We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Waitahanui Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Waitahanui Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our host Sue was excellent, and took the time to show us through our rooms and make sure we new how to keep them warm. Our room was metres from the lake edge, and the sound of waves crashing on the beach was soothing. The lounge and master bedroom both opened out onto the lake. The rooms have an old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trent C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Stayed here with my puppy and it was perfect for us. We had 1 night there and we had loads of spare beds. Unit 2 had 4 beds, catering for a small family or a group of friends. It is only 10 drive to Taupo town. It's a great place to stay and enjoy kayaking, fishing or swimming. It's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suziejo R
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a good stay at the lodge and were able to bring your puppy. Thanks for writing a review of the lodge. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

A beautiful mix of old and new. Remnants, photos and other little reminders of the old fishing lodge that was. A lovely quaint b & b nestling on the shores of Lake Taupo. So impressed with the setting, the service and rates that we always try to return when we're passing through. Thank you this beautiful snapshot of old New... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddine U
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed our quaint little lodge. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

We stayed in a two bedroom unit which sleeps 5 at a reduced rate. It was the only left when we booked at the last minute. The owner was helpful, friendly and fair. Built in the 1950's the buildings are not modern but have so much charm. The renovating that is on-going is attempting to maintain "kiwi bach feel". It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind remarks about the lodge. I really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed it here. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

My friend and I stayed in unit 5. Very nice even though it wasn't 'lake front'. Still only a 25 m walk to the little beach. Unit was clean and tidy, simple but had everything we needed. Unfortunately the wind was blowing a strong westerly so we couldn't kayak (too choppy), but everything else about the stay was great!

Helpful?
Thank AlannaZ
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

What a shame it was so windy when you stayed here. its been such a calm hot summer that you were unlucky. Maybe next time? Thankyou for reviewing the lodge More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

We arrived at the accommodation and were taken by the cleanliness and presentation of the location. There are plenty of places you can enjoy the Lake from at this location. The presentation was immaculate and the owner very passionate about making it a very memorable stay. It has been many years since I have visited this location and I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so glad you were able to return to the lodge and see some of the changes. I have a lot of guests who have stayed years ago who are so pleased to see that its still here. Thankyou for reviewing the lodge. More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

We arrived here planning to only stay for one day, The lake was straight out the front of the cottage. The service was excellent. They even had a boat we used to go into the lake in the sunset. We decided to stay 3 days and used this as our base for Taupo, Mount Ruapehu and the Waitomo caves. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank David G
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review David. Glad to be of help so you got the wallet back with all its cash and cards. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We were so lucky to have found this little gem right on Lake Taupo. Originally an old fishermans lodge, it has been nicely refurbished with some cabins having an ensuite bathroom.The lovely gardens surrounding the property are charming and wild flowers spill right onto the beach. Our cabin was tastefully decorated and comfortable with everything supplied - even the coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank LilyAnna
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review.Your title is absolutely appropriate as that's exactly as I see it too. "A Kiwiana bach". More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

My Wife and I spent 6 fabulous nights in this classic kiwi bach style lodge. We had unit 2 which is really good for a longer stay, everything included to cook own meals and clean and tidily presented. The Lodge is situated right on the Lake Waterfront and about 300 metres from the mouth of the Waitahanui River, which unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review and all the nice things you mention about the lodge. And you didn't even stay in one of the lakefront units so I'm glad Unit 2 lived up to your expectations. More 

Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

We had a fab wknd. We have stayed here a few times now. It is our annual retreat. The place is quaint, view is amazing, manager very nice and goes the extra mile. Lovely to hear the water lapping on the shore. Sunsets are amazing. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank dag1232015
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you like returning to enjoy some time at the Lodge. Thankyou for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.7 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
6.3 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#26 of 70 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waitahanui Lodge is all about the kiwi bach experience. The original lodge was built in 1932 as a fishing lodge that by today's standards would have been fairly basic. In the 1950's a new lodge was built right by the lake's edge and close to the world renowned Waitahanui River. With renovations and upgrading the Lodge has up to date facilities and caters for today's travellers, yet the "kiwiana soul" of the Lodge remains. The lodge consists of 5 well equipped, self catering cottages, accommodating up to 5 guests. All linen is supplied. Absolute lakefront location can be enjoyed from two of our cottages while the others are just a few steps away. Our wonderful lakeside terrace provides the perfect spot for a barbecue or simply to enjoy a great sunset. Our on site tackle shop has waders and rods for hire plus all the fishing tackle needed to fish our local rivers for trout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitahanui Lodge

Address: 116 State Highway 1 | Waitahanui, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing