We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Taupo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Out of all the hostels I stayed in during my time NZ this was by far the worst, six people crammed into a tiny room, very dirty , cracked floor in the shower area , not to mention the noise, truly awful place to be , only good thing is the location, DO NOT STAY HERE

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blakecharlie
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I noticed in your response that you noted that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and overall which was not good to hear. Sometimes we do not get everything right and if you were in a room when this happened. Although our in-house bar...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay here if you're planning to sleep. Rave music plays all night just outside your window on apparently all nights of the week. Hot, crowded, noisy. We stayed here only because we were really desperate but we should have just slept in our car. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieDarjeeling
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for leaving a review, your thoughts are important to us. We are not so thrilled that the noise from bars impacted on your stay, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this issue. Due to our central location we can experience noise issues, however we do our best to minimize this by providing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed here in a private double with ensuite. The bathroom very modern and tea and coffee in your room. A small tv was also in the room. Compared to other hostels in NZ staying in private double this was the best. Although small you get what you pay for. Ear plugs are provided for late night noise (pubs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lala6060
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service our staff provide . We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located in the heart of the Taupo township this place is geared to young adults who don't mind roughing it a bit. It's marketed as Base Taupo but once you are booked everything is in the name of Base Backpackers Taupo. Our room was on the third floor. There is a lift to the first floor, then it's stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear the bar may have affected your stay although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We do like to keep our hostel full of atmosphere and set the right Vibe, however...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on New Year's Day so check in was late as they were still cleaning. We stayed in a private double room which was clean and simple. However there was a lot of noise until around 2am from the pubs across the road and the club in the hostel itself, this should be stipulated when booking to ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for your comments, I noticed in your response that you noted the noise from the Bar adjacent affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We have made a number of changes to reduce sound...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed during the Christmas peak season and the double with ensuite was a bargain at about $80 and the hostel is well located. The big downside is that the bar downstairs was open till at least 2am and was playing pounding music. Also there is no lift so you have to struggle up with the bags you've overladen with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here at Base Taupo. I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is based over a nightclub, so be sure you want to party. Otherwise you will have noise till 3 a.m. We were in a room with 6 other people, and than our beds got occupied by some new guys, we were the first in the room but the hostel decided to take us out, we were happy because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conny H
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a review. We are thrilled and happy to hear the staff are providing excellent customer service. Here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service our staff provide. The communal kitchen is...

Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with the kiwi experience bus for two nights. The staff are friendly and the rooms weren't too bad, they could be cleaner. The music playing extremely loud in the hallway is just ridiculous as well, especially when people wanted an early night to do the Tongariro Crossing. If you are planning on doing it I wouldn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your comments. Firstly we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Base Taupo. We hope you enjoyed Taupo and the Tongariro Crossing. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you encountered loud music in the hallways. We do like to keep our hostel full of atmosphere and set the right Vibe, however...

Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Base Taupo for three nights with Kiwi Experience. The hostel is in a perfect location, very close to the lake, bars, supermarkets, and lots of places to eat. My six bed room with view of Lake Taupo was spacious and clean. Kitchen is well equipped but pretty dirty and could do with providing basics like salt and pepper....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa468
BaseTaupoManagement, Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay happy to hear the staff are providing excellent customer service. The communal kitchen is an area that is a challenge for many hostels, as it is difficult to watch over people constantly. However base generally does an excellent...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Hated this hostel. I've never stayed in a room so small, and this was easily the worst hostel in New Zealand so far. It's so claustrophobic, the music is blaring at all hours and the kitchen is disgusting. AVOID

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
BaseTaupoManagement, Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here at Base Taupo. I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.2 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#15 of 34 in Taupo
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 34 in Taupo
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finns Global Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't get one with a road frontage if you want to sleep in”
 of 5 bubbles craigbE5793DB, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“4 Bed with ensuite is good- bathrooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlyBrisc, Apr 16, 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have great bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, Mar 3, 2016 | Read review
“Level 3 or 4 give a little better sound quality”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieR96, Dec 3, 2015 | Read review
“Requesting a quiet room got me an incredibly noisy room (maybe they ignore requests?)”
 of 5 bubbles Atheoretical, Nov 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay