We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Barcelona Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barcelona Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This motel has had it glory days and now, in its faded state a convenient cheap overnighter motel. The room needed refreshing. The room furniture felt as though it had been purchased as a job lot from the Warehouse with the room heated by a small, inadequate heater. The advantage is that the motel is close to the town centre... More 

Helpful?
Thank peperi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The electric blanket is broken and dose not have heating system in the room. They only have little heater in living room Definitely not recommended for winter!! Fridge is not working, didn't clean the room at all and towels were not replaced with new one. I been to many motels and this was the worst motel ever!!

Helpful?
Thank Chris S

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

This motel was probably top class when built but unfortunately it has not kept its standard up. The lower price charged for our room was reasonable and unlike some more pricey motels we stayed at, the WiFi was good. The staff were very welcoming and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Gordon3638
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Nice courtyard & play area for children. Spacious rooms but very outdated.Sofa old and cushions sink into middle - likely because it's a fold-out but still old. Other seating - 2 x outdoor metal fold-aways under breakfast bar. Shower/toilet area - old, outdated and needs modernizing. Shower curtains are the most horrible thing you can have in any bathroom. Most... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSouvenirshop
South Lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

We chose this motel as we were looking for a place that offered somewhere comfortable to sleep, close to Taupo town centre and suitable for a family of 4, without all the fancy trappings that can hike up the price... We were thrilled to bits with this motel. The staff were super-friendly and helpful, the unit was wonderfully clean, lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreenBees
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

We stayed overnight enroute from Wellington heading north. We chose this motel because we had a small budget and needed a unit that took three people and provided a separate bedroom and a ground floor facility. We were quite shocked at how old the facilities are however to give credit the beds were very comfortable and beautifully made up, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill H
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

For the $360 price tag we paid for a two bedroom unit, we weren't expecting the rundown, carpet stained, concrete block that we got. There was mould in the bathroom and the carpets need a really good clean. The kitchen was quite grimy, and had huge amounts of dust and fly poo on the light fittings directly above the sink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

We do apologize for the unhappy experience you were having while staying here. And we do appreciate your comments. If it can make you feel better, we have already repainted the bathroom, refit a few lights and washed the whole carpet according to your suggestion. I don't remember you complained about the beds when you were here. It is a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

I suppose you get what you pay for. Good for over night but a bit outdated and needed a good clean. Appliances not all working and fridges needed to be replaced. A budget option only if nothing else is available.. Reception area needs a good spruce up. Handy to shops.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob N
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob. Because you didn't give the clue of which room you were staying in. We checked all the room for the appliances. The result is they are all working well. If you found the fridge not working, I guess the reason is that it was turned off accidentally. There is a switch in the kitchen to control the power... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We had room 10 - the family suite - for 5 adults and a child and were very happy with it. The owners are very helpful and obliging - even offering to carry our luggage up the stairs. It was clean and comfortable. This motel is well located in walking distance from the CBD.

Helpful?
Thank rosieterry
perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I have seen some of the negative feedback and I am wondering why because this group of 3 stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. We had a single bedroom plus a double bed in the lounge/kitchen area. This is not a new hotel, our room was showing a little wear and tear I guess, however it... More 

Helpful?
Thank PerthJenny
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utopian Motel Taupo
Utopian Motel Taupo
#64 of 70 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#28 of 70 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
1.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#44 of 70 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $55 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay