We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Finns Global Backpackers

Booking.com$28*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$31*
$28*
Great Deal
$31*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Finns Global Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Finns Global Backpackers
 Click to rate
Japan
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

From the outside it looks ok and yet as soon as you walk in....filthy walls, filthy floors, filthy everything. I felt like i was about to catch ebola just from staying here its disgusting. The beds looks horrible, bathroom and shower are as old as it can be which by the way is my nice way of saying disgusting. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderLady28
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed February 14, 2017

We are local and have been to all sorts of backpackers in NZ when we travelled around the country. I would say this is the worst experience we have had. Think carefully before you book. Here comes the nightmare. First, unlike any other rooms, the most expensive en-suite couldn't be booked from any other websites such as booking.com, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanoshiiRyoko
Shane C, Manager at Finns Global Backpackers, responded to this review

If we may Tanoshii, is it possible you are confusing us with another hostel whereas the majority of what you have stated in your feedback appears to be inaccurate, misleading and for the most part false and will go through all the points you have highlighted in order to clarify these matters. All of our rooms are very affordable and...

Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

We booked a double bedroom - room was basic, everything was old and run down. Don't think bedding was changed, we found someone's hair and stain. Room was not clean and windows were just dirty. Hostel didn't look cozy or welcoming. Backpackers are not tramps, just people on budget. It doesn't cost much to paint the walls, buy new bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
Shane C, General Manager at Finns Global Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and as a result of bringing forth various notables to our attention we have just recently implemented a series of upgrades to a select number of our rooms alongside the enhancement of various policies and procedures aimed at heightening the experience for all our guest travelers...We have always been known for being the most welcoming...

Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Impossible to sleep, the music in the bar downstairs is SO LOUD than my bed still moving with the vibrations and it's 00.30 am. I just would like to sleep but I have to wait until 3am. It's a shame to call this place an hostel if you can't sleep here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Violette L
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We stayed here for New Years. On our way we got a call to say they have upgraded us to the quieter side and with an ensuite. very glad they upgraded us free of charge as on the second night we stayed (Jan 1st) our friends on the othersides room was extremlly loud. Cant complain it was over a holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sammyk_NZ
Beijing, China
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Loud loud loud. If you get shoved in the front rooms, don't expect to sleep until after two in the morning. We couldn't find anywhere else to stay so were forced to book here. Ladies showers weren't very nice to say the least. Stay a bit out of town if you can.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
Kanwal, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The people were lovely. But.....The smell when you walked in and hit the stairs, yuck! The room had three different paints with giant peeling sections and some red goo on the wall.......I don't want to know what that was. No spare toilet paper we ran out over night. Giant stains on the carpet, I never took my shoes off. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpmscorpion
Shane C, Owner at Finns Global Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I believe I recall the day you are referring to. Unfortunately there was a guest mishap which occurred on the communal lounge carpet on the morning in question. The smell and carpet issue was attended to as soon as staff were made aware of it. This was a rare event. Regarding wallpaper peel/discolouration in your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 15, 2016

I stayed in this hostel for two nights either side of the hike to Mount Doom. I stayed in a 3 bed female dorm. The dorm itself was fine- a bit rough around the edges but it was clean and the beds were comfy. The dorm was above the bar but the noise didn't bother me too much. I used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Ann D
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

I recommend everybody who is looking for a cheap, fine hostel, in the middle of Taupo, to check in at Finn's global Backpackers. I stayed there for 6 days for NZ$120 in a 3 dorm room. The beds are fine, so is the kitchen and the toilets (shared baths and toilets) There is i nice, large outdoor area with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Reviewed February 27, 2016

Nicola and Theo are the beating heart of Finns. Both managers made every effort to ensure an awesome time was had by all. The location is perfect and facilities are more than adequate. It's not a mega backpackers so meeting fellow travellers is easy. I always got a good nights sleep, so I don't really agree with comments by other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ben S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Base Taupo
Base Taupo
#21 of 33 in Taupo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#44 of 69 in Taupo
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located backpackers catering for night stays and short and long term accommodation. Amazing deck. Communal kitchen. Single, twin, double and dorm rooms. With or without ensuite. TV room. Laundry. Also can cater for large groups ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finns Global Backpackers

Address: 8 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Go Global Central Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $25 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Finns Global Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Finns Global Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Parking is limited and around the area is 2 hours. get there early and claim a park.”
sammyk_NZ, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the North side are quieter.”
G3291HTbens, Feb 27, 2016 | Read review
“Request one away from the street if your staying at a weekend”
762nikkic, Oct 12, 2015 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room i suggest you kindly ask staff to place you in that particular room.”
Jonnybz, Oct 29, 2012 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
Jhagemeister, Oct 7, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$28* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline$31
CheapTickets
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates