didn't need to leave the hotel site for all our needs to be met. This is my happy place and I was delighted to be able to introduce the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kerre D
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Kerre D, Thank you Kerre D for sharing your post on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you all had a wonderful overnight stay with us last week. It gives me great pleasure to read a lovely review and see that our valued guests didn't even need to leave the premises due to our on site restaurant, staff... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked our family for the weekend to celebrate my Mothers 70th birthday. The Assistant Manager Naomi Dsousa gave helpful advice before our arrival, and then made us so welcome on our arrival. We were escorted to our room (1 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor) only to discover a surprise birthday sign & extra treats to celebrate. Totally unexpected... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissTripAbout
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear MissTripAbout, It was a pleasure to welcome you all to the property especially on such a wonderful and special occasion. Together with my team we are focused on providing you with an outstanding level of service to ensure your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I am delighted to see that overall your experience was truly memorable and I have... More 

Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Top quality hotel with very poor customer service skills. Noisy room,either elevator noise or ventilation noise. Guests next to us cooked curry and our room smelled all nigh. The spa pool was luke warm and there weren't any extra blankets for the bed and winter in Taupo is cold

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear John G, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share you review following your stay with us earlier this month. Secondly, I express my disappointment to you and other TripAdvisor viewers regarding this stay in particular not meeting your expectations. I'll be honest, I am very surprised you found the teams customer service skills to be poor as... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing facilities, beautiful views, love the pool , the rooms are beautifully, stylish and so the beds so comfortable. The location and views over the lake are incredible. We had a toddler with us the the rooms were so user friendly with our baby we could just sit back and relax and knew he was safe

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank MandyMay694
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear MandyMay694, Thank you very much MandyMay694 for sharing your favourable review on TripAdvisor. It is truly delightful to read and see you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. The suite you were accommodating was obviously perfect for your needs and it is lovely you were able to relax knowing family were safe in the surroundings we... More 

Wellington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yeah it's a bit more expensive but it's pretty nice, good views, nice room, really nice bathroom with ultra heated floor. Spacious. Good service. Room service food was awful though - $40 for a cold burger that felt more like a $7 meal. Parking is $15 and well worth it in the colder months - the hike from the 'gravel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TGRobbo
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear TGRoobo, Whilst I am pleased your stay met most of your expectations you have fairly rated your stay with us here at Hilton Lake Taupo. Sadly you in room dining experience lead to your stay being let down and on behalf of the Food & Beverage team I apologise for the inconvenience caused. I will be discussing all feedback... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is located close to the main tourist area where most of the restaurants. It is only a few km away. It is right beside DeBritt hot spring park where you can enjoy the hotspring. It offers a VIP discount of 20% for hotel customer to the hotspring. Room is of good size and with nice decor. I love... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank skier101
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear skier101, Welcome to New Zealand - I hope you and your family are thoroughly enjoying your time here. I am pleased you all had a fantastic time with us and you found our suits comfortable and accommodating. Your photos posted of our high tea serving add extra information for our future guests and we appreciate you adding those to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

477 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (444)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (196)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.6 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#22 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $111 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay