We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Cove Taupo

#21 of 70 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Cove Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The management are extremely friendly and helpful, very impressed they went out of their way to offer secure parking for my car, even though I did not ask for it. That's excellent service. Hotel is in good order, and is clean. The room I had was clean, but I was disappointed there are no hanging hooks in the bathroom and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob K
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Junior suite we booked was barely big enough to swing a cat. No storage so we had to place our bags on the floor which meant you had to sit on the bed as the floor room was very limited. No chairs or anywhere else to sit. A big storm blew that night and the translucent bathroom ceiling panels... More 

Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Angela, Sorry to hear you were not happy with your Junior suite. One year ago the owner's changed the room from a studio unit to a junior suite and reduced the price. As it was the school holiday's we could not offer you a up grade to a spa suite as we were full. Yes the weather was not... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely place to stay. Friendly service, rooms are neat and modern. Clean, up market and stylish! Good quailty bedding and bath accessories.Impressed with unlimited Wifi. Spa bath was a real hit. Recommended to all!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Great to here you enjoyed your stay at the cove. Thank you for the review it's good to get feed back from our guest's. Hope to see you again . Cheer's. Regards Garry & Cheryl O'Driscoll Managers More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a quick decision for a nights get away, my husband and I came across a fantastic price for a room with a private spa. So why not?. We were greeted straight away with a smile & felt instantly welcomed. The room was everything that we had hoped it would be. Bed was the perfect size, spa was amazing. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you Anne for your kind review . We work hard to make sure our guests have a great stay at the cove and do hope we see you both again soon. Take care. Kind Regards Garry & Cheryl O'Driscoll Manager's More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrive earlier than planned and after a quick Phone call we were able to check in an hour earlier, our hosts were so accommodating. The rooms first impression was some what small we booked a studio no table to sit or work at or a place to store your suitcase ,really the only gripe. Our host were generally interested... More 

Helpful?
Thank 212carlc
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review . Yes we are always trying to make our guest's feel special. Regarding the studio units the owner's are making a change to the out lay where there will be a table and work space for the future. Glad you both enjoyed the cafe we will pass it on to the new owner's. Kind Reagard's... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

We had a small studio with a great view of the lake, Staff were friendly and helpful. No one on desk after 9pm but security entrance so no problem if going out for the night. Air con a little noisy but room warm and smart and clean.We would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Pam, Thanks for your review . Regarding the air-con we are about to fit new unit's to our room's . Glad you enjoyed your room our staff work hard to make our guest's happy. Hope to see you back here again soon. Kind Regard's Garry & Cheryl O'Driscoll Manager's. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

It was all to easy, nice room , comfy bed, spotless and a great brunch/ lunch venue on site, with views of the lake.If we had booked earlier we would have liked a room upstairs with a view of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank Cher99
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Great to know you both enjoyed your stay with us Cheryl. We love to get feed back from our guest's please check out our web-site for winter special's. Hope to see you both again soon take care. Kind Regard's Garry & Cheryl O'Driscoll. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

I stayed here for just 1 night and I have to say both the managers were amazing, the lady organised dinner for us and we got delivered to the restaurant and back to the motel. We got shown the penthouse which looks great, nothing was a hassle at all. The room we were is was very clean and comfortable, also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie803
Ivanhoe13, Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Jodi, Thankyou so much for the kind review glad you enjoyed your stay we work hard to make our guest's happy hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind Regard's Garry & Cheryl O'Driscoll. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

Hi ,stayed at the Cove on 28th May, great stay,warm friendly greeting,room was ready to go heating etc. The bed was very comfortable. The Cafe was great ,amazing view ,food very good. Will definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Ariana P
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Firstly I don't understand why this property isn't number 1 on Trip Advisor for Taupo, it certainly should be! We are Hoteliers ourselves and we stay in many, many properties always trying to better our own guests experience by learning from others. The Cove was simply the NICEST place we have ever stayed at. Cheryl and Gary gave us the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike and Annema... G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sails Motor Lodge
Sails Motor Lodge
#5 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taking pride of place on the shores of Lake Taupo, The Cove is an intimate motel with a range of accommodation that includes an Executive Suite, 12 Suites with a thermally heated hot tub on their own private balcony and 6 Studios. Suites feature living room, super-king sized bedroom and kitchenette. Studios have either a super king, or a a queen sized bed and ensuite. All rooms are air conditioned. Most rooms have lake views. The Cove is also home to Espresso Cove, an onsite cafe with a delicious menu and stunning views across Lake Taupo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cove Taupo

Address: 213 Lake Tce, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $90 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cove Taupo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Cove Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay