We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Barcelona Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barcelona Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Ngaio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights and used as a base for travel between Wellington and Auckland. Obviously has not been updated since the 70's! Freezing cold inside with only 1 small heater for the unit which was not effective at all. Electric blanket was not working on main bed so had to sleep in clothes to try and stay warm. Toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank 388soniag
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the motel to find stains on cushions. A used tampon on the floor in the toilet. and pubic hairs on toilet seat. Nothing looked like it was clean room smelt damp. Mould on the ceiling that had just been painted over and coming back through. Electric blanket had wires showing. Very poor condition. Although the receptionist didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank russdamuss

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel has had it glory days and now, in its faded state a convenient cheap overnighter motel. The room needed refreshing. The room furniture felt as though it had been purchased as a job lot from the Warehouse with the room heated by a small, inadequate heater. The advantage is that the motel is close to the town centre... More 

Helpful?
Thank peperi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

The electric blanket is broken and dose not have heating system in the room. They only have little heater in living room Definitely not recommended for winter!! Fridge is not working, didn't clean the room at all and towels were not replaced with new one. I been to many motels and this was the worst motel ever!!

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

This motel was probably top class when built but unfortunately it has not kept its standard up. The lower price charged for our room was reasonable and unlike some more pricey motels we stayed at, the WiFi was good. The staff were very welcoming and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Gordon3638
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Nice courtyard & play area for children. Spacious rooms but very outdated.Sofa old and cushions sink into middle - likely because it's a fold-out but still old. Other seating - 2 x outdoor metal fold-aways under breakfast bar. Shower/toilet area - old, outdated and needs modernizing. Shower curtains are the most horrible thing you can have in any bathroom. Most... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSouvenirshop
South Lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

We chose this motel as we were looking for a place that offered somewhere comfortable to sleep, close to Taupo town centre and suitable for a family of 4, without all the fancy trappings that can hike up the price... We were thrilled to bits with this motel. The staff were super-friendly and helpful, the unit was wonderfully clean, lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreenBees
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

We stayed overnight enroute from Wellington heading north. We chose this motel because we had a small budget and needed a unit that took three people and provided a separate bedroom and a ground floor facility. We were quite shocked at how old the facilities are however to give credit the beds were very comfortable and beautifully made up, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill H
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

For the $360 price tag we paid for a two bedroom unit, we weren't expecting the rundown, carpet stained, concrete block that we got. There was mould in the bathroom and the carpets need a really good clean. The kitchen was quite grimy, and had huge amounts of dust and fly poo on the light fittings directly above the sink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

We do apologize for the unhappy experience you were having while staying here. And we do appreciate your comments. If it can make you feel better, we have already repainted the bathroom, refit a few lights and washed the whole carpet according to your suggestion. I don't remember you complained about the beds when you were here. It is a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

I suppose you get what you pay for. Good for over night but a bit outdated and needed a good clean. Appliances not all working and fridges needed to be replaced. A budget option only if nothing else is available.. Reception area needs a good spruce up. Handy to shops.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob N
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob. Because you didn't give the clue of which room you were staying in. We checked all the room for the appliances. The result is they are all working well. If you found the fridge not working, I guess the reason is that it was turned off accidentally. There is a switch in the kitchen to control the power... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#22 of 70 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Utopian Motel Taupo
Utopian Motel Taupo
#63 of 70 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
1.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#47 of 70 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#59 of 70 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay