We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Camellia Court Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Camellia Court Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the one bedroom motels The unit was adequate for one night, The motel set up was clean and tidy. The motel is in a quiet street not far from the township and easy to locate. We stayed at a quiet time but it would seem the complex be humming with holiday makers during the summer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was playing minder for the groom at a stag weekend. Did not want to stay with the lads in backpackers so chose Camellia Court. Super cheap at $50 per night for up to three in a budget cabin. 1.5km walk from the main shopping area. Room plain but adequate. Queen bed with single bunk over. Gave the queen bed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VicnJen67
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at Camellia Court Motel! Accomodation was perfect in order, the wifi was FANTASTIC which is really awesome, the showers are also great and super clean! Definitely the best stay price/quality so far!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vlaurens
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

A straightforward 70s style motel / motor camp. Tidy and functional, a short drive from centre of Taupo. Surrounded by flowering trees, and even a few camellias. Has a playground for smaller kids, and a small but well stocked kitchen block

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZ_James
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Im happy with my stay, clean and tidy, no smells, the only thing that i dont like is the stove took a while to heat. We tried to cook noodles but it took us 20 minutes to boil, theres no sign on the stove. Receptionist is friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

So first of all when I booked the room for me and 2 work mates it was specified that there would be 2 single beds but instead we were given bunk beds. We found old mashed potato in our microwave as well. Which was not a great start. The room was clean and tidy but quite dated and could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robonefatbird
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Located close to the city centre ,very comfortable at a reasonable cost. The very friendly owners were most helpful and a pleasure to deal with.As we had two days of the four with dreadful weather, they assisted us to be as comfortable as possible. Also with our computer as they were miles better than me in the operation of it.All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacobus_10
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed September 3, 2016

The rooms of the motel were very clean and neat and we were very satisfied with the accomodation. The hosts were especially friendly. We had to rearrange our booking because the cabin was too small. It was no problem at all and we did not have any extra charges. The motel cat is very nice, by the way. We can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormall
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with our children. The room smelt so bad like it hasn't had a good clean for months. The bed sheets were dirty and pillows smelt disgusting my husband and I felt sick the whole time. It was our first time and I would never go back. Lovely people but the place itself is not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Levismummy
Quintin H, Owner at Camellia Court Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do put clean sheets on after every stay and the rooms are cleaned daily. If you were after 5 star accommodation i could recommend some places. We do try to do affordable prices but sometimes people think that they should get a motel for cabin prices. thank you for your...

Reviewed August 5, 2016

We stayed at Camellia Court Motel for a couple of nights and it was perfect for our needs - lots of blankets and heater to keep us warm in the cold weather and while close to the lake, it was still nice and quiet. The only downside was that the one bedroom unit we stayed in was just a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
2.0 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.9 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#31 of 71 in Taupo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#48 of 71 in Taupo
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#44 of 71 in Taupo
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#35 of 71 in Taupo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Camellia Court Motel

Address: 50 Tonga Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $29 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camellia Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Camellia Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Camellia Court Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“quiet location but still handy to city centre and all touristy events”
 of 5 bubbles jacobus_10, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“If you book a cabin, it will be only a room with bed in it, you have to cross the courtyard to get to the bathrooms and showers.”
 of 5 bubbles Cormall, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 23: one bedroom unit with self-contained bathroom but very close to the laundry unit and toilet block if required.”
 of 5 bubbles T6091KBannac, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back”
  • Clean bathroom
  • Bedroom with a double and single bed
  • Desk and additional bed
  • Kitchette
 of 5 bubbles Rickeys-Travels, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“Non peak season/private cabin with kitchen are recommended”
 of 5 bubbles , Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay